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Dear Colleagues and Other Interested Persons: 

This report, California’s Response to Domestic Violence, reviews California legislative actions 
dating back to the 1970s expanding the criminal and civil law sanctions against batterers and 
protections for those they abuse.  This report was prepared at my request to help us assess the 
efforts we have made thus far, as well as the continuing needs posed by the on-going threat of 
domestic violence. 

While California has taken significant steps to address this violence as a major health and 
safety issue, far too many adults and children continue to live in fear.  At its most extreme, 
domestic violence kills.  We can and should do more to stop this abuse.  This report concludes 
with recommendations presented to improve existing policies and to protect intimate partners 
from injury and death. 

I hope you will find this review of the California Legislature’s efforts useful as we continue to 
address the impact of domestic violence on the health and safety of California families. 

Sincerely, 

SHEILA JAMES KUEHL 
Senator 
California State Senate 
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Executive Summary 
Combating domestic violence has been a priority for California policy-makers since 
the late 1970s, but the focus on this often-hidden form of abuse has intensified since 
the O.J. Simpson case raised public awareness in 1994.  Simpson was acquitted of 
murdering two people, one of them his former wife.  But the public learned Nicole 
Brown Simpson repeatedly had sought police protection from her husband and that 
in 1989 he pleaded no contest to abusing her.  

The rate and frequency of domestic violence remains difficult to precisely document, 
since it generally occurs in private.  But data do hint at the scope of the problem.  The 
California Department of Justice says 196,880 incidents of domestic violence were 
reported to local law enforcement in California in 2000.  Arrests on domestic violence 
charges rose by 17 percent, to more than 51,000, in California between 1990 and 
2000. Based on the 1998 California Women’s Health Survey, the California 
Department of Health Services estimates that 6 percent of California adult women, or 
more than 620,000, were physically abused in the year before the survey.  Studies 
consistently find that women are much more likely than men to be hurt by an 
intimate. 

California’s laws now recognize domestic violence as a major health issue.  Significant 
laws require: 

•	 Those who provide health care to be trained in the detection of domestic abuse, 

•	 Hospitals and clinics to adopt written policies on the treatment of victims of 
battering, and 

•	 Health practitioners to report cases of domestic violence to law enforcement. 

State funding for local shelters to help protect victims from their assailants 
dramatically increased in 1994 when the Legislature and Governor Wilson provided 
an initial $11.5 million to the Department of Health Services for distribution to 
shelters across the state.  The amount has risen steadily, and totaled over $17 million 
in the 2001 - 02 fiscal year.  Federal funding for shelters also increased in the 1990s. 
Local county funding that comes from marriage license fees was last increased in 
1993.  Shelters receive almost $6 million per year from marriage license fees.  These 
monies have helped expand services at the 110 shelters now located throughout 
California, but shelters still struggle to provide emergency refuge and sufficient 
assistance to battered adults and children.  Shelters often are unable to assist with 
the kinds of legal services, transitional housing, job placement and prevention 
programs that could help bring long-term relief to victims in crises. 
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A host of recent laws, spelled out further in this document, are intended to spur more 
arrests, prosecutions and convictions when domestic violence is reported to law 
enforcement.  These laws: 

•	 Require on-going training of officers who typically respond to domestic violence 
calls, 

•	 Encourage arrest of alleged abusers, 

•	 Require arrest of persons who violate restraining orders, 

•	 Eliminate an option of diversion -- in which an accused abuser is diverted into a 
treatment program and is not charged with the crime -- in domestic violence cases, 
and 

•	 Eliminate an option of civil compromise -- in which an accused batterer pays 
damages to a victim rather than face prosecution -- in domestic violence cases. 

Other recent strategies to improve the response of the criminal justice system to 
domestic abuse in California include: 

•	 Assigning the same prosecutor to a case from beginning to end, 

•	 Creating county domestic violence courts to handle these cases, 

•	 Providing training for court personnel involved in such matters, 

•	 Removing any firearms at the scene of a domestic-violence incident and keeping 
guns out of the hands of court-identified batterers, and 

•	 Notifying victims when abusers are released from jail. 

Abuse in intimate relationships often is an issue in family law matters.  When a family 
law court is deciding custody and visitation, reforms beginning in 1990 make 
consideration of any domestic violence integral to the decision-making process. 

Community-based efforts to curb domestic violence also have expanded in recent 
years.  These range from fund-raisers to support local shelters to media campaigns 
and school-based education drives to combat abuse.  In some jurisdictions mental-
health counselors and victim advocates are making follow-up visits to homes where 
police have responded to reports of domestic violence. 

These laws, strategies and community campaigns, coupled with reports of some 
positive outcomes, suggest California has made progress toward addressing domestic 
abuse.  The continuing magnitude of this abuse calls for ongoing attention, effective 
responses and new approaches. 
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Increased public and private funding for shelters, better coordination between law 
enforcement agencies and the courts, and broader education and prevention projects 
are some ways in which California’s response to battering could continue to improve. 
Prevention ideas that might reduce domestic violence include breaking the “cycle of 
domestic violence” by providing more services to the children who witness battering in 
the home, doing more to keep guns out of the hands of batterers, launching a 
statewide media campaign, and reducing alcohol consumption. 

The purpose of this paper is to illustrate the steps already taken in California to 
address domestic abuse, the continuing dimensions of the issue and additional 
proposals that might be made. 

3 



California’s Response to Domestic Violence 
June 2003 

4 



 

 

California’s Response to Domestic Violence 
June 2003 

Introduction 
This paper documents the California state government response to domestic violence, 
beginning with laws passed in the late 1970s.  It updates a similar review by the 
California Senate Office of Research published in November 1997.  Basic information 
about the prevalence of domestic violence is presented first.  The most recently 
available statistics and surveys are used for this purpose, and most of these date from 
the 1990s or 2000.  The bulk of the paper covers the policy approaches the 
government has taken to addressing this public health epidemic and complex crime in 
the last three decades.  It concludes with ideas for expanding prevention efforts and 
suggestions for improving California’s domestic violence policies. 

The purpose of this review is not only to document these laws, but also to help gauge 
their effectiveness. If an evaluation of a law or other relevant data is available, that 
information is included here. Policy-makers are painfully aware that intimate-partner 
violence wreaks havoc in our society and legislative reforms are only a beginning. 
Based on its decades-long history in this area, the California Legislature can be 
expected to continue to pursue ways to better to respond to this debilitating violence. 
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Part I: Facts about Domestic Violence in California 

Domestic violence is difficult to measure because it generally occurs in private.  Many 
victims do not seek assistance because they are afraid or ashamed.  There are no 
definitive estimates of how many incidents of domestic violence go unreported.  Most 
studies probably underestimate its occurrence. 

In this paper, domestic violence is defined as physical abuse committed by one 
partner against another in an ongoing or prior intimate relationship.  The victims of 
domestic violence are overwhelmingly women. 

Predictably, a myriad of other problems are associated with battering and batterers --
including depression, suicidal tendencies, and alcohol and drug abuse.  Children who 
grow up in violent families are likely to have problems in school, to abuse drugs and 
alcohol and to repeat the pattern of abuse as adults. 

A State Average of 539 Incidents of Domestic Violence Reported Daily 

The California Department of Justice (DOJ) says 196,880 incidents of domestic 
violence were reported to local law enforcement agencies in 2000.  Between 1990 and 
2000, statewide arrests for Penal Code section 273.5 (corporal injury on a spouse or 
cohabitant) increased 17 percent, from 43,760 to 51,225.  Prevalence surveys, 
discussed below, tell us that many more instances of domestic violence occur than 
are reported to law enforcement. 

Prevalence Surveys 

Based on the 1998 California Women’s Health Survey, the California  Department of 
Health Services estimates that 6 percent of California adult women, or more than 
620,000, were physically abused in the year before the survey.  This survey also 
found that 11 percent of adult victims said they sought medical treatment for this 
abuse.  African-Americans reported a higher percentage of abuse than Hispanic, 
white, Asian/Pacific Islander or other women.  About 75 percent of adult victims had 
children at home, predominantly under age 6.  When broken down by age, younger 
women were more likely to report being victims than older women.1 

A California Healthy Kids Survey done in 1998-99 by the California Department of 
Education found that about 10 percent of teens in relationships were hit, slapped or 
physically hurt on purpose by a boyfriend or girlfriend in a year-long period. 

1 California Department of Health Services EPICgram, “Incidence of Non-Fatal Intimate Partner Violence Against 
Women in California, 1998-99,” May 2002; Weinbaum, Z. et al., “Female Victims of Intimate Partner Physical 
Domestic Violence, California, 1998,” American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 21 (4), 2001, 313-319. 
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Homicide Data 

In 2001, 130 homicides in California allegedly were committed by current or former 
husbands or boyfriends of the partners/victims, and 28 murders by current or former 
wives or girlfriends, according to the California DOJ.  DOJ statistics for crimes 
reported to law enforcement show that each year between 1992 and 1999, 17 percent 
to 27 percent of women murdered in California were killed by current or former 
intimate partners. 

