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Introduction

In recent years, the issue of individual privacy and the protection of personal
information has been of considerable interest to the California Legislature and
the U.S. Congress. Both have considered and approved measures to protect

consumers’ privacy.

The California Constitution, unlike the U.S. Constitution, also explicitly protects
an individual’s right to privacy. This right of privacy was added to the California
Constitution by voters when they approved Proposition 11 in November

1972. At the time, supporters argued that the constitutional amendment was
necessary because “[flundamental to our privacy is the ability to control

circulation of personal information.”

Although these arguments were raised more than three decades ago,
legislators continue to find them of concern. Recently legislated issues range
from the public posting of social security numbers to the sharing of consumers’
nonpublic personal information by financial institutions. And the debate

continues.

Recent studies show that consumers are increasingly worried about protecting
their personal information. A CBS News/New York Times poll released on
October 2, 2005, indicates widespread concern about businesses collecting
consumers’ personal information. Slightly more than half of Americans believe
the right to privacy in the United States is “under serious threat,” while nearly
one-third believe their privacy rights have “already been lost.” The same poll
shows that 83 percent agree that the collection of personal information by
companies is “mostly a bad thing because it makes it easier for the information
to be shared inappropriately,” however, 13 percent believe the collection of
personal data is “mostly good because it allows companies to better serve

their customers and process financial transactions quickly.”"

T CBS News/New York Times poll, “Privacy Rights Under Attack,” October 2, 2005, http://www.cbsnews.com/
stories/2005/09/30/opinion/polls/main894733.shtml.



In June 2005, 78 percent of respondents to a Privacy & American Business and

Deloitte & Touche LLP survey agreed that “consumers have lost all control over
how personal information is collected and used by companies.” More than half
also think that “existing laws and organizational practices [do not] provide a

reasonable level of protection for consumer privacy today.”?

Many Americans also worry that their personal privacy is threatened by new
uses of technology. According to a Roy Morgan International poll released in
May 2006, 70 percent of Americans are worried about the “invasion of privacy

through new technology.”?

In light of the extensive interest in these issues, this report provides an
overview of key state and federal laws that relate to consumer privacy and
identity theft. Legislators and their staffs may find this summary of statutes
particularly helpful as they consider legislative proposals on these issues

and respond to constituents’ and press requests for information.

While the descriptions featured in Consumer Privacy and Identity Theft
provide a brief synopsis of relevant laws, they are not exhaustive, and the
reader is encouraged to consult the statutory texts for more detail. This report
is organized by subject matter, and each chapter begins with an overview of

the key pertinent issues, followed by applicable state and federal laws.

In some cases, measures passed by the Legislature and signed by the
governor during the 2006 legislative session amended or added the relevant
statutes; the following statutory summaries incorporate these changes. And all
citations to the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), Section 601, 15 U.S.C. 1681

et seq., include amendments to FCRA set forth in the Fair and Accurate Credit
Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA), Pub. L. 108-159, 117 Stat. 1952.

2 Privacy & American Business and Deloitte & Touche LLP survey, conducted by Harris Interactive, June 29, 2005.
3 Roy Morgan International, “Five Countries Review Privacy, Technology,” May 17, 2006, http://www.angus-reid.
com/polls/index.cfm/fuseaction/viewltem/itemID/11915.



The Constitution and

General Privacy







California is one of only ten states whose state constitutions
expressly recognize a right to privacy.* The U.S. Constitution,
however, does not contain an explicit right to privacy; the U.S.
Supreme Court has instead held that the federal constitution
implicitly recognizes an individual’s right to privacy with respect

to certain rights. For example, the First Amendment safeguards
individuals’ freedom of expression and association and the Fourth
Amendment protects individuals against unreasonable search and
seizure. Yet these rights only protect against intrusive governmental
activities. California’s constitution, on the other hand, has been
interpreted by the courts to protect against both governmental and

private entities.

In addition to constitutional protections, California has enacted
statutory provisions safeguarding the general privacy of individuals.
For instance, California law provides for civil liability for the
constructive invasion of privacy and imposes criminal penalties for
certain kinds of privacy invasions, such as unauthorized wiretapping
and electronic eavesdropping. California courts have also recognized
the tort of invasion of privacy allowing an injured party to bring a

lawsuit seeking redress.

The ability of states to act to protect privacy is also critical. Preserving
the states’ long-standing ability to enact laws relating to consumer
privacy and identity theft has become a significant issue as Congress
has increasingly included preemption provisions in proposed federal
legislation. Furthermore, federal regulatory agencies—such as the
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the Office of Thrift

4 National Conference of State Legislatures,”Privacy Protections in State Constitutions,” http://www.ncsl.org/
programs/lis/privacy/stateconstpriv03.htm.



Supervision—have taken a broadly preemptive view of the powers
of federally chartered financial institutions that has implicated
some privacy-related issues. And both state and federal courts have
invalidated some state laws on the basis that federal law preempts

state action in various instances.

To provide a better understanding of the framework in which state law
operates, this report outlines how specified federal laws impact state
statutes, although it is important to note that whether a state law is
preempted by federal law is ultimately an issue decided by the courts.®
In some cases, courts have invalidated California law on the basis of
preemption; these instances are noted in this report. In other cases,
although federal law may contain provisions that arguably preempt
California law, the courts have yet to rule on the matter. As a result,
the extent and practical effect of the particular preemption provision is

not yet known.

Constitutional Right to Privacy

State law specifies in the California Constitution that all people have an
inalienable right to pursue and obtain privacy. [California Constitution,
Article |, Section 1.] The right of privacy was added to the constitution

by initiative (Proposition 11) in November 1972.

California’s constitution gives Californians greater privacy protections than

those recognized by the U.S. Constitution. For example, whereas federal

5 Related to this point, the California Constitution prohibits state administrative agencies from declaring a statute
unenforceable or refusing to enforce a statute on the basis that it is preempted by federal law or federal
regulations unless an appellate court makes a determination that the statute is preempted by federal law or
regulations. [California Constitution, Article |, Section 3.5.]



protections apply only to government action, California’s right to privacy
protects individuals from actions by both the government and private entities.
[See, e.g., American Academy of Pediatrics v. Lungren (1997) 16 Cal. 4" 307,
326, citing Hill v. National Collegiate Athletic Association (1994) 7 Cal. 4" 1,
15-20.]

The California Supreme Court has held that the California Constitution in and
of itself “creates a legal and enforceable right of privacy for every Californian.”
[White v. Davis (1975) 13 Cal. 3d 757, 775.] To successfully assert a claim for
invasion of one’s constitutional right to privacy, a plaintiff must establish

the following three elements: (1) a legally protected privacy interest; (2) a
reasonable expectation of privacy in the circumstances; and (3) conduct by the
defendant that constitutes a serious invasion of privacy. [Hill, 7 Cal. 4 at 39-40;
Pioneer Electronics (USA), Inc. v. Superior Court (2007) 2007 Cal. LEXIS 553.]

If a plaintiff establishes these three elements, the defendant may prove that the
invasion of privacy is justified because it “furthers legitimate and important
competing interests.” [Hill, 7 Cal. 4" at 38.]1 In Hill, the California Supreme Court
explained this balancing test stating, “Invasion of a privacy interest is not a
violation of the state constitutional right to privacy if the invasion is justified by

a competing interest.” [Id.]

Federal law does not contain an express right to privacy in the U.S.
Constitution. Instead, the U.S. Supreme Court has recognized an individual’s
right to privacy implicit in the constitution with respect to certain rights. For
example, the court has recognized First Amendment safeguards for freedom
of expression and association and Fourth Amendment protections against
unreasonable search and seizure. [See, e.g., Griswold v. Connecticut (1965)
381 U.S. 479; Katz v. United States (1967) 389 U.S. 347.] The court has also
recognized a limited constitutional right to informational privacy. [Whalen

v. Roe (1977) 429 U.S. 589.] In these cases, individuals are protected against

intrusive governmental activities.



Constructive Invasion
of Privacy

State law provides civil liability for the constructive invasion of privacy when a
defendant attempts to capture, in a manner offensive to a reasonable person,
any type of visual image, sound recording, or other physical impression of an
individual engaging in a personal or familial activity. The individual must have
had a reasonable expectation of privacy in the circumstances, and the image,
recording, or impression must have been obtained through a visual or auditory
enhancing device and could not have been obtained without a trespass unless

the device was used. [California Civil Code Section 1708.8(b).]

Invasion of Privacy:
Common Law Tort

State law provides civil liability for invasion of privacy under the common law.
While full treatment of this common law tort is beyond the scope of this report,
four types of activities are considered an invasion of privacy, giving rise to civil

liability:

1. Intrusion upon the plaintiff’'s seclusion or solitude or into his or her private
affairs;

2. Public disclosure of private facts about the plaintiff;

3. Publicity that places the plaintiff in a false light in the public eye; and

4. Misappropriation, for the defendant’s advantage, of a person’s name or
likeness. [William L. Prosser, Privacy, 48 Cal. L. Rev. 383, 389 (1960). See
also, Restatement (Second) of Torts, Sections 652A-652E and 5 Witkin,
Summary of Cal. Law Torts (10th ed.) Torts, Section 651.]



However, not every kind of conduct appearing to fall within one of the four
categories noted above gives rise to a common law cause of action for invasion
of privacy. Instead, courts generally consider whether the conduct in question
is “highly offensive to a reasonable person,” considering, among other

things, “the degree of the intrusion, the context, conduct and circumstances
surrounding the intrusion, as well as the intruder’s motives and objectives,

the setting into which he [or she] intrudes, and the expectations of those
whose privacy is invaded.” [Hill, 7 Cal. 4™ at 25-26, citing Miller v. National
Broadcasting Co. (1986) 187 Cal. App. 3d 1463, 1483-1484.]

An injured plaintiff may recover damages for an invasion of privacy violation.
[Metter v. Los Angeles Examiner (1939) 35 Cal. App. 2d 304, 310.]

Invasion of Privacy:
Penal Code

State law prohibits the invasion of privacy with the intent to protect
Californians’ right to privacy. [California Penal Code Section 630 et seq.]
Among other things, these statutes contain criminal penalties for unauthorized
wiretapping, electronic eavesdropping, intercepting cellular telephone

communications, and electronic tracking of individuals, except as specified.

Preemption

The doctrine of federal preemption provides that congressional action
pursuant to an enumerated, or specific, power may override state laws. There
are three tests the courts refer to when deciding whether federal regulation
preempts state law: (1) express preemption, in which Congress, through

explicit statutory language, restricts the ability of states and localities to



legislate in specific areas; (2) field preemption, in which Congress “occupies
the field”; and (3) conflict preemption, in which it is impossible for an entity

to comply with both state and federal law at the same time or where state law
stands as an obstacle to the congressional purpose of the federal law. [Gade v.
National Solid Waste Management Association (1992) 505 U.S. 88, 98.]

Even where preemption is found, the court must still determine the precise
extent of the preemption. There has been heightened interest in the issue of
preemption in general, as Congress has increasingly included preemption
provisions in proposed federal legislation, and federal regulatory agencies
have also increasingly taken a broad view of the powers of federally chartered

financial institutions.

For example, the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) preempts state action

in certain matters. On this point it is important to note that the preemption
language included in FCRA, as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit
Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA), varies depending on the specific FCRA
provision, as FACTA introduced a different, and arguably narrower, form of
preemption. Some preemption provisions, for instance, arguably appear quite
narrow, only precluding states from enacting requirements “with respect to the
conduct required” by specific provisions of FCRA. [Fair Credit Reporting Act
Section 625(b)(5), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]

In other cases, states are preempted from enacting any requirement or
prohibition “with respect to any subject matter regulated” under a specified
provision. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 625(b)(1), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.] While
the “conduct required” preemption standard appears to be narrower than the
“subject matter regulated” standard, it is important to note that the scope of

these preemption provisions has not yet been tested in court.

Increasingly, some federal regulatory agencies have also taken a broad

view of the powers of the federally chartered entities they regulate, which



has implicated some privacy-related issues.® For example, the Office of the
Comptroller of the Currency, which regulates national banks under the National
Bank Act (12 U.S.C. 21 et seq.), issued a final rule in 2004 identifying the types
of state laws that are preempted with respect to federally chartered banks.” The
rule provides that, except where made applicable by federal law, state laws
that obstruct, impair, or condition a national bank’s ability to fully exercise its
lending or deposit-taking powers are preempted. Under the rule, a state law
does not apply to a national bank if the law obstructs, impairs, or conditions
the bank’s ability to fully exercise its powers to conduct federally authorized
activities. [12 C.F.R. Parts 7 and 34.]

The final rule issued by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency also
identifies those state laws that are not preempted with respect to a national
bank’s deposit-taking, lending, or other powers granted to it by federal law.
These include state laws regarding contracts, rights to collect debt, torts, and
property transfers to the extent that they only incidentally affect the exercise
of a national bank’s power in the area. The Office of the Comptroller of the
Currency retains the ability to determine whether a particular state law is
preempted (and therefore does not apply to a national bank) on a case-by-case
basis. [12 C.F.R. Parts 7 and 34.]

The Office of Thrift Supervision, which regulates federal savings associations
under the Home Owners’ Loan Act of 1933 (12 U.S.C. 1461 et seq.), has also
promulgated regulations that preempt state law “purporting to address the
subject of the operations of a Federal savings association.” [12 C.F.R. Part
545.2.] Regulations issued by the Office of Thrift Supervision further state that
the office “occupies the entire field of lending regulation for federal savings
associations.” [12 C.F.R. Part 560.2.]

6 Federal regulations that are within the power of the issuing agency may preempt state law; the U.S. Supreme
Court has stated that federal regulations “have no less pre-emptive effect than federal statutes.” [Fid. Fed. Sav.
& Loan Ass’n v. de la Cuesta (1982) 458 U.S. 141, 153.] The Court has also noted, “Pre-emption may result
not only from action taken by Congress itself; a federal agency acting within the scope of its congressionally
delegated authority may pre-empt state regulation.” [La. Public Serv. Com v. FCC (1986) 476 U.S. 355, 369.]

7 Whether these preemptive regulations issued by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency may be extended
to also apply to state-chartered operating subsidiaries of national banks is currently an issue before the U.S.
Supreme Court. [Wachovia Bank, N.A. v. Watters (6th Cir. Mich., 2005) 431 F.3d 556, cert. granted, Watters v.
Wachovia Bank, N.A. (2006) 126 S. Ct. 2900.]



The regulations issued by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and the
Office of Thrift Supervision have both been interpreted to preempt California
Civil Code Section 1748.13, which requires credit card issuers to include

a warning statement and other specified information regarding minimum
payments in billing statements provided to cardholders. [American Bankers
Association v. Lockyer(2002) 239 F. Supp. 2d 1000.]

None of the above-described regulations are directed specifically to a state’s
ability to enact laws protecting consumer privacy or addressing identity theft
issues, nor do the regulations appear grounded in hostility toward the states’
interest in these areas. Instead, they deal more generally with the powers

of a federally chartered institution. The regulations may, however, have a
preemptive effect if state laws regarding consumer privacy or identity theft are
found to interfere improperly with the operations of the federally chartered

institutions regulated by these agencies.