Figure 1
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Figure 1 chronicles domestic-violence-related homicides committed by men and 
women from 1992 to 2001.  Figure 1 shows identified intimate-partner homicides only 
and does not include family members or others murdered when the precipitating event 
was reported as domestic violence.  Researchers are unable to tell us why there is a 
spike in the number of women murdered in 1993 and a subsequent decline after that. 
Laura Lund, a research scientist with the Department of Health Services, speculates 
in a 2000 paper that this decline may be related to the broad array of domestic 
violence policies adopted in the 1990s.2  Because there was an overall decrease in the 
number of homicides across all perpetrator types in the 1990s, and because Figure 1 
statistics reflect reported intimate-partner homicides, it is probably too soon to assess 

2 Lund, L.E., “Intimate Partner Homicide Trends in California, 1990 through 1998” The Diversity of Homicide: 
Proceedings of the 2000 Annual Meeting of the Homicide Research Working Group, U.S. Department of Justice: 
Washington, D.C., 2001. 
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the effect of policy changes on the decline in homicides.  Since many murders are 
unsolved, it’s highly likely that more deaths than those recorded here are related to 
domestic violence. 

A High Risk of Domestic Abuse Among Poor Women 

Domestic violence crosses all demographic and socioeconomic lines, but poor women 
may be most at risk.  Based on the 1998 California Women’s Health Survey, the state 
Department of Health Services found that women reporting annual household 
incomes less than $15,000 were at increased risk for intimate partner abuse 
compared to higher income women.3  A 1999 study conducted in eight U.S. hospitals, 
including two in the Los Angeles area, concluded that women at greatest risk for 
domestic-violence injury include those whose male partners abuse alcohol or drugs, 
are unemployed or intermittently employed, have less than a high-school education, 
and are former husbands, estranged husbands, or former boyfriends of the women.4 

Since 1999, the California Institute for Mental Health has been studying welfare 
reform efforts in six counties in California.  Interviews of welfare recipients done in 
Kern and Stanislaus counties assessed barriers to employment, including domestic 
violence.  The survey found a high incidence of abuse among the welfare population. 
Twenty-eight percent of those surveyed in Kern County and 36 percent in Stanislaus 
County5 reported that an incident of physical violence had occurred against them 
within a two-year period.  For many of these women, the abusive relationship was a 
significant barrier to obtaining employment. 

3 California Department of Health Services EPICgram, op. cit.
 
4 Anglin, D. et al., “Risk Factors for Injury to Women from Domestic Violence,” New England Journal of Medicine,
 
341, 1999, 1892-1898.
 
5 Chandler & Meisel, “Need, Incidence, and Services, CalWORKS Project Research, Alcohol & Other Drugs,
 
Mental Health, and Domestic Violence Issues,” California Institute for Mental Health, www.cimh.org, Jan. 2002.
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Part II: Early Milestones in Domestic-Violence
Legislation 

A movement to establish safe houses for domestic-violence victims and their children 
in the 1960s and 1970s led to efforts for systemic changes such as seeking new laws, 
developing stable funding sources for shelters, and educating and sensitizing law 
enforcement.  Most of the early leaders of these efforts were women seeking to help 
other women.  By the end of the 1970s, shelter advocates and women’s rights groups 
had persuaded legislators of the need for legislation.  

Four key bills were enacted in 1977.  Senator Robert Presley authored SB 91, Chapter 
892, to dispense $280,000 to establish a statewide network of four to six domestic-
violence pilot centers.  Assemblymember Vic Fazio authored AB 1019, Chapter 720, to 
give courts the authority to grant temporary restraining orders in domestic-violence 
situations.  And Senators Milton Marks and Presley authored two companion 
measures, SB 92, Chapter 908 (Presley), and SB 691, Chapter 912 (Marks), to create 
separate code provisions for child abuse and spousal abuse, and extend Penal Code 
Section 273.5 beyond spouses to cohabiting partners. 

Other early milestones in domestic-violence laws in California include these 
measures: 

•	 A 1979 measure (AB 546, Chapter 994) by Assemblymember Floyd Mori made 
spousal rape a crime in California, punishable as a felony or misdemeanor.  Prior 
to this law, raping one’s spouse was not a criminal act. 

•	 Senator Presley authored three measures in the early 1980s that provided new 
revenues for local shelters for battered women financed by a series of increases in 
marriage license fees.  SB 1246, Chapter 146 of 1980, added $8 to the marriage 
license fee; SB 1330, Chapter 522 of 1982, raised the sum from $8 to $13; and SB 
1364, Chapter 112 of 1984, raised the fee from $13 to $19.  (A 1993 Presley bill, 
SB 5, Chapter 420, raised the fee from $19 to $23.) 

•	 SB 1472 (Watson), Chapter 1609 of 1984, was designed to make police 
intervention more effective by requiring law enforcement agencies to develop 
written policies to guide their responses to domestic violence. It also requires 
statewide training of officers and data collection on domestic-violence calls. 

•	 AB 3436 (Wright), Chapter 901 of 1984, gives law enforcement the authority to 
temporarily confiscate a firearm in plain sight or discovered after a consensual 
search when responding to a domestic-violence call for help. 
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•	 AB 573 (Klehs), Chapter 668 of 1985, requires law-enforcement officers responding 
to domestic violence calls to give victims in writing the telephone number of the 
nearest shelter, and information about community services and criminal and civil 
legal options. 

•	 SB 135 (Presley), Chapter 250, and AB 225 (La Follette), Chapter 705, both of 
1985, established the Domestic Violence Branch in the Office of Criminal Justice 
Planning. 

•	 SB 1058 (Lockyer), Chapter 1387 of 1985, creates mandatory jail time of at least 
48 hours for persons who cause injury by violating domestic-violence restraining 
orders. 

•	 AB 1599 (Speier), Chapter 758 of 1987, allows emergency protective orders to be 
issued when a court is not in session.   (A 1993 Speier bill,  AB 224, Chapter 1229, 
extends the duration of emergency protective orders from two to five court days.) 

•	 AB 2698 (Speier), Chapter 1377 of 1988, gives mediators in child custody or 
visitation disputes the authority to meet separately with the parties when there is 
a history of domestic violence between the parties. 

In the 1980s, legislative concerns over domestic violence continued to grow.  The 
California Alliance Against Domestic Violence, an advocacy group, began serving as a 
clearinghouse for legislative ideas and helped secure authors for proposed bills. 
Legislation addressing domestic violence really took off in the 1990s.  A summary of 
significant bills enacted after 1990 are included in the appendix of this report. 
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Part III: Welfare Reform and Domestic Violence 
California adopted the “Family Violence Option” (FVO) in 1997 as part of the 
CalWORKS welfare-reform law.6  The FVO flowed from the authorizing federal welfare-
reform law and allowed states to waive numerous welfare requirements for survivors 
of domestic violence, including time limits on welfare and a requirement that 
paternity be established for children.  California must confidentially identify welfare 
recipients who have been subjected to domestic violence and refer them to supportive 
services.  When adopting the FVO, the California Legislature did not fund domestic 
violence services, unlike services for mental health and substance abuse which the 
Legislature did fund. 

The California Institute of Mental Health (CIMH) study noted in Part I found that only 
five people in the two study counties reported having used the FVO, and only around 
40 percent of the welfare recipients recalled being told about the FVO.  From this 
finding, the CIMH suggested that many counties needed to do a more effective job of 
screening clients and referring them to services. 

On the issue of training for welfare workers, the CIMH study found that some 
counties such as Los Angeles did a good job training workers about domestic violence 
and some counties did not.  To address this problem, the California Department of 
Social Services is implementing system-wide training. 

A March 2002 report by the National Conference of State Legislatures on welfare and 
domestic violence looked at state responses. 7  Among innovative approaches it cited: 

•	 Some states are using flexible federal welfare funds or state “maintenance of effort” 
(MOE) funds to finance domestic-violence services such as emergency housing, 
counseling and legal advocacy.  Some counties in California also do this. 

•	 Some states include domestic-violence victims in their “diversion programs,” so 
that one-time or short-term payments can provide help during an emergency or 
setback and keep the family from going on welfare.  This is not done in California. 

•	 Oregon and El Paso County in Colorado have special welfare programs to meet the 
needs of domestic-violence clients.  This is not done in California. 

•	 At least eight states place a domestic-violence service provider in county welfare 
offices.  A majority of counties in California, including Los Angeles, do this. 

6 Welfare & Institutions Code Sections 11495 and following.
 
7 Walton, S., “Helping Domestic Violence Victims in the TANF Program,” National Conference of State
 
Legislatures, www.ncsl.org, March 2002.
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Forty-three of California’s 58 counties responded to a welfare survey8 that found 
counties spent $22.5 million on domestic violence services in the 2001-02 fiscal year, 
with $12 million spent in Los Angeles County.  The source of these monies was not 
identified in the survey.  California does not have a separate budget allocation for 
welfare/domestic-violence spending as some states do.  This lack of state statutory 
funding for domestic-violence services for welfare recipients, the survey concludes, 
“has led to a large discrepancy in funding of domestic-violence services between 
counties.”9 

8 California Institute of Mental Health, et al.., “State of Domestic Violence Funding and Services in California,
 
County by County Summary, Executive Summary,” www.cimh.org, June 2002.

9 California Institute of Mental Health, op. cit.
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Part IV: Domestic Violence as a Major Health Issue 
The response of the health-care industry to domestic violence generally has grown in 
the last decade. For instance, most major medical associations began a push to make 
domestic violence a major health issue, and developed educational materials to assist 
health-care providers in identifying, treating and referring victims of abuse. Some 
medical schools now include training in recognizing and addressing family violence. 
Legislative reforms spurred additional changes. 

In 1993, two major bills were enacted to affect the health-care response to abuse. 
Assemblymember Barbara Friedman carried AB 890, which requires health-care 
providers to receive training in the detection of domestic violence and directs 
hospitals and clinics to adopt written procedures on screening and treating abused 
women and men.  Assemblymember Jackie Speier authored AB 1652, which updates 
and expands the law requiring health professionals to report to law-enforcement 
agencies suspected domestic violence as soon as possible by phone and in writing 
within 48 hours. 

The Friedman bill was enacted in the wake of a 1993 Family Violence Prevention 
Fund study that found that most emergency departments lacked policies and 
procedures to address domestic violence.10  This is important because many women 
using emergency rooms are abused.  A 1998 California- and Pennsylvania-based 
study found roughly one in seven women admitted to emergency rooms reported 
being physically abused in the previous year.11  One researcher has estimated the 
1995 nationwide cost of emergency room visits for victims of intimate-partner abuse 
in 1995 dollars at $158.8 million.12 

Since the enactment of the Friedman protocols and training bill, a Trauma 
Foundation study found that more hospitals have adopted the written protocols 
required by the law and the quality of the protocols has improved.13 

An evaluation by Jacquelyn Campbell and other medical researchers also found that 
hospital training has improved.14  This study concluded that training in California was 

10 McLoughlin, E. et al., “Emergency Department Response to Domestic Violence,” Morbidity and Mortality Weekly
 
Report, CDC, 42, 1993, 617–620.
 
11 Campbell, J.C. et al., “Prevalence of Intimate Partner Abuse in Women Treated at Community Hospital
 
Emergency Departments,” Journal of the American Medical Association, 280, 1998, 433-438.
 
12 Max, W., Professor of Health Economics, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine.
 
13 Dodge, A.C. et al., “Improving Intimate Partner Violence Protocols for Emergency Departments,” Violence
 
Against Women, 8, 2002, 320-338.
 
14 Campbell, J.C. et al., “An Evaluation of a System-Change Training Model to Improve Emergency Department
 
Response to Battered Women,” Academic Emergency Medicine, 8, 2001, 131-138.
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effective in improving staff attitudes and knowledge about abuse, as well as patient 
information and satisfaction.  Changes in actual clinical practices, such as identifying 
women with domestic-violence problems who were not obvious victims of trauma, was 
more difficult to achieve and may be influenced by institutional factors such as a need 
to revise medical forms. 

Another health-training measure, SB 857 by Senator Mike Thompson, passed in 
1995. It established a hospital-based center to train medical personnel on how to 
perform medical-evidence examinations of victims of child abuse, domestic violence, 
elder abuse and sexual assault.  UC Davis Medical Center is the primary training 
center, and it subcontracts with the University of Southern California and UCLA to 
provide the training in Southern California.  In 2002-03, these centers received $0.7 
million -- down from $1.4 million in previous years -- from the state Office of Criminal 
Justice Planning (OCJP).  Their yearly reports to OCJP document curriculum 
development, training, brochures, videos and conferences. How this training has 
affected victims and whether the training has helped the criminal-justice response to 
such violence has not been evaluated. 

With respect to mandatory reporting of abuse to law enforcement as required by the 
Speier bill, a 1999 state Department of Health Services survey found that police and 
sheriffs’ departments around the state receive only a handful of reports of domestic-
violence cases each month from health-care practitioners, mostly emergency-room 
physicians.15  More importantly, there is no evaluation data to answer questions 
about whether or how mandatory reporting is helping victims of domestic violence. 

The concept of requiring domestic abuse to be reported to authorities is controversial 
and, according to the study cited above, often not followed.  California might consider 
formally evaluating the impacts of this law. 

15 Lund, L.E., “What Happens When Health Practitioners Report Domestic Violence Injuries to the Police?  A Study 
of the Law Enforcement Response to Injury Reports,” Violence and Victims, 14, 1999, 203-214. 
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Part V: Increased Public Funding for Local Domestic
Violence Shelters 

There are an estimated 110 shelters in California, 17 of them established since 
funding increased in 1994.  Three small rural counties -- Alpine, San Benito and 
Sierra -- have no shelter programs, according to the OCJP Domestic Violence Branch. 
However, these counties tap into shelter services in neighboring counties. 

Most shelters exist on shoestring budgets with public and private funding.  Public 
funding comes from marriage-license fees, state General Fund allocations, fines paid 
by batterers and federal sources.  Under the laws authored by state Senator Presley, 
shelters now receive $23 from every marriage license issued.  This translates to nearly 
$6 million per year.  Marriage license fees and one-third of the fines paid by batterers 
go directly to the counties for distribution to shelters and are not part of the state 
General Fund allocations. 

Figure 2 shows the county, state and federal funding available to the main domestic-
violence programs, with the majority of the money going to shelters.  In 2000-01, 
domestic-violence programs received approximately $61.6 million from these three 
sources. 

Despite the infusion of new money in the last 10 years, many shelters often are 
unable to assist all who seek emergency shelter for themselves and their children.16 

Additionally, shelters are hard-pressed to provide legal services, counseling, 
transitional housing and job-placement assistance for battered persons.  Most agency 
resources are exhausted in meeting emergency and transitional needs, and few are 
able to go the next step and fund prevention programs.  

In the aftermath of the publicity surrounding O.J. Simpson’s arrest and acquittal on 
charges of murdering his former wife, Nicole Brown Simpson, and her friend Ronald 
Lyle Goldman, the Legislature and Governor Pete Wilson created a new domestic 
violence program in the Department of Health Services for local shelter services.  The 
initial appropriation was for $11.5 million in 1994-95 and 1995-96. Since then, the 
state has increased these department funding levels to $17 million for shelter 
services, $4 million for prevention grants and $2.5 million for outreach and services to 
underserved populations.   

16 Bugarin, A., “The Prevalence of Domestic Violence in California,” California Research Bureau, prepared at the 
request of Rebecca Cohn, November 2002, www.library.ca.gov. 
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Figure 2:  Funding for Domestic-Violence Programs in California, 2001-02 

Administrating Entity 
and Program 

Number of 
Shelters or 
Grantees Served 

Federal 
Funding 

State Funding County Funding 

Department of Health 
Services 
Shelter Grants 91 shelters $17 million 

Prevention Grants 
(includes technical 
assistance and training) 

32 grantees $4 million 

Unserved/Underserved 
Populations 

15 grantees $2.5 million 

Training and Education 
Program (PC 1203.097 
fees) 

10 grantees $0.6 million 

Injury Surveillance, 
Epidemiology, Evaluation 
and Administration 

N/A $1.7 million 

Office of Criminal Justice 
Planning 

Shelter Grants 75 shelters $13.2 million $1.5 million 

Family Violence 
Prevention Grants 

1 grantee $0.2 million 

Federal Violence Against 
Women Act/Health and 
Human Services Grants 
(for response teams, 
vertical prosecution, 
American Indian 
programs) 

45 grantees $5.5 million 

Department of Housing 
and Community 
Development 
State Emergency Housing 
Assistance Program and 
Federal Emergency Shelter 
Grants* 

49 shelters $1 million $2.3 million 

Department of Justice 
Vertical Prosecution 
Grants 

43 county district 
attorneys and 4 city 
attorneys 

$3.8 million 

Restraining Order 
Reimbursement Fund 
(Penal Code 1203.097 fees) 

197,362 restraining 
orders reimbursed 
in 2000-01 

$1.9 million 
(includes past 
unused funds of 
$1.3 million) 

County Funds (estimated) 
Marriage License Fees 
(Welfare and Institutions 
18305 funds) 

110 shelters in the 
state 

$5.8 million ** 

Penal Code 1203.097 Fees 
(placed in Welfare and 
Institutions 18305 
accounts) 

110 shelters $0.6 million 

Total  $61.6 million $19.7 million $35.5 million      $6.4 million      
* Shelters receiving emergency housing grants in 2000.
 
** Estimate based on 252,411 marriage licenses issued in 2000-01.
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State funding for shelters is also available through the Department of Housing and 
Community Development (HCD).  In 2001-02, 49 shelters received $1 million in 
federal dollars and $2.3 million in state HCD grants for emergency housing. 
Emergency shelter housing generally lasts between 30 days to three months.  Some 
shelters are able to fund transitional housing that generally lasts 18 months. 