Other federal agencies also take an active role in consumer privacy and
identity theft protections. For example, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is
charged with preventing unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive
acts or practices in interstate commerce. [15 U.S.C. 45 et seq.] Several other
statutes also form the basis for the FTC’s authority in protecting consumers:
these include the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (15 U.S.C. 6801 et seq.), the Fair
Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq.), and the Children’s Online Privacy
Protection Act (15 U.S.C. 6501 et seq.).



Credit Cards







Both state and federal law regulate credit cards. In 2003, for example,
Congress passed the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act
(FACTA), which amended the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA). FACTA
contains provisions relating to requirements that a credit card issuer

must meet when responding to a request for a change of address.

California law also contains similar provisions.

While both FACTA and FCRA contain provisions preempting state
action, the specific preemption language varies and, in several cases,
federal regulations are necessary before federal law may be fully
implemented. Furthermore, whether or not these provisions preempt

state law has yet to be tested in court. As a result, the exact reach of

FACTA and FCRA preemption is not yet known.

Activation Process Required
for Substitute Credit Cards

Under state law, a credit card issuer may not issue a substitute credit card
unless the cardholder is required to contact the issuer to activate the credit
card before using it. [California Civil Code Section 1747.05.]



Change of Address and
Request for Replacement or

Additional Credit Card

State law requires a credit card issuer—when the issuer receives a change-of-
address request from a cardholder as well as a replacement credit card request
within 60 days—to send a change-of-address notice to the cardholder at his or
her previous address. This notice must be sent within 30 days in other specified
instances. [California Civil Code Section 1799.1b(a).]

The notice may be given by telephone or e-mail communication if the credit
card issuer reasonably believes it has the current telephone number or e-mail
address of the cardholder who requested the address change. If the notification
is provided in writing, however, it may not include the cardholder’s account
number, social security number, or other personal identifying information
although it may contain the cardholder’s name, previous address, and new
address of record. [California Civil Code Section 1799.1b(c).]

When a credit card issuer receives a request to change a cardholder’s billing
address and a request for an additional credit card within 10 days, the issuing
company is prohibited from activating the card or mailing a new card until it
has verified the address change. [California Civil Code Section 1747.06(c).]

Under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), as amended by the Fair
and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA), the Federal Trade
Commission, National Credit Union Administration, and specified banking
agencies must issue regulations on this matter. [Fair Credit Reporting Act
Section 615(e), 15 U.S.C. 1681m.]



The agencies issued a joint notice of proposed rulemaking and proposed
regulations on this issue on July 18, 2006.2 Public comments were due by
September 18, 2006. The agencies are currently reviewing these comments and

a final rule has not yet been issued.®

The proposed rule includes “Red Flag” regulations, which are intended to
identify patterns, practices, and specific forms of activity that indicate possible
identity theft. [71 Fed. Reg. 40788, 40790.]

Under the proposed rule, if a credit- or debit-card issuer receives notification
of an address change for an existing account and receives a request for an
additional or a replacement card for the same account within at least 30 days
after the change-of-address notification is received, the card issuer may not
issue the replacement or the additional card unless the issuer verifies the
validity of the change-of-address request in at least one of the following
three ways: (1) it notifies the cardholder of the request at his or her former
address; (2) it notifies the cardholder of the request by any other means of
communication that the cardholder and issuer have previously agreed to; or
(3) it uses other means of assessing the validity of the change-of-address
request. [71 Fed. Reg. 40794-40795.]

The proposed federal rule requires that any written or electronic notification
issued by the card issuer pursuant to these requirements must be clear and
conspicuous and provided separately from other regular correspondence with
the cardholder. [71 Fed. Reg. 40795.]

Under the proposed rule, financial institutions and creditors are required to
implement a written Identity Theft Prevention Program, which must contain

policies and procedures to prevent and mitigate identity theft related to the

8 |dentity Theft Red Flags and Address Discrepancies Under the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of
2003, 71 Fed. Reg. 40786 (2006) (to be codified at 12 CFR Part 41, 12 CFR Part 222, 12 CFR Parts 334 and 364,
12 CFR Part 571, 12 CFR Part 717, and 16 CFR Part 681) (proposed July 18, 2006).

9  This summary describes the proposed rule as publicly noticed in the Federal Register on July 18, 2006. Because
the timetable for issuance of a final rule has not yet been publicly determined, the reader is encouraged to
consult http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fcrajump.htm for the latest action on the proposed rule.



opening of an account or any existing account. These policies and procedures
must: (1) verify the identity of individuals opening accounts; (2) detect “Red
Flags”; (3) assess the risk of identity theft; and (4) address the risk of identity
theft. [71 Fed. Reg. 40792.]

Congress preempted states from enacting any requirement or prohibition

with respect to the conduct required by these specific provisions. [Fair Credit
Reporting Act Section 625(b)(5)(F).] This provision therefore preempts state
laws only to the extent of the “conduct required.” Again, the agencies have not
yet issued a final rule on this matter, so the scope of the preemption language
as applied to the final rule has yet to be tested in a court. As a result, the extent

and practical effect of the preemption provision is not yet known.

Credit Card Numbers
Printed on Receipts

Under state law, any person who accepts credit cards or debit cards for
payment may not print more than the last five digits of the credit card or

debit card account number or the expiration date on a receipt provided to

the cardholder. The prohibition applies only to electronically printed receipts
and does not apply to transactions in which the sole means of recording the
person’s credit card number is by handwriting or an imprint or copy of the
card. Beginning January 1, 2009, these restrictions are extended to any receipt

retained by the business as well. [California Civil Code Section 1747.09.]

Federal law contains a similar provision under the Fair Credit Reporting Act
(FCRA), as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003
(FACTA). Specifically, federal law requires businesses to truncate credit card

and debit card numbers on electronic receipts issued at the point of sale. Like



California law, FCRA prohibits the printing of more than the last five digits

of the card number or expiration date on receipts provided to the cardholder.
The federal law also applies only to electronically printed receipts and does
not apply to transactions in which the sole means of recording the number

is by handwriting or an imprint or copy of the card. [Fair Credit Reporting Act
Section 605(g), 15 U.S.C. 1681c.]

FCRA preempts state law requirements on this issue with respect to the
conduct required by the provision. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section
625(b)(5)(A), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]

Disclosure of Minimum
Payment Amount

Under state law, credit card issuers must include a warning statement and
other specified information regarding minimum payments in billing statements
provided to cardholders. [California Civil Code Section 1748.13.]1 This provision
was challenged by the American Bankers Association and various banks on
the basis that it was preempted by federal banking laws. In American Bankers
Association v. Lockyer, the trial court held that California’s law was preempted
by the National Bank Act, the Federal Credit Union Act, the Home Owners'’
Loan Act, and related regulations and therefore could not be enforced against
federally chartered credit card issuers. [American Bankers Association v.
Lockyer (2002) 239 F. Supp. 2d 1000.] Pursuant to stipulation, the court later
ordered that the statute also would not be enforced against non-federally
chartered credit card issuers. [American Bankers Association v. Lockyer (2003)
2003 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4320.]



Fraudulent Use of Information
on Credit or Debit Cards

State law provides that any person who intends to defraud and knowingly and
willfully uses a scanning device to access, read, obtain, memorize, or store
information encoded on the magnetic strip of a credit card, debit card, or other

payment card is guilty of a misdemeanor. [California Penal Code Section 502.6(a).]

Preprinted Checks: Disclosures

State law requires a credit card issuer who extends credit to a cardholder using
a preprinted check to disclose that the cardholder’s account will be charged if
the check is used; in addition, the issuer must indicate the annual percentage
rate and the finance charges that will be incurred and whether the finance
charges will be triggered immediately upon using the check. [California Civil
Code Section 1748.9.] In Rose v. Chase Manhattan Bank USA, N.A., the trial
court held that this provision was preempted by the federal National Bank Act
(12 U.S.C. 21 et seq.) and as a result cannot be enforced against national banks.
[Rose v. Chase Manhattan Bank USA, N.A. (2005) 396 F.Supp. 2d 1116.]

Recording Credit Card
Numbers on Checks

State law prohibits retailers, when a consumer pays for goods or services by
check, from: (1) requiring the consumer to provide a credit card as a condition
of accepting the check; or (2) recording the credit card’s number. [California
Civil Code Section 1725.]



Recording Personal
Information on Credit Card
Transaction Forms

Under state law, any person who accepts a credit card for payment may not
record the consumer’s personal identification information on the credit card

transaction form, except as specified. [California Civil Code Section 1747.08.]

Verification of Credit
Applicant’s Address

State law requires a credit card issuer who mails a credit card solicitation and,
in response, receives a completed credit card application that lists an address
different from the one on the solicitation, to verify the change of address by
contacting the person to whom the solicitation was mailed. [California Civil
Code Section 1747.06(a).]

Under California’s Consumer Credit Reporting Agencies Act, any person who
uses a consumer credit report to extend credit must take reasonable steps to
verify the accuracy of the consumer’s personal information if the first and last
name, address, or social security number provided on the credit application
does not match, within a reasonable degree of certainty, the information listed

on the credit report. [California Civil Code Section 1785.20.3(a).]

Federal law contains related provisions under the federal Fair Credit Reporting
Act (FCRA). Under FCRA, as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit

Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA), nationwide consumer reporting agencies



are required to notify the requester of a credit report when the consumer’s
address contained in the request differs substantially from the addresses in the
consumer’s file. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 605(h), 15 U.S.C. 1681c.]

The Federal Trade Commission, National Credit Union Administration, and
specified banking agencies are required, under FACTA, to issue regulations on
such address discrepancies. On July 18, 2006, the agencies issued a joint notice
of proposed rulemaking and proposed regulations on this matter.’® Public
comments were due by September 18, 2006, and the agencies are currently

reviewing these comments. No final rule has yet been issued.”

The proposed federal rule requires a user of credit reports to develop and
implement reasonable policies and procedures to verify the identity of a
consumer when the user receives a notice of an address discrepancy. The
proposal specifies that these policies and procedures must enable the user
to “form a reasonable belief that it knows the identity of the consumer for
whom it has obtained a consumer report, or determine that it cannot do so.”
[71 Fed. Reg. 40795.] Users of credit reports who currently employ policies
and procedures set forth in the Customer Identification Program (CIP) rules
pursuant to the USA PATRIOT Act [31 U.S.C. 5318(l)] are deemed to satisfy this
requirement. Users may also adopt the CIP rules in order to comply. [71 Fed.
Reg. 40795.]

Although many FCRA provisions preempt the states only with respect to the
“conduct required by specific provisions” of the act, the preemption standard
for this provision is somewhat different: specifically, states are preempted from
imposing any requirement or prohibition “with respect to any subject matter

regulated” by FCRA's Section 605 regarding information contained in consumer

0 |dentity Theft Red Flags and Address Discrepancies Under the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of
2003, 71 Fed. Reg. 40786 (2006) (to be codified at 12 CFR Part 41, 12 CFR Part 222, 12 CFR Parts 334 and 364,
12 CFR Part 571, 12 CFR Part 717, and 16 CFR Part 681) (proposed July 18, 2006).

" This summary describes the proposed rule as publicly noticed in the Federal Register on July 18, 2006. Because
the timetable for issuance of a final rule has not yet been publicly determined, the reader is encouraged to
consult http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fcrajump.htm for the latest action on the proposed rule.



reports. State laws in effect on September 30, 1996, are exempt. [Fair Credit
Reporting Act Section 625(b)(1)(E), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]

Although the “subject matter regulated” standard would appear to be a
preemption standard with broader reach than the “conduct required” standard,
whether it preempts the above-described state law regarding verification of a
credit applicant’s address is ultimately a matter to be decided by the courts.

At this time, the extent of this preemption provision has not yet been tested in
a court of law. As a result, the preemptive effect of this FCRA provision is not

yet known.






Credit Reporting







A credit report is a credit history about a particular consumer and
contains a great deal of information, including: annual income;
outstanding debt; bill-paying history; the number, types, and age of
the accounts; current and previous addresses; social security number;
date of birth; telephone number; and, in some cases, employment

history, bankruptcies, foreclosures, and tax liens.

Credit reports are compiled by credit reporting agencies with
information from various sources, such as utility or telephone
companies, banks, and companies that have granted credit to the
consumer. There are different types of credit reporting agencies:
nationwide credit bureaus, such as Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion,
and specialty consumer reporting agencies, which compile reports
about consumers’ medical conditions, residential or tenant history,
check-writing history, employment history, and insurance claims. The
companies sell the information contained in these reports to creditors,
insurers, employers, landlords, and other businesses with a “legitimate
business need,” as specified. Credit reports are used by these entities
to evaluate a consumer’s application for credit, insurance, employment,

or a lease.™

A credit report can play an important role in the determination of
whether a consumer is able to obtain credit, secure employment, rent
an apartment, or acquire insurance. As a result, both state and federal

law regulate credit reporting agencies.

Credit reports also help guard against identity theft because they

offer consumers a way to monitor their credit histories and look for

See Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. 1681b, for additional discussion.

See Federal Trade Commission, “Building a Better Credit Report,” June 2006, http://www.ftc.gov/
bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre03.pdf, and Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, “How Private is My Credit Report?”
October 2006, http://www.privacyrights.org/fs/fs6-crdt.htm.



potentially fraudulent accounts. Accordingly, both state and federal law
provide consumers with access to their credit reports. Most recently,
the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA) gave consumers
the right to obtain one free credit report from each nationwide credit

reporting agency every year.

California was the first state to give consumers the right to place a
“security freeze” on their credit reports, which blocks access to their
personal credit information. This provision helps prevent identity theft

because credit cannot be extended without the consumer’s permission.
Credit Reporting

California’s Consumer Credit Reporting Agencies Act, the state’s counterpart

to the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), regulates consumer credit
reporting agencies. [California Civil Code Section 1785.1 et seq.] Among other
things, the statute requires every consumer credit reporting agency to allow

a consumer, upon request and with proper identification, to visually inspect

all files pertaining to him or her that the agency maintains at the time of the
request. The agency must identify recipients who obtained the consumer’s
credit report within specified time periods, and disclose a record of all inquiries
within the preceding 12 months that identified the consumer in connection with
a credit transaction not initiated by the consumer. [California Civil Code Section
1785.10.]

A consumer may request that his or her name and address be excluded
from any list provided by a credit reporting agency for firm offers of credit.
[California Civil Code Section 1785.11(d)(1).] Similarly, a consumer may
also request that his or her name and address be removed from lists that a

consumer credit reporting agency furnishes for credit card solicitations, and



this direction must be honored for a minimum of two years. [California Civil
Code Section 1785.11.8.]

Existing state law also permits consumers to dispute inaccurate information
and requires a consumer credit reporting agency to reinvestigate disputed

information without charge. [California Civil Code Section 1785.16.]