Funding for shelters from the federal government has also increased in the last 
decade.  Most of these funds flow through OCJP to shelters through a grant-
application process.  In 2001-02, OCJP awarded grants to 75 shelters using $13.2 
million in federal funds and $1.5 million from the state.  Among the services provided, 
according to shelter reports to OCJP that tracked federal funds in 2000-01, these 
monies provided for 156,000 crisis line calls, 383,000 bed nights, counseling for 
27,000 clients and 9,000 children, and legal/social service advocacy for 71,000 
clients. 

Federal funds were also used to provide grants for 25 local prosecutors to provide 
better legal representation to victims ($2.9 million), 12 domestic-violence response 
teams ($1.4 million), three American Indian shelters ($0.5 million), one program to 
train tribal law-enforcement officers ($0.1 million), one project to encourage shelters 
to use a uniform data-collection process ($0.2 million), one project to help teen males 
who have been battered ($0.2 million), and funding for the two statewide advocacy 
groups ($0.2 million). OCJP disbursed an additional $200,000 in state money for one 
statewide prevention program. 

Because of the 2002-03 and 2003-04 budget deficits, domestic violence programs 
underwent some reductions in 2002-03, and several larger changes are proposed by 
the Governor Davis in the 2003-04 budget, including shifting OCJP shelter grant 
funding to the Department of Health Services, reducing staff to handle shelter grants 
and eliminating the vertical prosecution program in the Department of Justice. (See 
the section “Intimate Relationships Between Aggressors and Victims Make 
Prosecutions Difficult” for a description of this program.) 

Proposed 2003 and 2004 federal funding through the Violence Against Women Act 
(VAWA), Victims of Crime Act (VOCA), and the Health and Human Services Agency 
remain stable, except for VOCA grants to states.  VOCA grants could be reduced by 
$50 million due to recent federal legislation that placed a cap on the amount of money 
available to states and created a new formula for the distribution of these funds. 
Victim advocacy groups are asking for an increase of $60 million in the president’s 
proposed VOCA appropriation. 

Issues at the Two State Agencies Overseeing Shelter Grants 

In 2001, the Department of Health Services (DHS) and OCJP didn’t provide grant 
funding to 16 long-established shelters (6 DHS, 10 OCJP).  After a public outcry, the 
six shelters de-funded by DHS were funded on appeal or received a one-year infusion 
of funds from the state Department of Justice.  The 10 shelters de-funded by OCJP 
received one-year emergency grants through the passage of AB 664 (Dutra).  Since the 
shelter-grant cycle runs for three years, DHS and OCJP still needed to find funding 
for the additional two years.  SB 1894 (Escutia) was signed in 2002 to provide the 
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additional funding to DHS.  And OCJP committed to funding the 10 shelters for two 
more years through unused OCJP sources. 

Because of concerns about the administration of domestic-violence programs at OCJP 
and DHS,  the Legislature held an oversight hearing in February 2002 and 
subsequently asked the Bureau of State Audits to review OCJP’s and DHS’s 
administration of their respective domestic-violence programs. A bill authored by 
Senator Escutia in 2002 (SB 1895) responded to these legislative concerns.  This bill 
requires OCJP in administering domestic-violence programs to consult with an 
advisory council that includes victims’ advocates and service providers. 

In October 2002, the Bureau of State Audits issued an audit17 that focused on 
administrative problems at OCJP and also pointed out problems at DHS.  The audit 
found that OCJP failed to monitor domestic-violence grant recipients and wasted $2.1 
million in the last three years on program evaluations that were of “uneven quality, 
content and usefulness.”  The auditors also recommended that the state consider 
merging the domestic-violence grant programs at OCJP and DHS. 

This view -- that there are problems with two different state agencies administering 
domestic-violence shelter grants -- was also raised in a November 2002 report by the 
California Research Bureau.  One of the options at the end of the CRB report, “The 
Prevalence of Domestic Violence in California,” suggests centralizing responsibility for 
domestic-violence programs and funding.18 

Merging the domestic-violence shelter-grant programs was proposed by Governor 
Davis in the 2003-04 budget, but the proposal was rejected by the legislative budget 
subcommittees due to opposition from advocacy groups.  The State and Consumer 
Services Agency is in the process of developing an alternative proposal to address the 
problems identified in the OCJP and DHS domestic-violence programs. 

17 “Office of Criminal Justice Planning: Experiences Problems in Program Administration, and Alternative
 
Administrative Structures for the Domestic Violence Program Might Improve Program Delivery,” Bureau of State
 
Audits, October 2002, http://www.bsa.ca.gov/bsa/pdfs/2002107.pdf.

18 Bugarin, A, op. cit.
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Part VI: New Laws Are Expected to Spur More Arrests,
Prosecutions and Convictions 

Improving the criminal justice response to domestic violence began with the passage 
of SB 1472 (Watson) in 1984.  Senator Diane Watson authored this measure to 
address concerns about a lax approach by law enforcement in enforcing domestic-
violence laws.  SB 1472 required written policies on law-enforcement responses to 
domestic violence, statewide training of officers, and data collection on domestic-
violence calls.  Prior to the enactment of SB 1472, typical police responses entailed 
“cooling off” the angry batterer, walking the person around the block, and perhaps 
some attempt at mediation or referral. Because SB 1472 was limited to one-time 
training for all officers plus training in all police academies for new officers, Senator 
Watson successfully authored SB 132 in 1995 requiring on-going training for veteran 
officers. 

A new strategy of bringing lawsuits against law-enforcement agencies that 
inadequately enforce domestic-violence laws is emerging as one way to improve the 
criminal-justice system.  Several California cases have been brought in federal court 
concerning alleged problems with the ways in which law enforcement has or has not 
responded to a call for help from a victim who was later injured or killed.  One case 
from Sonoma County was settled for $1 million.19 

In the last 10 years, some communities have started to use a domestic-violence 
response team (DVRT), often called a coordinated community-response team, when 
responding to a domestic-violence call to law enforcement for help. DVRT refers to a 
group that generally includes a victims’ advocate, a law enforcement officer, a district 
attorney, a probation officer, and a health-care provider.  A few communities are 
adding a child protective services representative to this team.  OCJP funds 12 of these 
teams in California utilizing federal Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) and U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services funds. 

This kind of coordination among domestic-violence service providers has not been 
evaluated in California, but the Urban Institute has done a number of reports 
analyzing federal VAWA grants.  In the Institute’s 2000 report, the authors concluded 
that coordinated community responses to domestic violence and sexual assault 
improved the treatment of women victims of violence and held more perpetrators 

19 Estate of Macias v. Ihde, C96-36585I, U.S. District Court, San Francisco, settled June 2002. 
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accountable.  But that report cautioned that all the key groups need to be represented 
and working together for such an approach to work.20 

Domestic-Violence Crime Data 

This section documents the available domestic-violence crime data.  Critics repeatedly 
cite problems with this data. Recommendations for improving data collection are 
included here.  The California Research Bureau’s recent domestic-violence report also 
highlights data-collection issues and proposes similar options for improvement.21 

Statewide statistics from the Department of Justice show some increase in the ratio of 
arrests on charges of violating Penal Code Section 273.5 (corporal injury on a spouse 
or cohabitant) to domestic-violence calls from 1990 to 2000 (Figure 3).  In 1990, there 
were 195,019 calls and 43,760 arrests (22 percent).  In 2000, there were 196,880 calls 
and 51,225 arrests (26 percent).  The following Figure 3 on police calls and arrests 
provides the numbers over this 11-year period.  It is important to note that suspects 
could have been arrested on some other domestic-violence-related charge,22 but there 
is no way to determine this given the current state data-collection methods. 

Figure 3 
Domestic-Violence Police Calls and Arrests in California, 

1990-2000 
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Source:  California Department of Justice 
Note:  In 1995, Oakland did not provide domestic violence call and arrest data.   In 1997,98 and 99, the city and county of San Francisco did not 
report domestic violence calls. 
Arrests are for violation of Penal Code sec. 273.5 (a) - wilful infliction of corporal injury upon spouse/cohabitant. 

20 Burt, M. et al., “2000 Report:  Evaluation of the STOP Block Grants to Combat Violence Against Women Under
 
the Violence Against Women Act of 1994,” The Urban Institute, www.urban.org, 2000. 

21 Bugarin, A, op. cit.
 
22 Other domestic-violence related charges include those contained in Penal Code Section 243(e). 262 and 273.6.
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In 1996, the Legislature directed the San Diego Association of Governments to study 
domestic-violence law-enforcement data and make a report to the Legislature (AB 
2448, Alpert).23  That report randomly selected 3,996 domestic-violence calls out of 
26,327 county-wide domestic-violence calls to law enforcement (Figure 4) in 1996.  Of 
those 3,996 calls, 2,756 incidents were considered actual crime cases, while the 
remainder involved verbal arguments only, in which it was determined that no crime 
occurred.  In that sample of 2,756 incidents, 905 persons were arrested.  Evidence 
collection was a strong predictor of whether an arrest took place.  Reasons given for 
lack of an arrest included that the suspect had fled the scene (46 percent) or that an 
arrest would have gone against the victim’s wishes (21 percent). 

Figure 4 
Results of Random Selection of Calls to Law Enforcement for 

Assistance in Domestic-Violence Cases, San Diego, 1996 
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Source:  Pennell, S et al, Violence Against Women in San Diego, San Diego Asso. of Governments, March 2000 

The majority (53 percent) of suspects in the San Diego County study were arrested 
under Section 273.5, the primary domestic-violence Penal Code section that is 
mentioned above.  Domestic-violence-related battery was the second-most common 
arrest (14 percent), and the third-most common was for other domestic-violence-
related charges (10 percent). 

Of the 2,756 calls considered a crime and thus labeled a case, 1,037 incidents were 
referred to the district attorney or city attorney.  Complaints were filed in 52 percent 
of these incidents, 36 percent were rejected and 12 percent were not filed (the report 
does not explain why they were not filed or rejected).  Almost 50 percent of the 

23 Pennell, S. et al., “Violence Against Women in San Diego,” San Diego Association of Governments, March 2000. 
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suspects were charged with a Penal Code Section 273.5 violation.  The majority of 
filed incidents resulted in a guilty plea or a conviction.  Figure 4 depicts the raw data 
from the San Diego sample.  The bottom-line from this San Diego County study, as 
depicted in Figure 4, is that 33 percent of domestic-violence cases resulted in an arrest 
and 17 percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or a conviction. 

Given the many criminal-justice reforms that have taken place, it is interesting to 
note that in this in-depth San Diego study, most domestic-violence calls did not result 
in arrest, and many arrests did not result in a prosecution or a conviction. 
Researchers are unable to tell us whether this record from calls to convictions is 
typical or atypical of similar crimes, such as assault between strangers.  The 
Legislature could authorize a follow-up study in San Diego to compare the 1996 study 
with data collected after the 1990’s reforms were fully implemented.  This would help 
determine whether these reforms have spurred more arrests, prosecutions and 
convictions. 
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Figure 5 
Percentage of Domestic-Violence Arrests in California Resulting 

in Complaints Filed and Convictions, 1990 - 2000 
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Source:  California Department of Justice 
Note:  Arrests are for violations of Penal Code Section 273.5.  Convictions are 
for Penal Code Section 273.5 or a related crime. 

lthough the San Diego study traces the outcome of domestic-violence calls, 
esearchers are unable to replicate this study on a statewide basis with existing data 
ases. For instance, researchers can compare statewide calls with arrests for Penal 
ode Section 273.5 (see Figure 3), but this comparison misses other kinds of arrests 
uch as domestic-violence battery.  Researchers can look at Section 273.5 arrests 
again missing other kinds of arrests) that result in filed complaints and convictions 
See Figure 5), but these numbers cannot be compared to calls for assistance because 
his information comes from two different data bases. The state Department of Justice 
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is working on ways to better capture domestic-violence data. Another option might be 
legislation to reform these data-collection practices. 

California’s Pro-Arrest Policy 

To encourage law enforcement to take more decisive action when responding to a 
domestic-violence call, Senator Hilda Solis authored SB 591 (1995) and SB 1944 
(2000).  SB 591 requires law-enforcement agencies to carry out policies that 
encourage arrest in domestic-violence cases.  The law discourages the arrest of both 
parties, instead encouraging officers to make reasonable efforts to determine the 
primary aggressor.  Because of concerns about law enforcement arresting both abuser 
and victim or having trouble sorting out who was the primary aggressor, Senator Solis 
authored SB 1944 in 2000 to change the term “primary aggressor” to “dominant 
aggressor.”    

The most recent research on the effectiveness of pro-arrest (the policy that California 
has) and mandatory-arrest policies “found good evidence of a consistent and direct, 
though modest, deterrent effect of arrest on aggression by males against their female 
intimate partners.”24 

Figure 6 shows the gender of individuals arrested between 1990 and 2000 under 
Section 273.5 -- and that the percentage of arrests of females more than doubled. 
Still, more than 80 percent of arrested suspects were male. 

Enactment of SB 1944 to encourage arrest of the dominant aggressor may reverse this 
trend of increased female arrests. On the other hand, the trend may be attributed to 
other factors, such as more men being arrested on more severe charges such as 
assault with a deadly weapon, in domestic-violence cases.  Because of the way data is 
collected by the California Department of Justice -- arrests are tabulated based on the 
most serious charge -- many arrests related to domestic violence are not recorded as 
such. Another interpretation, drawn from data on teen violence, is that younger 
women are perhaps becoming more violent.  Still others might posit that the 
percentages are reflecting the reality of domestic abuse – that more women than 
previously thought are responsible for such violence.  Absent further study, no one 
knows. 

Figure 6:  Percentage of Total Domestic-Violence Arrests in 
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Restraining Orders 

Emergency protective orders, temporary restraining orders and long-term restraining 
orders are used by victims to keep a batterer from coming within a certain distance. 
Emergency protective orders last for five court days (days when the court is in 
session) or seven calendar days and can be issued on the spot when police officers 
respond to a domestic-violence call.  Temporary restraining orders last for three weeks 
and are issued by a court.  Long-term restraining orders are valid for up to three years 
and are issued by a court after a hearing.  Court-ordered restraining orders are issued 
by criminal courts if connected with an arrest or prosecution, or they are issued by 
civil courts if connected to a civil matter such as a divorce. 

The state Department of Justice keeps a central computerized registry of restraining 
orders called the Domestic Violence Restraining Order System (DVROS).  DVROS is 
part of the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System or CLETS. 
CLETS tracks orders issued by both criminal and civil courts.  Once a restraining 
order is entered into CLETS, law enforcement all over the state will know about the 
order with a quick computer search. This helps the police quickly respond to a 
potentially dangerous restraining-order violation. 

Restraining orders established through criminal court should be entered into CLETS 
within one business day.  In some counties there is a substantial backlog and this 
requirement is not met. 
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A study on how counties process civil protective orders was recently done by fellows in 
California’s Judicial Administration Fellowship Program.  They noted that there is no 
requirement in California law that these orders be entered into CLETS within one 
business day, whereas there is such a requirement for criminal orders.  The fellows 
found that about 40 percent of the 39 counties responding to their survey required 
that a petitioner (the abused individual) deliver the civil order to law enforcement to 
be entered into CLETS.  Because there are obvious drawbacks to placing this 
responsibility on the abused individual, the fellows recommended eliminating this 
“petitioner delivery” model.25 

Batterer Intervention Programs 

When an abuser is convicted, the abuser often is placed on probation, or given both 
probation and a jail sentence rather than just incarceration.  Under AB 93X (Burton), 
enacted in 1994, batterers placed on probation must remain on probation for three 
years and successfully complete a weekly 90-minute group counseling session for at 
least a year.  In 1995, the weekly group session was expanded to two hours under SB 
169 (Hayden).  Because many defendants were missing multiple counseling sessions, 
AB 217 (Pavley) was enacted in 2002 to require defendants to attend consecutive 
weekly sessions and to complete the year requirement within 18 months. 

Prior to January 1996, even when abusers were arrested and prosecuted, they often 
were not charged with the actual crime but instead were placed in a “diversion” 
program that provided them with assistance such as counseling and substance-abuse 
treatment.  Abuse charges were dismissed upon completion of the program. SB 169 
(Hayden) of 1995 changed this law. Now defendants in domestic-violence cases must 
plead guilty or stand trial. If a guilty plea is entered or the defendant is convicted in 
court, the abuser is generally placed on probation and required to enter counseling 
for a year.26  These counseling programs are referred to as batterer intervention 
programs (BIPs). 

Research is lacking on the effectiveness of California’s batterer intervention law.27 

More evidence is needed to asses factors such as the contributions of the 
training/experience of treatment and counseling staff, program format (including 
length of time), counseling approach, specialized interventions for abusers with 
special problems such as substance addictions, and specialized programs for abusers 
from different races, cultures and genders. Since California’s law has not been 
evaluated by researchers, a rigorous evaluation would be helpful. 

Better data collection is also essential to ferret out how well this law is working in 
California.  Data on defendants assigned to BIPs is kept at the local level, if it is 
collected at all.  California should consider a way to collect more complete data on 
these defendants. 

25 Campos, L. et al., “Protecting Victims of Abuse: Counties Shouldn’t Put Responsibility on Petitioners to File
 
Restraining Orders,” San Francisco Daily Journal, Sept. 4, 2002, p. 4.
 
26 Mandatory terms of probation apply to any crime committed against an intimate partner (or former partner), not
 
just a conviction for Penal Code sections 243(e), 262, 273.5 and 273.6.