A consumer credit reporting agency must delete from a consumer’s credit
report all inquiries that the agency has verified were the result of identity
theft. [California Civil Code Section 1785.16.1.] If a consumer submits a copy
of a valid police report or investigative report from the Department of Motor
Vehicles, it must block information appearing on the consumer credit report
that is a result of identity theft. [California Civil Code Section 1785.16(k).]

California law also places requirements on users of consumer credit reports:
any person who uses a consumer credit report to extend credit must take
reasonable steps to verify the accuracy of the consumer’s personal information
if the first and last name, address, or social security number provided on the
credit application does not match, within a reasonable degree of certainty,

the information listed on the credit report. [California Civil Code Section
1785.20.3(a).]

If the user of the consumer credit report has been notified that the applicant
has been a victim of identity theft, he or she may not lend money or extend

credit without taking reasonable steps to verify the consumer’s identity and

confirm that the application is not the result of identity theft. [California Civil
Code Section 1785.20.3(b).]

The federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) provides consumers with one free
credit report from each nationwide consumer reporting agency in a 12-month
period, upon request. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 612(a),15 U.S.C. 1681j,



as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FACTA) of 2003,
Pub. L. 108-159, 117 Stat. 1952.]

Except as specified, federal law requires a consumer reporting agency to

clearly and accurately disclose to a consumer:

1. All information in his or her file at the time of the request;
The sources of the information;

3. Identification of each person who obtained a consumer report during the
previous two years if the report was procured for employment purposes
or the previous year if procured for any other purpose;

4. The dates, original payees, and amounts of any checks upon which an
adverse characterization of the consumer is based;

5. Arecord of all inquiries received by the credit reporting agency during the
preceding one-year period in which the consumer was identified with a
credit or insurance transaction that he or she did not initiate; and

6. A notice that the consumer also may request his or her credit score, if the
consumer originally only requested a copy of his or her credit file. [Fair
Credit Reporting Act Section 609(a), 15 U.S.C. 1681g.]

The FACTA amendments to FCRA permit a consumer to dispute inaccurate
information directly with the entity that furnished the information to the
consumer reporting agency; it also requires the entity to investigate the
disputed information in some circumstances. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section
623(a)(8),15 U.S.C. 1681s-2.]

If an entity determines that it provided inaccurate or incomplete information to
a consumer reporting agency, it must promptly notify the agency and provide
accurate and complete information. The entity also is required to notify all
consumer reporting agencies that received the information of the correction.
[Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 623(a)(2), 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2.]

Federal law requires that, if the consumer’s file contains information

that resulted from an alleged identity theft and the consumer provides



documentation supporting this claim, the consumer reporting agency is
required to block the reporting of that information within four business days
and notify the entity that supplied the information related to the identity theft,
as specified. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 605B, 15 U.S.C. 1681c¢-2.]

Additional significant provisions of FCRA, as amended by FACTA, are described

in other summaries throughout this report.

Investigative Consumer
Reporting Agencies

State law regulates investigative consumer reporting agencies. [California

Civil Code Section 1786 et seq.] These agencies are defined as any person,
corporation, or other entity that collects, reports, or transmits information
concerning consumers for the purpose of providing investigative consumer
reports to third parties, as specified. [California Civil Code Section 1786.2.]
Investigative consumer reports may be given only to third parties the agency
believes is using the information for (1) employment purposes, (2) determining
a consumer’s eligibility for insurance, (3) leasing a residential unit, or (4) other

specified reasons. [California Civil Code Section 1786.12.]

Security Alerts

Under state law, consumers may place a “security alert” on their credit reports
noting that their identity may have been used without consent to fraudulently
obtain goods or services in the consumers’ names. A consumer credit reporting
agency must place a security alert on the consumers’ credit reports within

five business days after receiving a request. The agency must also notify each

person who requests the credit information about the existence of the alert.



The alert remains in place for at least 90 days, and consumers may renew the
alert. Any person who uses the consumer’s credit report to approve credit and
who receives notice of the security alert may not lend money, extend credit, or
complete the purchase, lease, or rental of goods or services without first taking
reasonable steps to verify a consumer’s identity to ensure that the application is
not the result of identity theft. [California Civil Code Section 1785.11.1.] See the
federal discussion on page 39 for details on the possible preemptive effect of
FCRA.

Federal law contains related provisions under the Fair Credit Reporting Act
(FCRA), as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003
(FACTA), regarding nationwide consumer reporting agencies. These provisions
permit a consumer to place one of three kinds of “alerts” on their credit files
maintained by nationwide agencies: (1) a fraud alert, (2) an extended fraud alert,
or (3) an active-duty alert. The three alerts differ in what is required to initiate
them, the length of time they are imposed, and the limits that are imposed on
those who use a consumer’s report. However, the consumer reporting agency
that receives any one of the three alerts must forward the pertinent information
to the other nationwide consumer reporting agencies. This requirement allows
consumers to place an alert on their files with a call to only one nationwide credit
reporting agency. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 605A, 15 U.S.C. 1681c-1.]

A federal fraud alert lasts for 90 days, and consumers may place one on their
credit file if they suspect they are—or are about to become—a victim of fraud

or a related crime, including identity theft. Extended fraud alerts remain in place
for seven years, and to place such an alert on their file, consumers must submit
an identity theft report. Active-duty military personnel also may place alerts on
their credit reports for 12 months; pursuant to a rule issued by the Federal Trade
Commission, this period may be renewed if an individual receives an extended
deployment. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Sections 605A(a)-(c), 15 U.S.C. 1681c-1;
Federal Trade Commission, 16 CFR Parts 603, 613, and 614.]



All three federal alerts must state that the consumer does not authorize
new credit, the issuance of an additional credit card, or any increase in a
credit limit on an existing account. For fraud and active-duty alerts, persons
or businesses who use the consumer’s report must utilize reasonable
policies and procedures to form a reasonable belief that the user knows

the identity of the person making the request. They may either contact the
consumer at a designated telephone number or take reasonable steps to
verify the consumer’s identity and confirm that the application is not the
result of identity theft. For an extended alert, however, they must contact
the consumer in person or use another method designated by the consumer
to confirm that the application is not the result of identity theft. [Fair Credit
Reporting Act Section 605A(h), 15 U.S.C. 1681c-1.]

Federal law regarding security alerts contains preemption provisions.
Specifically, Congress preempted states from enacting any requirement or
prohibition with respect to the conduct required by the federal security alert
provisions described above. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 625(b)(5)(B),
15 U.S.C. 1681t.] This provision may arguably preempt California’s security
alert law to the extent that it relates to the same conduct required under
federal law. However, states may be able to act where federal law does not
impose a specific requirement. While the scope of this preemption standard
has yet to be tested in court, in those areas where federal law is silent with

respect to conduct required, a state remains free to act.



Security Freezes

Under state law, a consumer may place a “security freeze” on his or her credit
report, which prohibits credit reporting agencies from releasing the consumer’s

credit report or any information from it without the consumer’s authorization.™

Certain specified entities may access a consumer’s credit report even if a
security freeze is in place, including law enforcement acting pursuant to a court

order or warrant, a child support agency, or the Franchise Tax Board.

A consumer credit reporting agency must place a security freeze on a
consumer’s credit report within five business days after receiving a request;
the security freeze remains in place until the consumer requests its removal.
Credit reporting agencies must send consumers a written confirmation of

the freeze and provide them with a unique personal identification number or
password to use to request the release of their credit information. The freeze
may be temporarily lifted by a consumer to grant access to the credit report by

a specific party or for a particular period of time.

Credit reporting agencies may charge a consumer no more than $10 for each
security freeze, removal of the freeze, or a temporary lift of the freeze for a
specific time period, and no more than $12 for a temporary lift of the freeze for
a specific party; no fee may be charged to a victim of identity theft, as specified.
[California Civil Code Section 1785.11.2.]

4 This provision was recently invalidated by the Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District on First Amendment
grounds as applied to U.D. Registry, a credit reporting agency which provides consumer credit reports to
landlords, because its reports are materially drawn from public records. While the court ruled that California Civil
Code Section 1785.11.2 was unconstitutional as applied to U.D. Registry (and could not be enforced against the
company), the court refused to hold that the statute was unconstitutional on its face (which would have limited
enforcement against other credit reporting agencies). U.D. Registry has petitioned the California Supreme Court
to grant review of the decision; this petition is currently pending. [U.D. Registry, Inc. v. State of California (2006)
144 Cal. App. 4th 405.]



Data Security







In 2003, California became the first state in the nation to require
companies and government agencies to notify consumers when
there is a breach in the security of their personal information. Since
that time, 34 other states have followed California’s lead and enacted
breach notification statutes.” Congress is also considering whether
to mandate that consumers must be notified when the security of

their personal information has been breached.

According to the Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, more than 100 million
records containing sensitive personal information have been involved

in security breaches since February 2005.

Notifying consumers when the security of their personal information
has been breached can play an important role in identity theft
prevention. For example, a consumer can decide to place a fraud alert
or security freeze on his or her credit report, depending on the type of
information that was breached and who obtained access to it. Such
quick action could prevent an identity thief from obtaining new credit

in the consumer’s name.

California’s law requiring notification of security breaches has also
resulted in the public’'s—and lawmakers’—heightened interest in data
security. For instance, both state and federal law impose security
requirements on businesses when they destroy customer records.
California law also requires businesses to implement and maintain
reasonable security procedures to protect the personal information

they own or license.

National Conference of State Legislatures, “State Security Breach Notification Laws,” January 9, 2007,
http://www.ncsl.org/programs/lis/cip/priv/breach.htm.

For a listing of data breaches see Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, “A Chronology of Data Breaches,”
http://www.privacyrights.org/ar/ChronDataBreaches.htm. This listing is updated regularly.



Destruction of
Business Records

State law requires businesses, when disposing of customer records, to take all
reasonable steps to destroy personal information in the records by shredding,
erasing, or otherwise modifying the personal information so it is unreadable or
undecipherable. The law defines “customer” as “an individual who provides
personal information to a business for the purpose of purchasing or leasing

a product or obtaining a service from the business.” [California Civil Code
Sections 1798.80 and 1798.81.]

Under the statute, “personal information” is defined broadly to mean any
information that identifies, relates to, describes, or is capable of being
associated with a particular individual. In this instance, personal information
includes the individual’s name, signature, social security number, physical
characteristics or description, address, telephone number, passport number,
driver's license or state identification card number, insurance policy number,
education, employment, employment history, bank account number, credit card
number, debit card number, or any other financial information. [California Civil
Code Section 1798.80.]

Federal law includes provisions relating to the destruction of business records,
but more narrowly addresses the issue. As described above, California law
concerns all personal information contained in customer records. Yet federal
law only relates to consumer reports or information derived from such reports
for a business purpose, and its requirements are imposed only on users of

those reports.



Under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) and a related final rule
issued in June 2005 by the Federal Trade Commission, businesses and
individuals must properly dispose of such information by taking reasonable
measures to protect against unauthorized access to, or use of, the information
when it is disposed. The law applies to anyone who uses consumer reports and
applies to information obtained from a consumer reporting agency that is used,
or is expected to be used, in establishing a consumer’s eligibility for credit,
employment, or insurance, among other things, as defined under FCRA. [Fair
Credit Reporting Act Section 628, 15 U.S.C. 1681w; Federal Trade Commission,
16 CFR Part 682.]

FCRA preempts state law requirements “with respect to the conduct required”
by its document-destruction provision. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section
625(b)(5)(I), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]

Under FACTA, Congress preempted states from enacting any requirement

or prohibition regarding the “conduct required by” specific provisions. This
language arguably allows states to act where federal law does not impose a
specific requirement. The extent and practical effect of the FACTA preemption
provisions are not yet known. It also is noteworthy that because California
law is broader—applying to more than just information obtained from credit
reports and more than just persons or entities who use these reports—the

preemptive effect of FCRA on the state law described above may be limited.

Notification of Breach
in Data Security

State law requires state agencies and businesses that own or license

computerized data containing personal information to disclose any breach



of the system’s security to a California resident whose unencrypted personal
information was, or is reasonably believed to have been, acquired by an
unauthorized person. The disclosure must be made in the most expedient
manner and without unreasonable delay (although the notification may be
delayed if a law enforcement agency determines it will impede a criminal

investigation).

State agencies and businesses that maintain, but do not own, computerized
data that includes personal information are required to notify the owner or
licensee of the information of any data security breach immediately following
the discovery if personal information was, or is reasonably believed to have

been, acquired by an unauthorized person.

The statutes define “personal information” to mean an individual’s first name
or first initial and last name in combination with one of the following, when
either the name or the data elements are not encrypted: (1) social security
number; (2) driver’s license or California identification card number; or

(3) account, credit, or debit card number in combination with a security code
or password that would permit access to the individual’s financial account.
Personal information does not include information publicly available from
federal, state, or local government records. State agencies and businesses
must provide notice to consumers using either written notice, electronic notice,
or substitute notice, as specified.” [California Civil Code Sections 1798.29 and
1798.82.]

7 Although there is no federal statutory law specifically on this issue, several federal agencies have issued
guidance on security breaches under the “Interagency Guidance on Response Programs for Unauthorized
Access to Customer Information and Customer Notice.” The guidance is intended to clarify the responsibilities
of financial institutions under federal laws and to interpret requirements of Gramm-Leach-Bliley. The guidance
addresses “unauthorized access to, or use of, customer information that could result in substantial harm or
inconvenience to a customer.” The guidance also includes standards for when a financial institution should
provide notice to customers when sensitive information is accessed without authorization. State laws not
inconsistent with Gramm-Leach-Bliley are not preempted. [Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, 12 C.F.R.
Part 30; Federal Reserve System, 12 C.F.R. Parts 208 and 225; Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, 12 C.F.R.
Part 364; and Office of Thrift Supervision, 12 C.F.R. Parts 568 and 570, http://www.occ.treas.gov/consumer/
Customernoticeguidance.pdf.] Gramm-Leach-Bliley generally provides that state laws that are more protective
of consumers’ privacy are not “inconsistent.” [15 U.S.C. 6807.]



Personal Information:
Reasonable Security Procedures

Under state law, a business that owns or licenses personal information about
a California resident must implement and maintain reasonable security
procedures and practices appropriate to the nature of the information in
order to protect the information from unauthorized access, destruction, use,
modification, or disclosure. Similar requirements apply when a business
discloses information about a California resident pursuant to a contract with
a nonaffiliated third party. [California Civil Code Section 1798.81.5.]

The statute defines “personal information” to mean an individual’s first name
or first initial and last name in combination with one of the following, when
either the name or the data elements are not encrypted: (1) social security
number; (2) driver’s license or California identification card number;

(3) account, credit, or debit card number in combination with a security code
or password that would permit access to the individual’s financial account; or
(4) medical information. Personal information does not include information
that is publicly available from federal, state, or local government records. The
section does not apply to financial institutions, health care providers, or other

specified entities. [California Civil Code Section 1798.81.5.]






Financial Privacy and

Related Issues







California led the nation in enacting the Financial Information Privacy
Act, which gives consumers more control over their personal

financial information than what is currently granted by federal law.