27 Penal Code Section 1203.097.
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Some researchers challenge the notion that BIPs really work to stop men from 
abusing and assaulting their partners after treatment has ended.  One researcher, 
who thinks BIPs do work for some defendants, found in a national study that as many 
as 20 percent of batterer-program participants repeatedly re-assault their partners 
despite intervention.28  But, taken as a whole, the evaluations of BIPs show very 
modest success and there is some reduction in re-assaults by abusers who complete 
the BIP, compared with batterers who drop out or do not attend such a program.29 

Batterers who complete their intervention are often the ones who have the most to 
lose socially and economically.  They generally have more education, higher incomes, 
are employed, are more likely to be first-time offenders, and generally have less prior 
criminal involvement.30 

As a rehabilitation strategy, many researchers believe the best way to stop the abuser 
from re-abusing is to link BIPs to abuser accountability through certain and decisive 
criminal-justice responses.31 

When domestic violence is reported to law enforcement, a “certain and decisive action” 
by police officers or sheriff’s deputies would include arrest of the dominant aggressor 
at the scene of the crime or later by warrant if the abuser has fled, the issuance of an 
emergency protective order, and seizure of weapons.  Once an accused batterer is 
arrested, decisive actions might include a special jail program for batterers until the 
defendant is cited and released.  For instance, some counties house batterers in a 
separate unit from other defendants and begin a batterer intervention program in the 
jail.  Swift action by the prosecution to bring charges against the defendant and 
timely court processing are also essential.  Once the defendant pleads guilty or is 
convicted, he is placed in a batterer intervention program (BIP).  Compliance with 
counseling would be closely monitored by the court, and defendants who drop out or 
miss too many sessions would be jailed or placed in an alternative intervention. For 
instance, drug-abuse treatment may be necessary before a person is able to complete 
the BIP.  

California has some, but not all, of these components in place.  A formal evaluation of 
California’s BIP law could look at how well California does in holding abusers 
accountable with “certain and decisive” criminal-justice responses. 

Intimate Relationships Between Aggressors and Victims Make Prosecutions
Difficult 

Domestic violence prosecutions present unique problems for district attorneys 
because of the complex psychology of abuser and abused.  Many abused women do 

28 Gondolf, E., “Batterer Program Participants Who Repeatedly Re-assault:  Psychopathic Tendencies and Other
 
Disorders,” Journal of Interpersonal Violence, 1999.
 
29 Davis, R. and Taylor, B., “Does Batterer Treatment Reduce Violence? A Synthesis of the Literature,” Women and
 
Criminal Justice, 10, 69-93, 1999; Gondolf, E., “Limitations of Experimental Evaluations of Batterer Programs,”
 
Review and critique sponsored by the National Institute of Justice, 2000.

30 Babcock, J. and Steiner, R., “The Relationship Between Treatment, Incarceration, and Recidivism of Battering:  A
 
Program Evaluation of Seattle’s Coordinated Community Response to Domestic Violence,” Journal of Family
 
Psychology, Vol. 13, No. 1, 1999, 46-59.
 
31 See, e.g. , Healey, K. et al., “Batterer Intervention:  Program Approaches and Criminal Justice Strategies,”
 
National Institute of Justice, February 1998.
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not appear in court to testify against their abusers or they refuse to press charges 
after making the original complaint. 

When a survivor of abuse refuses to press charges, some jurisdictions such as Los 
Angeles go ahead with the prosecution under a “no drop” policy in domestic violence 
cases.  Prosecutors may also use a domestic-violence expert witness when the victim 
is not cooperating.  SB 1827 (Lockyer), enacted in 1994, allows prosecutors to refile 
an original misdemeanor complaint within six months of the first filing.  This allows 
the prosecution to go ahead with the action should the victim decide to testify after 
all. 

Some victims of abuse not only refuse to cooperate when the trial takes place, they 
actually testify on behalf of the accused batterer.  In the past when this has 
happened, courts would often reach what is called a civil compromise.  The defendant 
would pay damages to the victim and the charges would be dropped. Senator John 
Burton successfully authored legislation in 1997 (SB 115) to do away with civil 
compromises in domestic-violence cases. 

To increase domestic-violence prosecutions and convictions, the Legislature since 
1994-95 has given money to the state Department of Justice for grants to encourage 
city and county prosecutors to use more effective techniques.  These techniques 
include assigning the same prosecutor to a case from beginning to end, an approach 
called “vertical prosecution” that can make the legal process less stressful for victims 
and make the prosecution more efficient. 

The Department of Justice reports these grants have helped fund 47 programs 
statewide.  According to the department, it does not collect data to tell us whether 
these grants have increased domestic-violence prosecutions and convictions.  Since 
the department collects quarterly reports from its grantees, the department should 
consider ways to capture data on the effectiveness of this program, if the program 
survives proposed budget cuts. 

Domestic-Violence Courts 

A number of communities in California have domestic-violence courts, in which 
judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys and other court personnel specialize in these 
cases.  In response to AB 2700 (Kuehl) of 1998, the Judicial Council surveyed and 
described these courts in California in a May 2000 report.32  At that time, there were 
39 courts in 31 counties.  Some handled only criminal matters, some only civil, and 
others decided both criminal and civil matters. They took substantially different 
approaches to issuing restraining orders, gathering and sharing information, 
providing victim services, handling sentencing and other practices.  The report did not 
evaluate the effectiveness of these courts.  However, a December 2001 hearing by the 
Assembly Select Committee on Domestic Violence gathered testimony on numerous 
problems with these courts and proposed ways to improve them, including developing 
a standardized system of “best practices.” 

32 “Domestic Violence Courts:  A Descriptive Study,” Judicial Council of California, Administrative Office of the 
Courts, May 2000 
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A demonstration project in San Diego and Santa Clara counties to identify best 
practices in civil, juvenile and criminal court cases involving domestic violence was 
authorized in 2002 by AB 1909 (Cohn).  Because state funding for these 
demonstration projects was not included in the bill, the counties may not be able to 
undertake this demonstration project. 
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Part VII:  Family Law 
Many victims and their children who are affected by domestic violence turn to the 
courts for help in severing their abusive relationships.  The vast majority of abused 
women have children at home.33  When these women are involved in a divorce, the 
ways in which custody and visitation issues are handled can be critical.  A recent 
report from the California Administrative Office of the Courts found that 76 percent of 
contested custody mediation cases in California involve allegations of domestic 
violence, regardless of the demographic characteristics of the parents.34  This report 
also found that in 41 percent of all 2,500 custody cases surveyed, at least one parent 
reported that their child(ren) had witnessed violence between the parents.35 

Custody 

The first milestone in making California’s custody laws stronger with respect to 
domestic violence was the passage of AB 2700 (Roybal-Allard) in 1990.  This measure 
required judges, for the first time, to consider any history of spousal abuse by a 
parent before determining custody rights for that parent.  Since the passage of AB 
2700, a series of progressive legislative changes to custody laws has taken place. 
These progressive legislative changes are chronicled in the appendix to this report 
under the Family Law/Child Custody section. 

Assemblymember (now Senator) Sheila Kuehl had a number of bills in the 1990s 
building on AB 2700.  AB 200 of 1997 required the court to carefully weigh what 
custody arrangement is in the best interest of the child, taking into account domestic 
violence and child abuse. If a parent who is alleged to have committed domestic 
violence or child abuse, or is a habitual user of alcohol or illegal drugs, is granted sole 
or joint custody, the judge must explain his or her reasoning on the record.  Because 
AB 2700 put the burden on the battered spouse to prove that violence had occurred 
and that it adversely affected the children, Assemblymember Kuehl authored AB 840 
in 1999.  It creates a rebuttable presumption against granting custody to a 
perpetrator of domestic violence.  Now the burden is on the violent spouse to show the 
court why it is in the child’s best interest to award him or her custody. 

In any contested child-custody case, the court has the authority to appoint a child-
custody evaluator to help determine what arrangement is in the best interest of the 

33 California Department of Health Services EPICgram, op. cit.
 
34 “Domestic Violence in Court-Based Child Custody Mediation Cases in California,” Judicial Council of California,
 
Administrative Office of the Courts, Nov. 2002
 
35 Ibid.
 

29 



 

 

 

                                                          
 
 
 

California’s Response to Domestic Violence 
June 2003 

child.36  AB 162 (Speier) of 1991 first established the right of parents to meet 
separately with these evaluators if domestic violence is a factor.  SB 1995 (O’Connell) 
of 1996 required all court-appointed child-custody investigators to be trained 
concerning domestic violence.  SB 433 (Johnson) of 1999 extended these training 
requirements to private child-custody evaluators who are not court appointed.  SB 
433 also requires by January 1, 2005, that all child-custody evaluators, whether 
court connected or private, be licensed physicians, psychologists, marriage and family 
therapists or clinical social workers, unless exempted by stipulation of the parents. 

Mediation 

California law requires mediation when custody or visitation between parents is in 
dispute.37  Domestic violence advocates have worked to build protections into the 
mediation process for victims.  One of the first protections came in 1988 with the 
passage of  AB 2698 (Speier).  AB 2698 gave the family court mediator the authority to 
meet separately with the parties, if one of the parties requested this due to domestic 
violence.  In 1990 Senator Ayala authored SB 2812 to require separate mediation 
sessions when domestic violence is alleged. 

In 1996, SB 1995 (O’Connell) became law.  It mandated that the Judicial Council of 
California develop a protocol for handling domestic violence in court-based custody 
mediation.  This protocol is designed to help mediators effectively screen for domestic 
violence and to identify and address the safety concerns of parents.38  SB 1995 
required that mediators and child custody evaluators undergo domestic violence 
training.  It also clarified that any individual may be selected to act as a support 
person to the parties involved in mediation, and that no certification, training or other 
qualification is required.  SB 2812, mentioned above, allowed for a support person to 
accompany the battered parent. 

Court Interpreters 

Many parties in criminal and civil legal actions in California are not fluent in English 
and need the assistance of an interpreter.  In a criminal matter, a defendant, witness 
or victim has a constitutional right to a court interpreter at state expense.  In civil 
actions, the party in need of an interpreter is expected to pay for this service.  Since 
1995, California law has authorized interpreters in civil actions related to domestic 
violence (SB 982, Solis).  Payment for interpreter fees is waived under SB 982 for 
indigent parties.  But there was a significant exception built into this bill:   the courts 
and the state Judicial Council were only required to implement these requirements if 
funding is provided.  After a number of intervening policy developments, funding was 
eventually identified. 

In 1998, the Legislature directed the Judicial Council to establish a state-funded one-
year pilot project to appoint interpreters in child custody and domestic violence 
proceedings (AB 1884, Cedillo).  At the conclusion of that pilot, the Judicial Council 

36 Family Code section 3111 
37 Family Code section 3170 
38 Ca. Rules of Court, rule 1257.2 
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issued a report to the Legislature.39  That report found that the services of court 
interpreters improved the efficiency and the effectiveness of these proceedings. 40 

In the 2001-02 fiscal year, the Judicial Council was able to identify funding for 
indigent clients in family law and domestic violence cases in over 20 courts.  In the 
2002-03 fiscal year, $1.6 million in grant monies were used to fund over 40 family law 
court interpreter programs.41 

Visitation 

For many families, conflict and violence escalates after separation and the transfer of 
children from one parent to the other can be extremely dangerous.  California law 
gives judges the authority to deny, suspend or order supervised visitation when a 
domestic violence restraining order has been issued.42 

Judges often order a neutral person to supervise visitation when domestic violence 
has been present to try to protect abused spouses and their children.  Because low-
income families are usually unable to pay for supervised visitation services, AB 673 
(Honda) was passed in 1999.  AB 673 gave the Judicial Council the job of 
administering and distributing federal funds for supervised visitation and exchange 
services and other services for families in transition.  Superior courts, family law 
divisions, are authorized to establish supervised visitation and exchange programs, if 
they can obtain federal funding through grants administered by the Judicial Council. 
The federal money comes from the federal welfare reform law passed in 1996. 
According to a February 2003 report by the Judicial Council, 36 of the 58 counties in 
California have these supervised visitation services.43 The report points out that the 
federal funds have not been adequate to cover the demand for services.44 

39 “Family Law Interpreter Pilot Program,” Judicial Council of California, Administrative Office of the Courts, 2001.
 
40 Ibid.
 
41 E-mail message from Tamara Abrams, Judicial Council, Administrative Office of the Courts, Center for Families,
 
Children, and the Courts, 5/2/03

42 Family Code sections 3031 and 3100
 
43 “California’s Access to Visitation Grant Program for Enhancing Responsibility and Opportunity for Nonresidential
 
Parents,” Judicial Council of California, Administrative Office of the Courts, February 28, 2003

44 Ibid.
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Part VIII:  Prevention 
The majority of California domestic-violence policies to date provide services and care 
after abuse has taken place, as well as criminal-justice strategies that focus on 
prosecuting and rehabilitating batterers.  Not as much is being done to reduce and 
prevent domestic violence from occurring in the first place.  This section will cover 
prevention efforts under way in California and ideas for future directions. 

Family Violence 

Domestic violence and child maltreatment often occur in the same family.  Treating 
the violence within these families is an evolving area for reform and research. In the 
past, domestic violence and child abuse were treated as separate phenomena and the 
public systems in place to respond to this abuse were separate.  Often child protective 
services would remove the children from the home where there was domestic violence 
with the claim that the adult victim had failed to protect the children.  

Many communities today are creating new responses to stop family violence, 
including a collaborative model in which domestic-violence organizations, child-
welfare agencies, schools, medical facilities, the courts, and police, probation and 
parole agencies all work together to prevent further harm.  SB 1745 (Polanco), 
Chapter 187 of 2002, requires the stakeholders listed above to develop protocols as to 
how they will cooperate in their responses to incidents of domestic violence in homes 
where children reside. 

The federal government is funding a national study in six counties, including Santa 
Clara and San Francisco, to evaluate the effectiveness of this collaborative model.  All 
six of the study sites are implementing expert recommendations compiled in a book 
by the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges titled, Effective 
Intervention in Domestic Violence and Child Maltreatment Cases:  Guidelines for Policy 
and Practice. 

In California, the state Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board is a key 
source of funding for services for victims of domestic violence and child maltreatment. 
It collects restitution funds from crime perpetrators and channels the money to 
victims and “derivative victims” (usually family members, including children) for needs 
such as housing relocation, security expenses, and mental-health counseling.  The 
board works closely with victim-witness centers, usually located in district attorney’s 
offices, throughout the state.  Most victims access this fund by submitting a claim at 
the local victim-witness center. 
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In December 2002, the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims 
Board didn’t have enough money to meet the claims filed.  Hopefully this shortfall can 
be addressed without cutting back on vital victim’s services. 

Many children who witness abuse or are victims of abuse suffer serious life-long 
problems, and many grow to repeat this cycle of violence.  Mental-health counseling 
for these children can begin to break this cycle. Influencing social norms through 
public prevention efforts can also help to change this paradigm. 

Evaluated Prevention Strategies 

A 1998 UCLA School of Public Health report reviewed published domestic-violence 
prevention efforts and other related public-health programs for the Domestic Violence 
Section of the California Department of Health Services.45  This report reached the 
following conclusions about published prevention efforts: 

•	 Ten-week counseling programs that serve children in homes where domestic 
violence has occurred show progress in helping them learn new skills and develop 
new attitudes about violence. But it’s unclear how these changes are affecting 
their behavior. 

•	 School instruction in conflict resolution and peer mediation skills to prevent 
violence have shown some promise, especially programs that build skills and use 
role playing.  Some evaluations have shown mixed results, however, so it’s 
important to fine-tune their content. 

•	 Interactive school programs in preventing dating violence show promise in 
changing attitudes and behavior. 

•	 Several studies point to the relationship between firearms and homicides in 
homes. Policies that limit gun ownership and possession have not been evaluated 
to determine whether they correlate with decreased domestic violence. 

•	 Limiting access to alcohol may reduce domestic violence. 

Looking to related public-health education campaigns such as smoking cessation, the 
UCLA authors point out the effectiveness of a multi-pronged strategy: to educate the 
public about the negative effects of smoking, to fund smoking prevention and 
cessation programs, and to increase the tax on cigarettes.  If California were to 
undertake a public-health education campaign to prevent domestic violence on the 
scale of the state’s smoking-cessation efforts, such an attempt would have to 
incorporate some, if not all, of the prevention strategies mentioned in the UCLA 
analysis.  Some are being implemented now.  Publicly funded mental-health 
counseling is available for some children who have witnessed domestic violence in 
their homes (see the “Family Violence” section above).  Some schools offer instruction 
in domestic-violence and dating-violence prevention (see below).  A few communities, 
including those in the Sacramento area, have experimented with public-education 

45 Chekal, M. & Sorenson, S., “Domestic Violence Prevention: Published Evaluation Efforts, 
Lessons from Other Public Health Fields and Possible Directions,” UCLA School of Public 
Health, May 1998. 
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media campaigns (see below). Some laws are designed to keep firearms out of the 
hands of batterers (see below). 

School-Based Programs 

One prevention measure that passed in 2001, AB 819 (Jackson), allowed use of 
School Safety and Violence Prevention Act funds for age-appropriate instruction in 
domestic violence, dating-violence prevention and interpersonal violence prevention. 
These school-safety funds, administered by the state Department of Education, are 
available to grades 8 through 12 and total $82 million in 2002-03. The department is 
not able to report how many schools are receiving grants related specifically to 
domestic violence.  Absent an administrative change by the department to track these 
funds with more specificity, legislation to keep better track of these school safety 
funds could be considered. 

A few community groups, such as Break the Cycle in Los Angeles, are educating 
youth about dating abuse and domestic violence through education, outreach and 
free legal services.  Break the Cycle educates 11,000 Los Angeles county youth, ages 
12 to 22, each year in schools, community youth groups and juvenile detention 
facilities.46 

Statewide Media Campaign 

A sustained, statewide media campaign would be expensive, but should be carefully 
considered as an important component of a comprehensive prevention campaign. 
From 1998 to 2002, the California Endowment gave $4 million to fund a domestic-
violence public-awareness campaign conducted in Sacramento County and four 
surrounding counties. 