The act gives consumers the ability to control the sharing of their
nonpublic personal information by requiring a financial institution
to obtain a consumer’s consent before it may share the information
with a nonaffiliated third party. This is commonly known as an
“opt in” because a financial institution may not share a consumer’s
information unless he or she opts to share it. Federal law, however,
subjects the sharing of personal information with nonaffiliated
third parties to an “opt out” so that, as long as the consumer does
not opt out, a financial institution may share his or her information
with nonaffiliated third parties. Federal law allows states to provide
consumers with greater privacy protections; therefore, with respect to

sharing with nonaffiliated third parties, California law controls.

California law also subjects the sharing of nonpublic personal
information with affiliates to an opt out, whereas federal law does not
place restrictions on affiliate sharing. The validity of this section of
California’s financial privacy law is presently before the courts and is

described in more detail on page 53.

Both state and federal law regulate the practice of debt collection and

impose restrictions on threatening or harassing behavior.



Debt Collection

California’s Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act regulates third-party
debt collectors in a manner similar to the federal law described below. State
law also prohibits any threats, harassment, or various false or misleading
representations, and limits the amount of information about a debtor that a
collector may reveal to a third party. Furthermore, the act allows debtors to
bring an action for actual damages against a debt collector who has violated
the statute. In 2006 the statute was amended to extend these protections to

businesses. [California Civil Code Section 1788 et seq.]

The business practices of third-party debt collectors are regulated under the
federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Among other things, the act requires
a debt collector to make an initial disclosure to the debtor that the collector is
attempting to collect a debt and that any information obtained will be used for
that purpose. Federal law also prohibits any threats, harassment, or various
false or misleading representations, and limits the amount of information about
a debtor that a collector may reveal to a third party. The federal act specifically
allows for state regulation regarding debt collection practices, provided that
state laws are not inconsistent with federal law. State laws may give consumers
greater protection than federal law. [Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 U.S.C.
1692 et seq.]

Financial Privacy

California’s Financial Information Privacy Act places restrictions on the sharing

of consumers’ nonpublic personal information by financial institutions.



“Nonpublic personal information” does not include publicly available

information; it is defined as personally identifiable financial information that is:

1. Provided by a consumer to a financial institution;

2. The result of a transaction with a consumer or a service performed
for a consumer; or

3. Otherwise obtained by a financial institution. [California Financial Code
Section 4052(a).]

A financial institution must first obtain a consumer’s consent before it may
disclose or share the consumer’s nonpublic personal information with any
nonaffiliated third party (an “opt in”)."® [California Financial Code Section
4053(a)(1).] Before disclosing nonpublic personal information to an affiliate, a
financial institution must give a consumer an opportunity to direct that his or
her information may not be disclosed (an “opt out”). [California Financial Code
Section 4053(b)(1).] The preemptive effect of the Fair Credit Reporting Act on

this restriction is a matter currently before the courts.™

Provided that the consumer has not opted out, a financial institution may share
the consumer’s personal information with another financial institution when
they enter into a joint marketing agreement to offer a financial product or
service that meets specified requirements. [California Financial Code Section
4053(b)(2).]1 The unrestricted sharing of nonpublic personal information
between a financial institution and its wholly owned financial-institution
subsidiaries in the same line of business also is permitted, irrespective of any
consumer choice, provided that specified requirements are met. [California
Financial Code Section 4053(c).]

'8 For descriptions of “optin” and “opt out,” see page 51.

% The restriction on sharing with affiliates was challenged by the American Bankers Association, Financial
Services Roundtable, and Consumer Bankers Association on the basis that it was preempted by the Fair Credit
Reporting Act (FCRA). The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit agreed and directed the U.S. District Court
to determine the scope of the preemption. [Am. Bankers Ass’n v. Gould, 412 F.3d 1081.] In October 2005, the
district court issued its ruling that no part of this provision survives preemption and enjoined the state from
enforcing the affiliate-sharing restrictions to the extent they are preempted by FCRA. The court made clear in
its ruling, however, that other provisions of California’s financial privacy law still stand. [Am. Bankers Ass’n v.
Lockyer, 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22437.] In November 2005, the attorney general’s office filed a notice of appeal
with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. This appeal is currently pending.



California law contains a statutory form that a financial institution may use
to offer consumers an opportunity to communicate their privacy choices. A
financial institution that uses the statutory form is deemed to have complied
with the notice requirements; a financial institution also may use an alternate
form subject to specified limitations. [California Financial Code Section
4053(d).]

Federal law prohibits a financial institution, under the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act
(GLB) of 1999 [Pub. L. 106-102, 113 Stat. 1338], from disclosing a consumer’s
nonpublic personal information to a nonaffiliated third party unless the
financial institution (1) provides the consumer with a clear and conspicuous
disclosure of the financial institution’s specified privacy policies and practices,
(2) gives the consumer the opportunity to stop the disclosure before the
information is initially disclosed (an “opt out”), and (3) provides the consumer
with an explanation of how to exercise his or her right to opt out. [15 U.S.C.
6802(b)(1).] The act contains specified exceptions. [15 U.S.C. 6802(e).]

Under GLB, financial institutions are permitted to disclose personal information
to a third party—even if a consumer has opted out—if the disclosure is to
enable the third party to perform services for or functions on behalf of the
financial institution, including the marketing of the institution’s own products or
services, or products or services offered jointly between two or more financial
institutions that comply with GLB’s provisions (often referred to as a “joint
marketing agreement”). In this case, the financial institution must enter into

a contractual agreement with the third party that requires the third party to
maintain the confidentiality of the information. [15 U.S.C. 6802(b)(2).]

GLB also specifically invites states to enact greater privacy protections than
those contained in the federal act. [15 U.S.C. 6807.]



Insurance Information and
Privacy Protection Act

State law governs the collection, use, and disclosure of information gathered in
connection with insurance transactions. The act generally limits disclosure of
personal information by insurers and agents without the written consent of the

individual. [California Insurance Code Section 791 et seq.]






Identity Theit







For the sixth year in a row, identity theft topped the Federal Trade
Commission’s list of top 10 consumer complaints in 2005. Of the
686,683 complaints filed with the commission during the year,
255,000—or 37 percent—related to identity theft.?° The most common
form of reported identity theft was credit card fraud (26 percent of
complaints), followed by phone or utilities fraud (18 percent), bank

fraud (17 percent), and employment fraud (12 percent).?’

Among the 50 states, California ranked third in identity theft
complaints per capita, after Arizona and Nevada.?? The metropolitan
area of Riverside-San Bernardino—Ontario ranked third among major
metropolitan areas with the highest per capita rates of reported
identity theft.

Over the years, both California and Congress have enacted various
statutes relating to identity theft. State and federal law, for example,
both impose criminal penalties for the crime of identity theft.
California law also allows an identity theft victim to petition a court for
a finding of innocence when an identity thief has committed crimes in
the victim’s name. And in 2006 California enacted a statute requiring
county welfare departments to obtain a credit report on behalf of
foster-care children to determine whether they have been a victim of
identity theft.

Federal Trade Commission, “FTC Releases Top 10 Consumer Fraud Complaint Categories,” January 25,
2006, http://www.ftc.gov/opa/2006/01/topten.htm; Consumer Sentinel and Identity Theft Data Clearinghouse,
"Consumer Fraud and Identity Theft Complaint Data,” January 25, 2006, http://www.consumer.gov/sentinel/
pubs/Top10Fraud2005.pdf; Electronic Privacy Information Center, “EPIC Alert, 2006 Privacy Year in Review,”
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January 4, 2007, http://www.epic.org/alert/EPIC_Alert_yir2006.html.
Consumer Sentinel and Identity Theft Data Clearinghouse, “Consumer Fraud and Identity Theft Complaint
Data,” p. 3.
Id., p. 18.
Id., p. 17.



Crime of Identity Theft

Under state law, it is unlawful to willfully use someone else’s personal
identifying information for an unlawful purpose, including to obtain or attempt
to obtain credit, goods, services, or medical information in the name of the
other person without that person’s consent. [California Penal Code Section
530.5(a).]

State law also prohibits acquiring or retaining possession of personal
identifying information with the intent to defraud. [California Penal Code
Section 530.5(c).] Additional penalties are imposed if the violator has
previously been convicted of identity theft or possesses the personal
information of 10 or more people. [California Penal Code Sections 530.5(c)(2)
and (c)(3).] Also prohibited is the sale, transfer, or conveyance of personal
identifying information with actual knowledge that it will be used to commit
identity theft. [California Penal Code Section 530.5(d)(2).]

“Personal identifying information” includes, among other things, name,
address, telephone numbers, social security number, driver’s license number,
mother’'s maiden name, checking or savings account numbers, unique
biometric data (such as a fingerprint), or credit card numbers. [California
Penal Code Section 530.55.]

Federal law makes it a crime to knowingly transfer, possess, or use another
person’s means of identification with the intent to commit, aid, or abet an
unlawful activity that violates federal law or constitutes a felony under state
law. [18 U.S.C. 1028(a)(7).] Federal law also provides for “aggravated identity
theft,” requiring a mandatory sentence of two years imprisonment for
knowingly transferring, possessing, or using another person’s identification

while committing a specified felony violation. [18 U.S.C. 1028A(a)(1).]



Debt Collection Activities

Under state law, debt collectors must cease collection activities for a specific
debt if a debtor provides a police report showing that he or she is the victim of
an identity theft crime for that particular debt. The debtor also must provide a
written statement declaring that, for the debt in question, he or she has been
the victim of an identity theft. The debt collector must review the information
provided by the debtor and may only recommence collection activities upon a
good faith determination that the information does not establish that the debtor
is not responsible for the debt in question. In 2006 the statute was amended to

extend these protections to businesses. [California Civil Code Section 1788.18.]

Deceptive Identification
Documents

State law provides that it is a misdemeanor to possess a document-making
device with the intent to manufacture, alter, or authenticate a deceptive
identification document. A deceptive identification document may include a
driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport that purports to be (or which might
deceive an ordinary reasonable person into believing that it is) a document
issued by a state or federal governmental agency. [California Penal Code
Section 483.5.]



Department of Justice Identity
Theft Victim Database

Under state law, the Department of Justice must create and maintain a
database of identity theft victims and limit access to the database to criminal
justice agencies, identity theft victims, and individuals and agencies authorized

by the victims. [California Penal Code Section 530.7(c).]

Falsely Obtaining Department
of Motor Vehicles’ Documents

State law provides that it is a misdemeanor for any person to obtain (or assist
another person in obtaining) a driver’s license, identification card, vehicle
registration certificate, or any other official document issued by the Department
of Motor Vehicles with the knowledge that the person obtaining the document
is not entitled to it. [California Penal Code Section 529.7.]

In addition, in many cases those involved in obtaining false Department of
Motor Vehicles’ documents can be prosecuted for felony conspiracy.?* A person
convicted of conspiracy to commit identity theft may be fined up to $25,000.
[California Penal Code Section 182.]

2 A conspiracy is an agreement between two or more people to commit a crime and acts done in furtherance
of the criminal goal of the conspiracy.



Identity Theft Victim’s Right
to Free Credit Reports

State law requires consumer credit reporting agencies to provide identity theft
victims, upon request, with up to 12 free copies of their credit files during a
consecutive 12-month period, not to exceed one copy per month. The victim
must first provide an identity theft police report or a similar report. [California
Civil Code Section 1785.15.3(b).]

Federal law also requires nationwide consumer reporting agencies to provide
free reports to identity theft victims under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA),
as amended by the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA).
A consumer who requests adding a fraud alert to his or her file is entitled to

a free copy of the file; a consumer who requests an extended fraud alert and
submits an identity theft report may obtain two free copies during a 12-month
period that begins the date the alert was added (for more information on fraud
alerts, see “Security Alerts” on page 37). [Fair Credit Reporting Act Sections
605A(a)(2) and (b)(2) and 612(d), 15 U.S.C. 1681c-1.]

Under the FACTA amendments to FCRA, Congress preempted state laws with
respect to the conduct required by these sections. [Fair Credit Reporting Act
Section 625(b)(5)(B), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.] However, it has not yet been tested

in court whether a state law that gives more rights (or, in this case, more

free credit reports) to identity theft victims, as California law does, would be
preempted by a federal law that grants some—but more limited—rights. In

addition, federal law applies only to nationwide credit reporting agencies.



Issuance of a Search Warrant

Under state law, a magistrate in the county where an identity theft victim
resides may issue a warrant to search a person or property in another county.
[California Penal Code Section 1524(j).]

Judicial Determination
of Innocence

State law permits a person who reasonably believes that he or she is an
identity theft victim to petition a court for an expedited judicial determination
of his or her factual innocence for crimes committed by the identity thief. This
provision applies when (1) the identity thief was arrested, cited for, or convicted
of a crime using the victim'’s identity; (2) a criminal complaint was filed

against the identity thief in the victim’s name; or (3) the victim’s identity was
mistakenly associated with a criminal record. If the court determines there is no
reasonable cause to believe that the victim committed the offense, it shall find
the victim innocent and issue an order certifying this finding. [California Penal
Code Section 530.6(b).]

Jurisdiction for Prosecuting
Identity Theft Crime

State law specifies that the jurisdiction of a criminal action for unauthorized
use of personal identifying information includes the county where the theft of
the information occurred, or the county where the information was used for an

illegal purpose. [California Penal Code Section 786(b).]



Law Enforcement
Investigation Required

State law requires law enforcement to complete a police report and begin an
investigation when contacted by a person who has learned, or suspects, that

he or she is a victim of identity theft. [California Penal Code Section 530.6(a).]

Right to Bring Legal Action
Against a Creditor

Under state law, an identity theft victim may bring legal action against a
creditor to establish that he or she is a victim of identity theft. The law requires
the victim to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that, in the case of a
particular debt, he or she is an identity theft victim. If the victim is able to do so,
then he or she is entitled to a judgment declaring that he or she is not obligated
to pay the creditor for the particular debt. The victim may obtain an injunction
preventing the creditor from collecting the debt from the victim or enforcing
any security interest in the victim's property for that claim. In addition, a victim
may obtain actual damages, attorney’s fees and costs, and any equitable relief
deemed appropriate by the court. [California Civil Code Sections 1798.92 and
1798.93.1

The judgment may also include a civil penalty of up to $30,000 if the victim
establishes by clear and convincing evidence that (1) at least 30 days prior to
filing the action, the victim gave written notice to the creditor of the suspected
identity theft as well as the basis for the belief that identity theft has taken
place, (2) the creditor failed to diligently investigate the possible identity theft,

and (3) the creditor continued to pursue the claim against the victim after being



presented with facts later held to entitle the victim to the above-described
judgment. [California Civil Code Section 1798.93.]

An identity theft victim must bring an action against a creditor within four
years of the date the victim knew or, in the exercise of reasonable diligence,
should have known of the existence of facts that would give rise to the action.
[California Civil Code Section 1798.96.]

Right to Obtain Records
of Fraudulent Transactions
or Accounts

State law provides that if an identity theft victim discovers that an unauthorized
person has either filed an application or opened an account in his or her name
for, among other things, a loan, credit card, public utility service, or mail
receiving or forwarding service, the victim is entitled to receive information
related to the application or account, including a copy of the application and

a record of transactions or charges associated with the account. The victim

first must provide a copy of an identity theft police report and identifying
information, as specified. [California Penal Code Section 530.8.] For possible
preemptive effect of FCRA on this provision, see the federal law discussion on

page 67.

Similar requirements specifically apply to credit card issuers, supervised
financial organizations, and finance lenders. [California Civil Code Section
1748.95 and California Financial Code Sections 4002 and 22470, respectively.]

Federal law also requires a business that has provided credit, goods, or

services to, or accepted payment from, an identity thief to provide a copy



of the application and business transaction records to the victim and law
enforcement, under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), as amended by the
Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act of 2003 (FACTA).

Before disclosing the records, the business may first require the victim to
provide a copy of an identity theft police report and complete an affidavit.
FCRA specifies the identification requirements that a victim must meet unless
the business, at its discretion, “has a high degree of confidence that it knows
the identity of the victim” making the request. A business may decline to
provide the requested information if, in the exercise of good faith, it determines
that, among other things, it “does not have a high degree of confidence in
knowing the true identity of the individual requesting the information” or the
request is based on a factual misrepresentation by the victim. [Fair Credit
Reporting Act Section 609(e), 15 U.S.C. 16814g.]

Although many FCRA provisions preempt the states only with respect to the
“conduct required by specific provisions” of the act, the preemption standard
for this provision is somewhat different: specifically, states are preempted from
imposing any requirement or prohibition “with respect to any subject matter
regulated” by Section 609(e) relating to information available to victims. [Fair
Credit Reporting Act Section 625(b)(1)(G), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]

Although this would appear to be a preemption standard with broader
reach than the “conduct required” standard, whether it preempts the above-
described state law is ultimately a matter to be decided by the courts. The
extent of this preemption provision has not yet been tested in a court of law,

and, as a result, the preemptive effect of this FCRA provision is not yet known.

Statute of Limitations

Under state law, the statute of limitations for identity theft crimes, which
is generally three or four years, commences upon discovery of the theft.
[California Penal Code Sections 801, 801.5, 803, and 803.5.]



Youth in Foster Care:
Request for Credit Report

State law requires a county welfare department to request a credit report

on behalf of a foster-care child to determine whether an identity theft has
occurred; the report must be requested when the youth reaches 16 years of
age. If the report indicates that some form of identity theft has occurred, the
department must refer the youth to an approved counseling organization
that provides services to identity theft victims. [Welfare and Institutions Code
Section 10618.6.]









Using personal information for marketing purposes continues to be an
issue of particular interest. Consumers have overwhelmingly responded
to opportunities to control the use of their personal information.

One example is the nationwide “Do Not Call” Registry, in which
consumers may include their telephone numbers to reduce unwanted
telemarketing sales calls. This registry has been tremendously popular,
and according to its administrator, the Federal Trade Commission, more

than 137 million phone numbers have been placed on the list.?®

Both state and federal law restrict the sending of unsolicited commercial
e-mail messages (spam). Federal law largely preempts state spam laws
except that state laws may prohibit “falsity or deception in any portion”

of a commercial e-mail message or attachment.

California law also places various restrictions on marketing practices,
including the regulation of the following: the use of supermarket club
cards, marketing to children under 16 years of age, the acquisition of
medical information for marketing purposes unless certain disclosures

are made, and the sending of unsolicited text messages.

California requires businesses to disclose their information-sharing
practices if they share customers’ personal information with third
parties for marketing reasons. According to the Privacy Rights
Clearinghouse, California’s law is the only one of its kind in the

country.?®

25 Damon Darlin, “Don’t Call. Don't Write. Let Me Be,” New York Times, January 20, 2007.
% Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, “‘Shine the Light' on Marketers: Find Out How They Know Your Name, "
July 2005, http://www.privacyrights.org/fs/fs4a-shinelight.htm.



Cell Phone Directory:
Optin Required

State law requires that cellular telephone companies and their agents get a
subscriber’s consent before including the subscriber’s telephone number in
a directory. Consent may be given in a document that is signed and dated by
the subscriber and not attached to any other document, or consent may be
given on an Internet Web site; the company receiving the consent must send
a confirmation notice to the subscriber’s e-mail or postal address. [California
Public Utilities Code Section 2891.1.]

Credit Card Solicitations

Under state law, a consumer may request that his or her name be removed
from any list a consumer credit reporting agency furnishes for credit card
solicitations. [California Civil Code Section 1785.11.8.]

Direct Marketing:
Medical Information

State law prohibits businesses from directly requesting any medical
information from an individual, regardless of whether the information pertains
to him or her, and using, sharing, or otherwise disclosing that information for
direct marketing purposes without taking the following steps prior to obtaining

the information:



1. Disclosing in a clear and conspicuous manner that the business is
obtaining the information to market or advertise products, goods, or
services to the individual. If the request is verbal, the business must make
the disclosure to the individual in the same conversation during which the
request was made.

2. Obtaining the consent of the individual to whom the information pertains
(or a person legally authorized to provide consent for that individual) to
permit his or her medical information to be used or shared to market or
advertise products, goods, or services to the individual. If the request is
in writing, the consent also must be in writing. If the request is verbal, the
business must make an audio recording of the disclosure and consent
and maintain the recording for two years. [California Civil Code Section
1798.91.1

Disclosure of Alumni
Names and Addresses

Under state law, the governing bodies and alumni associations of the California
State University (CSU), University of California (UC), and Hastings College of
the Law may disclose the names, addresses, and e-mail addresses of alumni to
businesses offering various commercial products and services, provided that
specified privacy requirements are met. For example, alumni must be offered
an opportunity to opt out of the sharing. These disclosure provisions sunset on
January 1, 2011. [California Education Code Sections 89090 and 92630.]



Disclosure of Personal
Information to Direct
Marketers

State law requires a business that discloses personal information to third
parties for marketing purposes to either (1) disclose to customers, upon
request, a list of the categories of personal information (such as name, address,
telephone number, social security number, e-mail address, or occupation) that
the business has disclosed in the preceding calendar year to third parties for
marketing purposes, as well as the names and addresses of those third parties,
or (2) provide customers with the opportunity to prevent information sharing

for marketing purposes through either an opt-in or opt-out approach.

“Personal information” is defined as “any information that, when it was
disclosed, identified, described, or was able to be associated with an
individual.” The statute does not apply to financial institutions in compliance
with California’s Financial Information Privacy Act, as specified. [California Civil
Code Section 1798.83.]

Marketing to Children
Under 16 Years of Age

Under state law, it is unlawful to use a child’s personal information to directly
contact the child or his or her parent to offer a commercial product or service,
and to knowingly fail to comply with the parent’s request to take steps to limit
access to his or her child’s information. “Child” is defined as a person under

16 years of age. Furthermore, marketers are required to permit a parent to



withdraw consent to use his or her child’s personal information in writing;

failure to comply within 20 days of a parent’s written request is a misdemeanor.

Those who sell children’s products or services through the mail also must
maintain a list of all the individuals—and their addresses—who have requested
they discontinue sending materials to them or their children. Violation is a

misdemeanor. [California Penal Code Section 637.9.]

Satellite and Cable
Television Subscribers

State law prohibits satellite or cable television providers, without the
subscriber’s express written consent, from recording or monitoring
conversations that take place in a subscriber’s residence, or providing a
third party with a subscriber’s individually identifiable information, including
television viewing habits, shopping choices, interests, medical information,
banking data, or any other personal or private information. [California Penal
Code Section 637.5.]

Supermarket Club Card
Disclosure Act of 1999

State law places various restrictions on supermarket club cards. For example,
club card issuers may not request or require an applicant’s driver's license
number or social security number unless the card also can be used as
identification to cash checks or withdraw money from the cardholder’s

checking or savings account. [California Civil Code Section 1749.64.]



Club card issuers also are prohibited from selling or sharing a cardholder’s
name, address, telephone number, or other personal identification information.
[California Civil Code Section 1749.65(a).]

However, a club card issuer may share marketing information, including
names and addresses, if it (1) charges a fee for a club card that must be
renewed annually, (2) permits only cardholders to make purchases in the
supermarket, (3) alerts cardholders in the text of the application and the
annual renewal materials that their marketing information will be shared with
outside companies, and the cardholder has agreed to allow the issuer to share
this information, and (4) obtains a written confidentiality agreement with the
outside company stating that the outside company agrees not to sell or share
the cardholder’s information. [California Civil Code Section 1749.65(c).]

Telecommunications:
Residential Subscriber
Information

Under state law, telephone companies may not disclose, without the residential
subscriber’s written consent, the subscriber’s personal calling patterns, credit
or other personal financial information, services purchased, or demographic
information, subject to specified exceptions. [California Public Utilities Code
Section 2891.]



Telemarketing:
“Do Not Call” Registry

After federal implementation of the nationwide registry described below,
California repealed its “Do Not Call” Registry, which required the attorney
general to maintain a list of telephone numbers of consumers who did not
wish to receive unsolicited telemarketing calls. Instead, California law now is
coordinated with the federal registry; the federal list is now the “master list,”
and California does not have to bear the cost of a separate registry. However,
California law prohibits certain activities related to the “Do Not Call” Registry,
such as denying or interfering with a subscriber’s right to place a California
telephone number on the list for free. [California Business and Professions
Code Section 17590 et seq.]

Federal law provides for a nationwide “Do Not Call” Registry in which
consumers may include their personal home and cellular telephone numbers
to reduce unwanted telemarketing sales calls. Exceptions to the rule include
calls from companies with whom a consumer has an existing business
relationship, and calls from or on behalf of political organizations, charities,
and telephone surveyors. Federal law also places restrictions on when a
telemarketer may call a consumer’s residence, prohibiting phone calls at any
time except between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. (local time at the consumer’s
location). [Telemarketing Sales Rule, 16 C.F.R. Part 310, Telemarketing and
Consumer Fraud and Abuse Prevention Act, 15 U.S.C. 6101 et seq.]



Telephone Consumer
Protection Act of 1991

Federal law places some restrictions on the use of automated telephone
equipment and prerecorded messages. [Telephone Consumer Protection Act
of 1991, 47 U.S.C. 227.]

Unsolicited Commercial
E-mail Messages (Spam)

State law prohibits any person or entity from sending unsolicited commercial
e-mail advertisements from California or to a California e-mail address.?”

[California Business and Professions Code Section 17529.2.]

It also is unlawful for a person or entity to advertise in a commercial e-mail
advertisement either sent from California or to a California e-mail address in

any of the following circumstances:

1. The e-mail advertisement contains or is accompanied by a third-party’s
domain name without the permission of the third party;

2. The e-mail advertisement contains or is accompanied by falsified,
misrepresented, or forged header information; or

3. The e-mail advertisement has a subject line that would likely mislead a
recipient, acting reasonably under the circumstances, about the message’s
contents or subject matter. [California Business and Professions Code
Section 17529.5.]

27 Also see the preemptive effect of federal law outlined on page 79.



The statute specifically allows the attorney general, an e-mail service provider,
or a recipient of an unsolicited commercial e-mail to bring an action against a
person or entity who violates the law. A successful plaintiff may recover actual
damages and/or liquidated damages of $1,000 for each unsolicited commercial
e-mail transmitted in violation of the law, with a cap of $1 million per incident.
A violation of the statute is also a misdemeanor. [California Business and
Professions Code Section 17529.5.]

The collection of e-mail addresses posted on the Internet is unlawful under
state law if the purpose of the collection is to use the addresses to initiate

or advertise in an unsolicited commercial e-mail advertisement sent from
California or to a California e-mail address. It is also prohibited to use an
e-mail address obtained from an automated system that randomly combines
names, letters, and numbers for this same purpose. [California Business and
Professions Code Section 17529.4.]

Registered users of e-mail service providers are prohibited from using the
provider's equipment in violation of the provider’s policy prohibiting or
restricting the sending of unsolicited e-mail advertisements. [California

Business and Professions Code Section 17538.45.]

The federal Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and
Marketing Act of 2003 (CAN-SPAM) regulates e-mail messages with the
primary purpose of advertising or promoting a commercial product or
service. [15 U.S.C. 7701 et seq.] CAN-SPAM expressly preempts a state law
that regulates the sending of unsolicited commercial e-mails except to the
extent that the state law “prohibits falsity or deception in any portion” of a
commercial e-mail message or attachment. [15 U.S.C. 7707.] California law
may therefore regulate false or deceptive aspects of unsolicited commercial
e-mail. [4 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (10th ed.) Sales, Section 336.]



CAN-SPAM bans false or misleading header information and deceptive subject
lines. Those who send commercial e-mail messages must include a return
e-mail address or another Internet-based response method that a recipient
can use to inform the sender to stop sending e-mail messages. Senders

must comply with those requests. Commercial e-mail must be clearly and
conspicuously identified as an advertisement or solicitation, and include a
clear and conspicuous notice that the recipient can opt out of receiving future
commercial e-mail from the sender. The act also contains other prohibitions,
including a ban on e-mail address “harvesting” (a process in which addresses
are obtained by using an automated system that generates possible e-mail
addresses by combining names, letters, or numbers into different
permutations). [15 U.S.C. 7704.]

Unsolicited Text Messages

State law prohibits a person, business, candidate, or political committee from
transmitting unsolicited text-message advertisements to a cellular telephone,
pager, or two-way messaging device, except as specified. The statute covers
messages with the principal purpose of promoting the sale of goods or services
or a political purpose or objective. The law exempts text messages transmitted
by a business, candidate, or political committee that has an existing
relationship with the subscriber—if the subscriber is given the opportunity to
opt out of receiving text messages from that entity. [California Business and
Professions Code Section 17538.41.]



Medical Privacy







According to a recent survey by the California HealthCare Foundation,
67 percent of national respondents are “very concerned” or “somewhat
concerned” about the privacy of their personal medical records. Of
those consumers surveyed, nearly all (98 percent) are willing to share
their personal health information with their doctors, but they are

less willing to share that same information with their health insurers
(77 percent), pharmacies (53 percent), employers (37 percent), drug

companies (27 percent), or government agencies (20 percent).

The survey respondents also have opinions about hospitals and
doctors’ offices shifting to computer-based systems: 63 percent believe
the computerization of records helps reduce medical errors, and most
(93 percent) believe it gives doctors and nurses quicker and easier

access to patient information.

Data security issues are another concern: 72 percent of the survey
respondents believe computerization “increases occurrence of
unauthorized break-ins to computer systems/payment systems.” And
66 percent believe that storing their medical records in paper format is
“very secure” or “somewhat secure” compared with 58 percent who

feel their records are more secure when stored in an electronic format.?®

Both California law and federal law regulate the privacy of patients’
medical information. At the federal level, the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) sets a national
standard for the privacy of health information while California’s

Confidentiality of Medical Information Act (CMIA) provides state

28 California HealthCare Foundation, “National Consumer Health Privacy Survey 2005,” November 9, 2005,
conducted by Forrester Research, Inc., http://www.chcf.org/documents/ihealth/ConsumerPrivacy2005Slides.pdf.



protections. HIPAA preempts contrary state laws but generally allows
states to provide patients with stronger privacy protections than
provided under HIPAA.

Like other states, California has created a separate office solely to

deal with the implementation of HIPAA. [California Health and Safety
Code Section 130300 et seq.] The Office of HIPAA Implementation was
created in 2001 to, among other things, “assume statewide leadership,
coordination, direction, and oversight responsibilities for determining
which provisions of state law concerning personal medical information
are preempted by HIPAA.”?° [California Health and Safety Code Section
130311.5.] The provisions creating the office sunset on January 1, 2008.
[California Health and Safety Code Section 130317.]

Medical Privacy

California’s Confidentiality of Medical Information Act (CMIA) prohibits a health
care provider, health care service plan, or contractor from disclosing medical
information regarding a patient, enrollee, or subscriber of a health care service
plan without first obtaining authorization, except as specified. [California Civil
Code Section 56.10(a).]

Notwithstanding the above, a provider, plan, or contractor must disclose
medical information if required by a court order, subpoena, or search
warrant, among other things. [California Civil Code Section 56.10(b).] In

other specified circumstances, a provider or plan may disclose medical

2 For additional information from the California Office of HIPAA Implementation, including HIPAA
preemption analyses, go to http://www.calohi.ca.gov.



information. For example, a provider or plan may disclose the information for
purposes of diagnosis or treatment of the patient or to provide billing or other
administrative services to the provider or plan. [California Civil Code Section
56.10(c).]

“Medical information” is defined as any individually identifiable information,
in electronic or physical form, concerning a patient’s medical history, mental

or physical condition, or treatment. [California Civil Code Section 56.05(g).]

Unless expressly authorized by the patient, enrollee, or subscriber, CMIA
prohibits health care providers, plans, and contractors from using a patient’s
medical information for marketing purposes or any other purpose not
necessary to provide health care services to the patient. [California Civil Code
Section 56.10(d).] “Marketing” means a communication about a product or
service that encourages recipients to purchase or use the product or service,
except that certain communications are specifically excluded. For example,
marketing does not include communications in which the communicator

does not receive direct or indirect remuneration.

Also excluded from CMIA's definition of marketing are communications that

meet the following two requirements:

(1) They are tailored to the patient’s circumstances to educate or advise
him or her about treatment options, and otherwise maintain his or her
adherence to a prescribed course of treatment for a chronic and seriously
debilitating or life-threatening condition, as defined; and

(2) They are paid for, either directly or indirectly, by a third party. In this
case, the patient must be notified that the provider, contractor, or health
plan has been remunerated, as specified, and he or she must be given
the opportunity to opt out of future remunerated communications by
receiving instructions describing how to opt out by calling a toll-free
number. [California Civil Code Section 56.05(f).]



CMIA also requires health care providers, plans, contractors, and
pharmaceutical companies to preserve the confidentiality of medical records
they create, maintain, store, dispose of, or destroy. [California Civil Code
Section 56.101.]

Violations of CMIA are enforceable by administrative fines or civil penalties,
misdemeanor criminal penalties, and a private right of action for compensatory
and punitive damages not to exceed $3,000. The costs of litigation and
attorneys’ fees (not to exceed $1,000) also may be recovered. [California Civil
Code Sections 56.35 and 56.36.]

The federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996

(HIPAA) specifies minimum privacy protections for patients’ personal medical
information. [Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996,

42 U.S.C. 1320d et seq.] Pursuant to HIPAA, the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services issued the “Standards for Privacy of Individually Identifiable
Health Information” (“Privacy Rule”), which created national privacy standards
for patients’ information. [45 C.F.R. 164.500 et seq.]

The Privacy Rule applies to health plans, health care clearinghouses, and
health care providers that transmit any health information in electronic form
that pertains to a transaction covered by the rule.®® Under the rule, patients
have the right to see and request correction of their medical records, except
as specified. [45 C.F.R. 164.524 and 45 C.F.R. 164.526.] Entities covered under
the Privacy Rule must provide patients with a notice of their privacy practices,
which must contain specified information including a description of how the

entity uses and discloses patients’ information. [45 C.F.R. 164.520.]

30 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office for Civil Rights, “Summary of the HIPAA Privacy Rule,”
May 2003, http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacysummary.pdf, p. 2.



Under federal law, patients also have the right to an accounting of the
disclosures of their medical information by a covered entity or its business
associates during the prior six years. Certain kinds of disclosures are excluded
from these accountings, such as when the information was disclosed for

treatment, payment, or health care operations. [45 C.F.R. 164.528.]

In general, the Privacy Rule states that a covered entity may not use or disclose
protected health information except as the rule permits or requires or as
authorized by the patient in writing. [45 C.F.R. 164.502(a).] Certain uses or
disclosures are specifically permitted, such as for treatment, payment, or health
care operations or pursuant to a valid authorization for use or disclosure for
marketing purposes. [45 C.F.R. 164.502(a)(1).] Covered entities are required

to disclose health information in only two instances: (1) to a patient who has
requested access to, or an accounting of disclosures of, his or her medical
record; or (2) to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in

connection with a compliance investigation. [45 C.F.R. 164.502(a)(2).]

The federal Privacy Rule requires covered entities to obtain a valid
authorization from the patient before they may use or disclose the patient’s
health information for marketing. An authorization is not necessary if the
communication is a face-to-face communication made by a covered entity to
the patient or a promotional gift of nominal value provided by the covered
entity. If the marketing involves direct or indirect remuneration to the covered
entity from a third party, the authorization must state this fact. [45 C.F.R.
164.508(a)(3).]

Marketing is defined under the Privacy Rule as a communication about a
product or service that encourages recipients to purchase or use the product
or service. The definition specifically excludes some communications if they
are made (1) to describe a health-related product or service that is included in
the covered entity’s benefit plan, (2) for treatment of the individual, or (3) to
direct or recommend alternative treatments, therapies, health care providers,

or settings of care to the individual. Marketing includes arrangements between



a covered entity and a third party in which the covered entity discloses health
information to the other party in exchange for direct or indirect remuneration,
so that the other party may communicate with patients about its own products
or services and encourage them to purchase or use those products or services.
[45 C.F.R. 164.501.]

While the Privacy Rule preempts contrary state laws, it specifically permits
more stringent state laws that relate to the privacy of individually identifiable
health information. [45 C.F.R. 160.203.]

Under HIPAA, patients do not have a private right of action; instead, they may
file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,
which may impose civil penalties of up to $100 per Privacy Rule violation. Civil
penalties may not exceed $25,000 per calendar year for multiple violations of
the same Privacy Rule requirement. [42 U.S.C. 1320d-5(a).] Penalties may not
be imposed in certain cases, such as when a violation is due to a reasonable
cause and not willful neglect and the entity corrected the violation within 30
days of when it knew or by exercising reasonable diligence would have known
of the violation. [42 U.S.C. 1320d-5(b)(3).]

Criminal penalties may be imposed for knowingly violating HIPAA. [42 U.S.C.
1320d-6(a).] Violators may be fined up to $50,000, imprisoned for up to one
year, or both. If the wrongful conduct involves false pretenses, the criminal
penalties increase to up to $100,000, up to five years in prison, or both. If the
violator intended to sell, transfer, or use the health information for commercial
advantage, personal gain, or malicious harm, the penalties increase to up to
$250,000, up to 10 years in prison, or both. [42 U.S.C. 1320d-6(b).]



Patient Access to
Medical Records

State law gives a patient the right to request, inspect, and copy his or her
records maintained by a health care provider upon payment of reasonable
clerical costs. [California Health and Safety Code Section 123110.] A patient
who has been denied access to his or her records may bring an action against
the health care provider. [California Health and Safety Code Section 123120.]

An adult patient has the right to include a limited written addendum

regarding any item or statement in his or her records that he or she believes

is incomplete or incorrect. The provider must attach the addendum to the
patient’s records and include it whenever the provider discloses the allegedly
incomplete or incorrect portion to any third party. [California Health and Safety
Code Section 123111.]






Online Privacy and

Related Issues







Nationwide, consumers have grown increasingly concerned about
online privacy and the protection of their personal information. In

fact, an October 2005 Consumer Reports WebWatch survey found that
nearly nine out of ten Internet users (86 percent) have “made at least
one change in their behavior because of fears about identity theft” and
slightly more than half (53 percent) say “they have stopped giving out

personal information on the Internet.”

Furthermore, 88 percent of those surveyed say that “keeping personal
information safe and secure is very important for a Web site they
visit.”3" In another survey, 63 percent of Americans indicated they are
“very worried” and “somewhat worried” about providing personal

information on Web sites.%?

California is one of several states that has enacted various statutes to
help consumers protect their privacy online. For example, California
law requires companies to conspicuously post their privacy policies on
their Web sites and identify their information-collection and sharing
practices. Other states impose restrictions on Web site operators that
prohibit them from making false or misleading statements in their

privacy policies.®

Some states, including California, have also prohibited the
unauthorized installation of spyware on a user’s computer, which

allows an individual to secretly collect, monitor, and transmit the user’s

31 Consumer Reports WebWatch, “Leap of Faith: Using the Internet Despite the Dangers; Results of a National
Survey of Internet Users for Consumer Reports WebWatch,” October 26, 2005, conducted by Princeton Survey
Research Associates International, http://www.consumerwebwatch.org/pdfs/princeton.pdf.

32 |psos/Queen’s University, “Seven Countries Ponder Online Privacy,” November 19, 2006, http://www.angus-reid.
com/polls/index.cfm/fuseaction/viewltem/itemID/13849.

3% National Conference of State Legislatures, “State Laws Related to Internet Privacy,” February 3, 2006,
http://www.ncsl.org/programs/lis/privacy/eprivacylaws.htm.



personal information. California and other states have also outlawed
the practice of phishing (when an identity thief uses e-mail or the
Internet to impersonate a legitimate company to obtain an unsuspecting
consumer’s personal information, account number, or password).

Federal legislation has been introduced on these issues as well.

Anti-Phishing Act of 2005

State law makes it unlawful for a person to use a Web page, e-mail message, or
any other means via the Internet to solicit, request, or take an action to induce
another individual to provide identifying information by falsely representing
himself or herself as a legitimate business. The statute also defines key

terms and includes various remedies for a violation. [California Business and

Professions Code Section 22948 et seq.]

Children’s Online Privacy
Protection Act

Federal law requires the Federal Trade Commission to issue a privacy rule
regarding the collection of personal information from a child under the age of
13 by operators of Web sites or online services directed at children. [Children’s
Online Privacy Protection Act of 1998, 15 U.S.C. 6501 et seq.]

The Children’s Online Privacy Protection Rule, issued in November 1999,
requires operators to provide notice on their Web sites concerning what
personal information is collected and how it is used and disclosed. The rule

also generally requires operators to obtain parental consent prior to collecting,



using, or disclosing a child’s personal information. Operators must provide
parents with access to their children’s personal information and the ability to
(1) review the information, (2) request its deletion, and (3) opt out of future
collection or use of the information. Operators may not make the disclosure
of more information than is reasonably necessary a condition of a child’s
participation in a game or prize offering, and they must establish and maintain
reasonable procedures to protect the confidentiality, security, and integrity

of personal information collected from children. [Children’s Online Privacy
Protection Rule, 16 C.F.R. Part 312.]

Computer Spyware

Among other things, state law prohibits an unauthorized person or entity from
causing, as specified, computer software to be copied onto another person’s
computer if the software, through intentionally deceptive means, modifies the
user’s computer settings to use or access the Internet or collects personally
identifiable information. [California Business and Professions Code Section
22947.2.]

Online Privacy Policy

Under state law, commercial Web site operators and online services that collect
personally identifiable information about California residents are required to
conspicuously post their privacy policy on their Web site or, in the case of an
online service, make that policy available to the public. The policy must meet
specified requirements, including that it identify the categories of personally
identifiable information collected by the operator and the categories of third
parties with whom the operator shares that information. If an operator offers

consumers a process to review and request changes to their personally



identifiable information, it must provide a description of that process. The
policy must also describe the process by which the operator notifies consumers
of material changes to the policy and identify its effective date. [California

Business and Professions Code Section 22575.]

An operator is in violation if, after being notified of noncompliance, its privacy
policy is not posted within 30 days. An operator who fails to comply with these
requirements or the provisions of its posted privacy policy is in violation if it
does so either knowingly and willfully or negligently and materially. [California
Business and Professions Code Sections 22575 and 22576.]

“Personally identifiable information” is defined as individually identifiable
information about a consumer collected online by the operator from that
individual and maintained by the operator in an accessible form, including
name, address, e-mail address, or social security number. [California Business
and Professions Code Section 22577(a).]

Posting Personal Information
on the Internet

State law places restrictions on posting the personal information of certain
individuals on the Internet. For example, state and local agencies are prohibited
from posting the home address or telephone number of any elected or
appointed official, including state constitutional officers, members of the
Legislature, judges, district attorneys, public defenders, and city council
members, without first obtaining the official’s written permission. [California
Government Code Section 6254.21.]

The law also prohibits any person from knowingly posting on the Internet the

home address or telephone number of a public official or his or her residing



spouse or child with the intent to cause, or threaten to cause, imminent great
bodily harm to the individual. [California Government Code Section 6254.21(b).]

Similar provisions restrict the public posting of personal information and
photographic images of providers, employees, volunteers, and patients of
reproductive health services facilities. [California Government Code Section
6218(a).]

State Agency Collection
of Personal Information
on the Internet

Under state law, state agencies are required, when electronically collecting
personal information on the Internet, to state what type of personal information
is being collected and how it will be used. State agencies are prohibited from
distributing or selling electronically collected personal information about a
user to a third party without the user’s written permission, except as specified.
“Electronically collected personal information” is any information maintained
by an agency that identifies or describes an individual user. [California
Government Code Section 11015.5.]

Unauthorized Access to
Computers, Computer
Systems, and Data

State law makes it unlawful to, among other things, knowingly access and,
without permission, alter, damage, delete, destroy, or otherwise use any data,

computer, computer system, or computer network to (1) devise or execute



a scheme to defraud or extort, or (2) wrongfully control or obtain money,

property, or data. [California Penal Code Section 502.]

U.S. SAFE WEB Act

The federal “Undertaking Spam, Spyware, and Fraud Enforcement With
Enforcers beyond Borders Act of 2006” (U.S. SAFE WEB Act of 2006) provides
the Federal Trade Commission with the authority to protect consumers from
unfair or deceptive acts or practices perpetrated from outside the United
States. The act extends the commission’s authority to include acts or practices
that involve foreign commerce and “cause or are likely to cause reasonably
foreseeable injury within the United States.” [U.S. SAFE WEB Act of 2006,
Pub. L. 109-455.]

Wireless Network Security

Under state law, a wireless network device, which allows a consumer to
connect wirelessly to an Internet service provider, must be manufactured

to include one of several security measures in the product or its packaging.
Such measures include a consumer warning on how to protect the wireless
network connection from unauthorized access. The law applies only to devices
manufactured after October 1, 2007, that are sold as new for use in a small
office, home office, or residential setting. [California Business and Professions
Code Sections 22948.5 and 22948.6.]



Public Records







State law largely governs the collection, use, and disclosure of
personal information contained in public records. For example,
California law places restrictions on the maintenance and release of
birth and death indices and records to safeguard personal information
contained within those records, such as social security numbers and

mothers’ maiden names.

California also imposes limitations on the collection and disclosure
of personal information by state agencies and permits individuals
to inspect and, if necessary, request correction of their records
maintained by the agency. Federal law imposes similar restrictions

on federal agencies.

California is one of 19 states with an address-confidentiality program
that allows participants to request that a substitute address be used

as their address of record in public records.* Victims of domestic
violence and stalking, as well as providers, employees, volunteers, and
patients of reproductive health care facilities, may participate in the
program. California recently strengthened this law by adding victims

of sexual assault to the program.

Other public records are also protected under California law. For
example, court records, Department of Motor Vehicle records, and

voter records all receive some protections.

34 National Conference of State Legislatures,” States with Address Confidentiality Programs for
Domestic Violence Survivors,” http://www.ncsl.org/programs/cyf/dvsurvive.htm.



Birth and Death Record Indices

Under state law, the state registrar must maintain three indices containing birth

and death records as follows:

1. Comprehensive birth and death indices must be kept confidential, with
access limited to other governmental agencies. No government agency may
sell or release any portion of the contents to any person, except as necessary
for official government business, or place the information on the Internet.

2. Noncomprehensive birth and death indices that do not contain the mother’s
maiden name or any social security numbers must be available to the pubilic.

3. Noncomprehensive birth and death indices containing the mother’s maiden
name and social security numbers, as specified, must be made available
for purposes of law enforcement or to certain entities (such as financial
institutions or consumer credit reporting agencies) to prevent fraud.
[California Health and Safety Code Section 102230(a)-(c).]

Those who request both noncomprehensive birth and death indices are
required to complete a form, signed under penalty of perjury, that includes an
agreement not to sell, assign, or otherwise transfer the indices or use them for

fraudulent purposes. [California Health and Safety Code Section 102230(b)(4).]

Restrictions also are imposed on the release of birth and death data files.
[California Health and Safety Code Section 102231.]

The above-described provisions are to be implemented only to the extent that
funds are appropriated by the Legislature.® [California Health and Safety Code
Sections 102230(i) and 102231(g).]

% The California Department of Health Services' Center for Health Statistics, Office of Health Information and
Research indicates that it currently produces, maintains, and sells both comprehensive and noncomprehensive
indices. Only governmental agencies and fraud-prevention organizations may obtain confidential versions of the
indices; the public may obtain nonconfidential indices.



Violation of the restrictions relating to birth and death record indices is

a misdemeanor. [California Health and Safety Code Section 102232.]

Birth and Death Records:
Confidential Information

State law provides that confidential information included in birth and death
(including fetal death) certificates is exempt from the California Public Records
Act. [California Health and Safety Code Section 102100.]

California law makes the medical and social information contained in the
second section of a birth certificate—such as birth weight, pregnancy history,
and race and ethnicity of the mother and father—confidential, and applies this
confidentiality to the second section of a fetal death certificate, which contains
similar information. In both cases, access is limited to specified persons, and
the second section of the certificate must be labeled “Confidential Information
for Public Health Use Only.” [California Health and Safety Code Sections
102425, 102430, and 103025.]

Birth and Death Records:
Release

State law controls the access to and release of birth and death records. Among
other things, the statute provides that the state registrar, local registrar, or
county recorder may only give a certified copy of a birth or death record to an
authorized person. That person must submit a statement sworn under penalty
of perjury that he or she is authorized to receive a copy. Authorized persons
include the registrant, law enforcement, a specified relative of the registrant,

or a funeral establishment employee.



In cases in which the requester is not an authorized person, a certified copy
may be provided but the document may only be an informational certified
copy that states “Informational, Not A Valid Document To Establish Identity.”
Informational certified copies may only be printed from the state registrar’s
single statewide database and signatures must be electronically redacted. This
requirement becomes operative on July 1, 2007, but only after the statewide
database becomes operational.®® [California Health and Safety Code Section
103526.]

Court Records: Personal
Information of Victims
and Witnesses

State law protects confidential personal information relating to a witness

or victim contained in a police report, arrest report, or investigative report.
“Confidential personal information” is defined to include, among other things,
address, telephone number, driver’s license number, social security number,
and date of birth. [California Penal Code Section 964.]

Court Records: Sealing
Information Regarding
Financial Assets and Liabilities

Under state law, a party to a dissolution of marriage, an annulment, or a

legal separation may request that the court seal from public view information

%  The California Department of Health Services’ Center for Health Statistics, Office of Health Information
and Research indicates that the “Informational, Not A Valid Document To Establish Identity” statement is
currently included on all copies issued to persons who are not authorized to receive a regular certified copy.



concerning the party’s financial assets and liabilities. [California Family Code
Section 2024.6.]

Department of Motor
Vehicles’ Records

State law prohibits the Department of Motor Vehicles from disclosing personal
information about a person unless the disclosure is in compliance with the
federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act. [California Vehicle Code Section
1808(e).] Existing law also provides that a residential address in any of the
department’s records is confidential and may not be disclosed except to a
court, law enforcement agency, or other government agency or, under certain
circumstances, to a financial institution, insurance company, or attorney.
[California Vehicle Code Sections 1808.21 and 1808.22.]

Another provision, enacted prior to the section cited above, makes the home
addresses of certain individuals confidential, including the attorney general,
members of the Legislature, judges, district attorneys, and public defenders.

If these persons request confidentiality of their home addresses, they may not
be disclosed except to a court, law enforcement agency, an attorney pursuant
to a subpoena, or others as specified. [California Vehicle Code Section 1808.4.]
The home addresses of the chairperson, executive officer, commissioners, and
deputy commissioners of the Board of Prison Terms (now called the Board of
Parole Hearings) are also kept confidential upon request. [California Vehicle
Code Section 1808.6.]

Except for home addresses and other information required to be kept
confidential, the Department of Motor Vehicles may permit entities access to
its electronic database to obtain information for commercial use. [California
Vehicle Code Section 1810.7.] The distribution or sale of a driver's license
photograph or information pertaining to the driver’s physical characteristics
is prohibited. [California Vehicle Code Section 12800.5.]



Driver’s License Information:
Swiping

Under state law, businesses may “swipe” a driver’s license through an
electronic device only for specified purposes, such as verification of the
person’s age or authenticity of the card, or to collect or disclose personal
information required for reporting, investigating, or preventing fraud, abuse,
or material misrepresentation. Businesses may not retain or use information
obtained for any purpose that is not specified, and violation of these provisions

is a misdemeanor. [California Civil Code Section 1798.90.1.]

Driver’s Privacy Protection
Act of 1994

Federal law prohibits a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles and its employees
from knowingly disclosing, or otherwise making available, a driver’s personal
information to any person or entity except for certain uses, including (1) a gov-
ernment agency carrying out its functions, (2) a business verifying the accuracy
of personal information submitted by the individual to the business, or (3) a
licensed private investigative agency using it for various permissible purposes.
Federal law imposes criminal penalties for certain violations, and a driver may
bring a civil action against a person who knowingly obtains, discloses, or uses
personal information from the driver’s motor vehicle record for an impermis-
sible purpose. [Driver’s Privacy Protection Act of 1994,

18 U.S.C. 2721 et seq.]



Information Practices
Act of 1977

California’s Information Practices Act of 1977 imposes limitations on the
collection and disclosure of personal information by state agencies. The act
declares that the right to privacy is a personal and fundamental right protected
by both the California and U.S. Constitutions and that all individuals have a
right of privacy in information about them. [California Civil Code Section

1798 et seq.]

The act defines “personal information” as any information maintained by

an agency that identifies or describes an individual, including name, social
security number, physical description, home address, home telephone number,
financial matters, and medical and employment history. Personal information
also includes statements made by, or attributed to, the individual. [California
Civil Code Section 1798.3(a).]

The Information Practices Act requires, among other things, that state
agencies maintain in their records only personal information that is relevant
and necessary to accomplish an authorized purpose. [California Civil Code
Section 1798.14.] State agencies also must permit individuals to inspect and,
if necessary, request correction of their records maintained by the agency.
[California Civil Code Sections 1798.34 and 1798.35.]

Under state law, an agency may not disclose any personal information in a
manner that would link the information to the individual it pertains to unless,
among other things, the disclosure is (1) with the prior written consent of the
individual, as specified, (2) to a governmental entity when required by state
or federal law, (3) pursuant to the California Public Records Act, (4) pursuant

to a subpoena or search warrant, or (5) to a committee or a member of the



Legislature, if the member has permission from the individual or the member
provides reasonable assurance that he or she is acting on the individual's
behalf. [California Civil Code Section 1798.24.]

Marriage License Information

Under state law, an applicant for a marriage license, or a witness to a marriage,
may request that the marriage certificate or license show the business address
or a post office box number for that applicant or witness instead of the person’s

residential address. [California Family Code Section 351.5.]

Privacy Act of 1974

The federal Privacy Act regulates the collection, maintenance, use, and
disclosure of personal information by federal executive branch agencies.
Individuals are granted some limited rights to access their personal information

and request correction if necessary. [5 U.S.C. 552a.]

Public Records: Address
Confidentiality

State law provides that certain individuals may request a substitute address,
designated by the secretary of state, to be used as their address of record in
public records. State and local agencies must use this alternate address when
creating, modifying, or maintaining public records, except as specified. The

programs apply to victims of domestic violence, stalking, and sexual assault,



as well as providers, employees, volunteers, and patients of reproductive
health care facilities. These provisions sunset on January 1, 2013. [California

Government Code Sections 6205 et seq. and 6215 et seq.]

Public Records Act

California’s Public Records Act provides that public records are open to
inspection, unless exempt. [California Government Code Section 6250 et seq.]
The act may not be construed to require the disclosure of various records,
including (1) personnel, medical, or similar files if the disclosure would
constitute an unwarranted invasion of personal privacy; (2) records pertaining
to pending litigation that the public agency is a party to, until the pending
litigation or claim has been finally adjudicated or otherwise settled; and

(3) records, the disclosure of which is exempted or prohibited pursuant to state

or federal law. [California Government Code Section 6254.]

In November 2004, Proposition 59 amended the California Constitution to grant
to Californians the right of public access to meetings of government bodies and
writings of government officials and agencies. Statutes furthering public access
must be interpreted broadly, and, if they limit access, must be interpreted
narrowly. Also, future statutes that limit access must contain findings that
justify the need for the limitations. Proposition 59 preserves constitutional
rights, such as the right to privacy, due process, and equal protection. Existing
constitutional and statutory limitations restricting access to certain meetings
and records of government bodies and officials, including law enforcement

and prosecution records, also are preserved. [California Constitution, Article I,
Section 3.]



State Agencies: Mailing
Personal Information

State law prohibits state agencies from sending U.S. mail to an individual that
contains personal information about that individual unless the information

is sealed and cannot be viewed from the outside of the envelope. Personal
information includes, but is not limited to, the individual’s social security
number, telephone number, driver’s license number, and credit card account
number. This restriction also applies to correspondence sent via a common
carrier, such as an express delivery or courier service. A “state agency” in this
instance includes the California State University. [California Government Code
Section 11019.7.]

State Agencies’ Privacy Policies

State law requires each state agency to enact and maintain a permanent
privacy policy based on certain principles, including that the agency specify at,
or prior to, the time of collection the purposes for which personally identifiable
information is collected. Any subsequent use of the information must not be
inconsistent with these identified purposes. [California Government Code
Section 11019.9.]

State Agency Databases:
Researcher Access

Under state law, state agencies may release personal information to the

University of California or a nonprofit educational institution conducting



scientific research only if the research proposal has been reviewed and
approved by the Health and Human Services Agency’s Committee for the
Protection of Human Subjects. The committee is required to apply specified
data-protection standards to its review of research proposals. [California
Civil Code Section 1798.24(t).]

Voter Information

State law requires that specified information regarding the permissible use
of voter information must be posted on the Web sites of every local elections
official and the secretary of state, as well as in the state ballot pamphlet.
[California Elections Code Section 2157.2.]

The following information contained on voter registration cards is confidential:
(1) home address, (2) telephone number, (3) e-mail address, (4) precinct
number, and (5) prior registration information. [California Government Code
Section 6254.4(a) and Elections Code Section 2194(a)(1).]

Under state law, the above-described information must be provided to any
candidate for federal, state, or local office, any committee for or against an
initiative or referendum measure, and any person for election, scholarly,
journalistic, or political purposes, or for governmental purposes, as determined

by the secretary of state. [California Elections Code Section 2194(a)(3).]

State law provides that a voter’s driver’s license number, identification card
number, and social security number are confidential and may not be disclosed
to any person. The signature of a voter shown on a voter registration card is
confidential as well and may not be disclosed to any person unless a person’s

vote is challenged. [California Elections Code Section 2194(b)-(c).]

Additionally, certain individuals may request that their residence address,

telephone number, and e-mail address contained on a voter registration card



be kept confidential. For example, victims of domestic violence, stalking, and
sexual assault as well as providers, employees, volunteers, and patients of
reproductive health care facilities who participate in the secretary of state’s
address-confidentiality program described under “Public Records: Address
Confidentiality” on page 108 may request confidentiality. This provision

sunsets on January 1, 2008. [California Elections Code Section 2166.5.]

Public safety officers may request similar confidentiality and the county
elections official must comply, if authorized by the county board of supervisors.
The confidentiality terminates two years after commencement. [California
Elections Code Section 2166.7.]

Voter Information:
Outsourcing

State law prohibits a requester of voter information, voter signatures, or other
information collected for an initiative, a referendum, or a recall petition from
sending the information outside of the United States, as specified. [California
Elections Code Section 2188.5.]



Social Security

Numbers







Although originally created to track workers’ earnings and eligibility
for social security programs,® social security numbers are now used
for many purposes wholly unrelated to the social security system.

The identification number has been called “the most frequently used

recordkeeping number in the United States.”3®

Because a social security number is unique to each individual to
whom it is assigned, it is often used to verify identity. But in the wrong
hands a social security number can be used by an identity thief to
assume another person’s identity, access his or her bank account, or
establish new credit or utility accounts in that person’s name, among
other things. The social security number—along with a name and birth
date—is one of the “three pieces of information most often sought by

identity thieves."”*®

California is one of several states that has taken legislative action to
protect against the misuse of individuals’ social security numbers.
After California enacted its statute restricting the public display of
social security numbers, at least 13 other states adopted similar

measures.*°

Provisions in federal laws also restrict disclosure of an individual’s
social security number. For example, the Fair Credit Reporting Act
requires consumer reporting agencies to, upon request, truncate

a consumer’s social security number when the consumer requests

a copy of his or her credit report.
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Nevertheless, despite these and other protections, the General
Accounting Office concluded in a March 2006 report that “more could
be done” to protect social security numbers.*' It found that social
security numbers are widely available in public records held by states
and local governments and are most often found in court and property
records.*? The report also noted the lack of restrictions placed on
“information resellers” who “resell” social security numbers in the

course of their business.*?

Confidentiality

State law places restrictions on the use of social security numbers and

prohibits the following:

Publicly posting or displaying an individual’s social security number.
Printing an individual’s social security number on a card that he or she
must use to access products or services.

Requiring an individual to transmit his or her social security number over
the Internet, unless the connection is secure or the social security number
is encrypted.

Requiring an individual to use his or her social security number to access
an Internet Web site unless a password also is required to access the site.
Printing an individual’s social security number on any materials mailed to
him or her unless required by state or federal law. [California Civil Code
Section 1798.85(a).]
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This state law does not prevent the use of a social security number for internal
verification or administrative purposes and does not apply to documents
required to be open to the public. It prohibits any person or entity from
encoding or embedding a social security number in a barcode, chip, magnetic
strip, or other technology, instead of removing the social security number as
required. The law contains varied implementation dates for specified entities.
[California Civil Code Section 1798.85.]

Drivers’ Licenses

State law requires a driver’s license applicant to include his or her social
security number (or other appropriate number) on the application. The social
security number, however, may not be included on a magnetic tape or strip

used to store data on the license. [California Vehicle Code Section 12801.]

Employee Compensation

Under state law, all employers by January 1, 2008, may only use the last four
digits of an employee’s social security number when providing employees with

an itemized statement of earnings. [California Labor Code Section 226(a).]

Family Court Records

State law permits a party to the dissolution of a marriage, an annulment,

or a legal separation to redact a social security number from any pleading,
attachment, document, or other written material filed with the court. However,
social security numbers may not be redacted from certain documents,
including forms relating to child- or spousal-support collection. [California
Family Code Section 2024.5.]



Powers of Attorney

A recent state law deleted the line on the statutory power-of-attorney form that
required a social security number and added a notice on the form stating that
a third party may require additional identification. [California Probate Code
Section 4401.]

Use in Credit Reports

Federal law requires a consumer reporting agency to truncate a consumer’s
social security number when the consumer requests a copy of his or her credit
report and asks that the first five digits of his or her social security number

not be included in the report. [Fair Credit Reporting Act Section 609(a)(1)(A),
15 U.S.C. 1681g.]

Congress preempted states from enacting any requirement or prohibition with
respect to the conduct required by this section. [Fair Credit Reporting
Act Section 625(b)(5)(D), 15 U.S.C. 1681t.]



Other Key Statutes







There are a variety of other significant statutes relating to consumer
privacy and identity theft and California has been at the forefront of
many of these issues. For example, in 2000 California became the
first state to establish an Office of Privacy Protection charged with

protecting the privacy of individuals’ personal information.*

In 2004 California became the first state to enact a law requiring
automobile manufacturers to notify consumers if “event data
recorders” (commonly known as “black boxes”) are installed in
vehicles.”® And California is one of two states to impose restrictions on
a rental car company’s ability to use electronic surveillance technology
or a Global Positioning System (GPS) to track a renter for the purpose

of imposing fines or surcharges.*®

Newly enacted laws in California and at the federal level restrict a
type of “pretexting” in which individuals use deceptive methods to
obtain consumers’ telephone records. Both laws impose criminal
penalties for the fraudulent acquisition of confidential phone records.
Federal law also prohibits pretexting to obtain a customer’s financial

information.

The Real ID Act of 2005, another key federal law, provides that unless
a state meets specified requirements by May 2008, a federal agency
may not accept a driver’s license or identification card issued by the
state for an “official purpose,” such as entering a federal building or

boarding a commercial airplane.
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Eavesdropping on
Confidential Communications

State law makes it unlawful to intentionally eavesdrop on a confidential
communication by means of an electronic amplifying or recording device,
without the consent of all parties. This prohibition applies whether the
communication occurs in person or by telegraph, telephone, or other device.
[California Penal Code Section 632.]

Electronic Communications
Privacy Act of 1986

The federal Electronic Communications Privacy Act of 1986 prohibits an
individual from intentionally intercepting any wire, oral, or electronic
communication. Specified oral communications are exempt from this
prohibition. There also are several exceptions to the prohibition, including
intercepts where one of the parties to the communication consents. [Electronic
Communications Privacy Act of 1986, 18 U.S.C. 2511.]

Electronic Surveillance
Technology: Rental Cars

State law prohibits a rental car company from using, accessing, or obtaining
any information relating to the renter’s use of the rental vehicle that was
obtained using electronic surveillance technology, such as a Global Positioning

System (GPS), wireless technology, or a location-based technology. Certain



exceptions apply, including if the rental car is stolen, law enforcement requests
the information pursuant to a subpoena or search warrant, or the renter
requests that the vehicle be remotely locked or unlocked. A rental company
may not use electronic surveillance technology to track a renter in order to
impose fines or surcharges relating to the renter’s use of the vehicle. [California
Civil Code Sections 1936(0) and (p).]

Electronic Tracking
Devices on Vehicles

State law makes it unlawful to use an electronic tracking device attached to
a vehicle or other movable thing to determine the location or movement of a
person, except in specified instances, such as when the vehicle’s registered
owner has consented to the use or when law enforcement lawfully uses the

device. [California Penal Code Section 637.7.]

Office of Privacy Protection

California’s Office of Privacy Protection in the Department of Consumer Affairs
was created to protect “the privacy of individuals’ personal information in a
manner consistent with the California Constitution by identifying consumer
problems in the privacy area and facilitating development of fair information
practices.” The office is required to inform consumers about ways to protect
the privacy of their personal information and make recommendations to
organizations for privacy policies and practices that “promote and protect the
interests of California consumers.” Where appropriate, the office is authorized
to promote voluntary and mutually agreed-upon nonbinding arbitration and
mediation of privacy-related disputes. [California Business and Professions
Code Section 350.]



Personal Information:
Domestic Violence, Sexual
Assault, and Stalking

State law prohibits any person or entity, in the course of awarding grants,
from requesting or requiring that a victim-service provider—such as a rape
crisis center or domestic violence shelter—supply personally identifying
information regarding any individuals to whom it is providing, has provided,
or may provide services. This provision applies to victim-service providers
who provide services to victims of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual
assault, or stalking and the children of such victims. [California Civil Code
Section 1798.79.9.]

“Personally identifiable information” includes an individual’s first and last
name or last name only, home address, e-mail address, telephone number,
social security number, date of birth, Internet protocol address or host name
that identifies an individual, and any other information that, in combination
with other nonpersonally identifying information, would identify the individual.
[California Civil Code Section 1798.79.8.]

Personal Information:
Inmate Access

Under state law, the secretary of the Department of Corrections and
Rehabilitation may not assign a prison inmate to employment that provides the
inmate with access to the personal information of private individuals. Personal

information includes, among other things, addresses, telephone numbers,



social security numbers, mothers’ maiden names, credit card numbers,

or checking account numbers. [California Penal Code Section 5071(a).]

Similar restrictions apply to any person confined in a county jail, industrial
farm, road camp, or city jail and any person performing community service in
lieu of a fine or custody or who is assigned to work furlough. [California Penal
Code Section 4017.1(a).]

Pretexting

State law addresses one kind of “pretexting” in which individuals use
deceptive methods to obtain consumers’ telephone records. Existing law
makes it unlawful to purchase, sell, offer to purchase or sell, or conspire to
purchase or sell a record or list of a subscriber’s telephone calling patterns
without his or her written consent. It is also unlawful for any person to procure
or obtain through fraud or deceit a subscriber’s telephone calling pattern record

or list. [California Penal Code Section 638(a).]

Federal law also addresses the use of pretexting to obtain consumers’
telephone records under the “Telephone Records and Privacy Protection Act of
2006.” This recently enacted federal law provides for criminal penalties for the
fraudulent acquisition of confidential phone records. The law also restricts the
sale, transfer, and purchase of a customer’s confidential phone records without
his or her prior authorization or with the knowledge that the information was
obtained fraudulently. These provisions apply only to violations that occur in
interstate or foreign commerce. [Telephone Records and Privacy Protection Act
of 2006, Pub. L. 109-476.]

Federal law also restricts pretexting with respect to financial information. The

Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (GLB) prohibits obtaining a customer’s financial



information by making false, fictitious, or fraudulent statements to a financial
institution’s employees. It is also unlawful to obtain a customer’s financial
information by providing a document to a financial institution knowing that it is
forged, counterfeit, lost, stolen, was fraudulently obtained, or contains a false,
fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation. [15 U.S.C. 6821(a).] The
statute contains various exceptions; for example, its provisions do not apply

to a law enforcement agency performing its official duties or a licensed private

investigator collecting court-ordered child support. [15 U.S.C. 6821(c) and (g).]

GLB imposes criminal penalties for knowing and intentional violations.
[15 U.S.C. 6823.] The act also provides that states may grant consumers
greater protections than those provided by federal law. [15 U.S.C. 6824.]

Real ID Act of 2005

The federal Real ID Act of 2005 provides that, unless a state meets specified
requirements by May 2008, a federal agency may not accept a driver’s license
or identification card issued by the state for an “official purpose,” such as
entering a federal building or boarding a commercial airplane. [Real ID Act of
2005, Pub. L. 109-13, 119 Stat. 231.] Such requirements relate to the information
contained on state drivers’ licenses and identification cards and the minimum

standards for issuance of those documents. [Real ID Act Section 202.]

With respect to the information contained on state drivers’ licenses and
identification cards, the act requires the documents to meet certain minimum
requirements including that the license or card contain, among other things,
(1) the person’s full legal name, date of birth, and gender; (2) a digital
photograph of the person; (3) physical security features designed to prevent

tampering, counterfeiting, or duplication of the document for fraudulent



purposes; and (4) a common machine-readable technology, with defined

minimum data elements.* [Real ID Act Section 202(b).]

Real ID also imposes requirements for the issuance of drivers’ licenses and
identification cards, such as the minimum information an individual must
present before a state may issue him or her a license or identification card.
[Real ID Act Section 202(c)(1).] Such “identity source” information includes
proof of date of birth, principal residence, and social security number or
verification that the person is not eligible for a social security number. [Real
ID Act Section 202(c)(1)(A)-(D).] States also must verify the issuance, validity,
and completeness of this information. [Real ID Act Section 202(c)(3).] A state
must use technology to capture digital images of “identity source documents”
and retain paper copies of these documents for at least seven years or digital

images for at least 10 years. [Real ID Act Section 202(d)(1) and (2).]

In order for its drivers’ licenses and identification cards to be accepted by a
federal agency for an official purpose, a state must provide all other states

with electronic access to information contained in the state’s motor vehicle
database. [Real ID Act Section 202(d)(12).] This database must contain all data
fields printed on drivers’ licenses and identification cards and drivers’ histories,
including motor vehicle violations, suspensions, and points on licenses. [Real
ID Act Section 202(d)(13).]

Student Records

California law addresses the confidentiality of student records. [California
Education Code Section 49060 et seq.] The statute gives parents of students

currently or formerly enrolled in elementary or secondary schools the right

47 The U.S. Department of Homeland Security is currently developing regulations to implement the Real ID Act.
Among other things, these regulations are expected to define “common machine-readable technology.”



to access their children’s student records maintained by the school district

or private school. [California Education Code Section 49069.] Parents may
also request the correction of information contained in a record, as specified.
[California Education Code Section 49070.] State law generally restricts access
to student records without written parental consent or a court order, except as
specified. [California Education Code Sections 49075 and 49076.]

Under the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA),
parents are granted certain privacy rights regarding their children’s education
records. For example, parents may inspect and review their children’s
education records maintained by the school and request correction of any
inaccuracies contained within the records. In general, schools may not release
any information from a student’s education record without parental consent,
except as specified. These rights are transferred from the parents to the student
when the student reaches 18 years of age or is attending an institution of
postsecondary education. FERPA applies to all schools that receive federal
funding from the U.S. Department of Education; federal funds are denied to
schools that do not comply with FERPA. [Family Educational Rights and Privacy
Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. 12329.]

Taxpayer Information

State law makes it unlawful for a person to disclose information obtained in
the preparation of federal or state income tax returns unless the disclosure is
within specified exceptions, including: (1) the taxpayer has consented in writing
to the disclosure as specified, (2) the disclosure is expressly authorized by

state or federal law or is necessary to prepare a return, or (3) the disclosure is
pursuant to a court order. [California Business and Professions Code Section
17530.5(a).]



Unfair Competition Law

State law prohibits unfair competition, which includes: (1) an unlawful,
unfair, or fraudulent business act or practice; (2) unfair, deceptive, untrue,

or misleading advertising; and (3) an act prohibited by the false advertising
statutes. The law provides that actions for relief may be brought by the
attorney general; a district attorney; a county counsel, city attorney, or city
prosecutor only under specified circumstances; or by any person who has
suffered injury in fact and has lost money or property as a result of the unfair
competition. Civil penalties for unfair competition violations are not available

to consumers. [California Business and Professions Code Section 17200 et seq.]

In many cases, consumer privacy statutes do not contain a separate cause of
action, and the unfair competition law has therefore been used as a means for
consumers to obtain relief for violations. A statute that declares a particular act
or type of practice unlawful, but does not contain its own independent cause
of action, may be independently actionable under the unfair competition law.
[13 Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (10th ed.) Equity, Section 107.]

Vehicle Event Data Recorders

State law requires a manufacturer of a new motor vehicle sold or leased in
California that is equipped with a recording device (commonly referred to as
an “event data recorder” or a “sensing and diagnostic module”) to disclose
that feature in the owner’s manual. Such devices retrieve data after an
accident, including the vehicle’s speed, the braking performance, and whether
the driver was wearing a seatbelt. Data obtained from the recording device
may not be downloaded or otherwise retrieved by a person other than the

vehicle's registered owner except under specified circumstances, such as if



the registered owner consents or in response to a court order. [California
Vehicle Code Section 9951.]

Video Sale or Rental

State law prohibits any person who provides video-cassette sales or rental
services from disclosing personal information (including sales or rental
information) to another person without the written consent of the individual to
whom the information pertains, except in specified instances. [California Civil
Code Section 1799.3.]

The federal Video Privacy Protection Act of 1998 provides that any business
engaged in the interstate sale or rental of video tapes may disclose a
consumer’s personally identifiable information only in certain instances, such
as to law enforcement pursuant to a warrant, or to any other person if the
business has the consumer’s informed, written consent. A business also may
disclose consumers’ names and addresses if (1) it has provided consumers
with the opportunity, in a clear and conspicuous manner, to prohibit the
disclosure (an “opt out”); and (2) the disclosure does not identify the title,
description, or subject matter of the video tapes. The subject matter may be
disclosed, however, if the disclosure is for the exclusive use of marketing goods
and services directly to the consumer. Federal law preempts only those state or
local laws that require a disclosure prohibited under federal law. [Video Privacy
Protection Act of 1998, 18 U.S.C. 2710.]
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