Titled “Break the Silence on Domestic Violence,” this multi-media public-awareness 
campaign was conducted in English, Spanish, Russian and Southeast Asian 
languages.  At the conclusion of the first two years, telephone surveys of adults and 
teens in the region showed that the reach of the campaign was extensive and that 
personal accountability was on the rise.  Additional impacts included one shelter 
(operated by Women Escaping a Violent Environment) having to double its crisis-line 
phone capacity from two to four lines, numerous employers adopting domestic-
violence workplace-assistance policies, and all five local commercial television 
stations, the public television station and the Spanish-language station airing an 
hour-long program about domestic violence.47 

Gun Laws 

California and federal laws ban a person convicted of a felony or misdemeanor from 
firearm ownership, possession or purchase for life.  State and federal laws also 
prohibit an individual subject to a domestic-violence restraining order from owning, 

46 Siegel, S., “No Use for Abuse,” California Monthly, December 2002, p.40 ( www.breakthecycle.org)
 
47 “Break the Silence on Domestic Violence Campaign, Replication Booklet Narrative,” Public Media Center, San
 
Francisco, 2002.
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possessing or purchasing a firearm for the duration of the protective order.48  Law 
enforcement is required to remove any firearms at the scene of a domestic-violence 
incident, or any firearms found after a consensual search. 

Better enforcement of existing laws is the focus of a new effort by Attorney General 
Bill Lockyer.  Since July 2002, Department of Justice (DOJ) agents use court records 
and DOJ databases to identify individuals who illegally possess a firearm due to a 
felony conviction or a domestic violence restraining order.  This new tracking 
database was authorized in 2001 by SB 950 (Brulte).  Search and arrest warrants are 
issued for the most dangerous individuals identified.  As of a October 24, 2002 DOJ 
press release, DOJ had identified more than 310 individuals, arrested 20 and seized 
more than 190 weapons. 

In response to widespread problems with local enforcement of restrictions on firearm 
possession, the state DOJ sponsored AB 2695 (Oropeza) of 2002.  Under AB 2695, a 
statewide protocol will be developed for courts, prosecutors and local law enforcement 
agencies to help ensure that domestic-violence perpetrators do not possess firearms. 

In 2001,

Figure 7:  Domestic-Violence Homicides: Female and Male 
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overall denials in 2001. Some of these are due to domestic-violence-related 
convictions, but the department does not specifically track such denials. 

Data from the state DOJ on reported intimate-partner homicides and the weapons 
used show that handguns are used in a majority of these murders.  A few are carried 
out each year with a rifle or a shotgun.  For instance, in 2000, 56 percent of these 
deaths were from handguns and 2 percent were from a rifle or a shotgun.49 

Many researchers, such as Arthur Kellermann at Emory University, argue that the 
presence of a gun dramatically increases the chance that a domestic violence incident 
will end in murder.  In California, firearms are used more often than other weapons to 
kill female victims, whereas guns and other weapons are used about equally in the 
homicides of male victims.  Figure 7 depicts this data. 

Alcohol Consumption 

Numerous studies tell us that alcohol abuse is a risk factor for domestic violence.50 

UCLA researchers reviewed several international studies that show a relationship 
between a reduction in the supply of alcohol and a decline in “domestic disturbances” 
and “crimes against persons.”51  From this the UCLA researchers speculate that 
limiting access to alcohol might reduce domestic violence.  A Rutgers University 
economist recently concluded that an increase in the price of alcohol would limit 
access to alcohol and reduce wife abuse.52  Because alcohol abuse is often present 
with intimate-partner abuse, strategies to reduce misuse of alcohol could be an 
important component of a public-health prevention campaign.  Increasing the price of 
alcohol through taxes or fees is one way to reduce consumption that the Legislature 
might consider. 

49 “Willful Homicide Crimes, 2000, Precipitating Event:  Domestic Violence, Relationship of Victim to Offender by
 
Type of Weapon,” Criminal Justice Statistics Center, California Department of Justice.

50 See, e.g., Coker, A. et al., “Frequency and Correlates of Intimate Partner Violence by Type: Physical, Sexual, and
 
Psychological Battering,” American Journal of Public Health, 90, 2000, 553-572.
 
51 Chekal and Sorenson, op. cit.
 
52 Markowitz, S., “The Price of Alcohol, Wife Abuse, and Husband Abuse,”  Southern Economic Journal, 67 (2),
 
2000, 279 – 303.
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Conclusion: Options for Action 
California communities and lawmakers have made significant progress in the last 30 
years to expand and toughen California’s response to domestic violence.  Most of the 
changes are directed at improving services and protections to victims and holding 
more perpetrators accountable.  Future directions could include: 

• Strengthening existing services, 

• Developing research projects to test the efficacy of California’s policies, 

• Improving statewide data collection, and 

• Putting in place a proactive prevention strategy. 

In the last 10 years, shelter funding has grown, but many shelters remain 
underfunded.  Despite the increased state and federal dollars, abused women, 
children and men are turned away on a frequent basis.  Many shelters are unable to 
provide legal services, transitional housing and job-placement assistance.  Most 
agencies are unable to fund prevention programs. 

This report highlights a number of areas where research and/or evaluation is 
warranted.  For instance, in health care, California should consider evaluating the 
effectiveness of the law requiring health professionals to report to law-enforcement 
agencies suspected domestic violence. California could also encourage federal or 
private research entities to undertake some of these projects.  Based on a draft of this 
report and other sources, the Crime and Violence Prevention Center within the state 
Department of Justice has developed a list of recommended domestic-violence 
research topics.  See Appendix B for this list. 

Data collection is another critical way to assess California’s domestic-violence 
policies.  Problems with data collection at various state agencies are identified in this 
report.  Some important data, such as information about batterers placed in an 
intervention program, are not collected on a statewide basis, nor are they collected in 
a uniform manner at the county level.  The state could consider ways to improve 
statewide data collection through an interagency data-collection task force or through 
legislative reform.  The California Research Bureau’s report of November 2002 also 
recommends improving data-collection systems. 

Policy-makers may wish to do more to reduce and prevent domestic violence from 
occurring in the first place, especially given the dimensions of the social ills it causes. 
A proactive prevention strategy could include: 
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•	 Supporting and expanding public education and prevention projects such as 
interventions for children witnessing domestic violence in the home, 

•	 Providing more school-based violence-prevention programs, 

•	 Implementing a statewide media campaign, 

•	 Providing better enforcement of policies limiting ownership and possession of 
firearms, and 

•	 Implementing a strategy to reduce alcohol consumption. 
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Appendix A
 

Recent Reforms in California’s Domestic-Violence Laws 
This summary includes major bills passed since 1990. 

Funding 

•	 SB 5 (Presley) Chapter 420, 1993 raises the marriage license fee by $4 to provide 
increased funding for domestic violence shelters. Shelters now receive $23 from 
every marriage license issued. 

•	 The Battered Woman Protection Act of 1994 [AB 167, (B. Friedman), Chapter 140] 
provided $11.5 million per year for shelters and $3.5 million per year to improve 
domestic violence prosecutions. This marked the first time substantial dollars were 
committed to domestic violence protection as part of the state budget. 

•	 SB 350 (Lee), Chapter 9,  1997 establishes the state Office of Criminal Justice 
Planning (OCJP) as the agency to award federal Violence Against Women Act 
(VAWA) grant monies to strengthen law enforcement strategies, prosecution 
procedures and victim services. 

•	 SB 185 (Bowen), Chapter 439 of 2001 requires the Maternal and Child Health 
(MCH) branch of the Department of Health Services to strengthen oversight and 
technical assistance to the shelters receiving state grants. 

•	 AB 664 (Dutra), Chapter 707 of 2001 makes an emergency appropriation of $2 
million to OCJP to fund 10 shelters that were denied grants. 

•	 SB 1894 (Escutia), Chapter 834 of 2002  requires MCH to fund domestic violence 
programs that had previously received funding, but were not selected for funding 
in 2000. 

Housing Assistance 

•	 AB 606 (Jackson), Chapter 584 of 1999 authorizes cash payments of up to $2,000 
from the state victim-witness fund for relocation expenses, up to $1000 for 
improved residential security, or up to $5000 for housing or vehicle expenses 
related to a permanent disability for adult victims of domestic violence.  Provisions 
extended to children with AB 1017 (Jackson), Chapter 712, 2001. 

•	 AB 1111 (Aroner), Chapter 147 of 1999 allows abuse survivors to apply with the 
welfare office for homeless assistance every 12 months. 

Restitution and Fines 

•	 AB 2439 (Archie-Hudson), Chapter 184 and SB 1545 (Lockyer), Chapter 183 of 
1992 give courts the authority to order a convicted batterer to pay up to $1,000 to 
a battered women’s shelter or reimburse the victim for reasonable costs of 
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counseling.  The fine was increased to $5,000 by AB 93X (Burton), Chapter 28X of 
1994. 

Confidentiality 

•	 SB 489 (Alpert), Chapter 1005, 1998; SB 1318 (Alpert), Chapter 562, 2000; and AB 
205 (Leach), Chapter 33, 2000 allow domestic violence and stalking victims to use 
the Secretary of State’s Office as their mailing address to keep their residence 
addresses confidential on all public records and legal documents, including voter 
registration forms and name changes. 

•	 AB 1900 (Cardenas), Chapter 511, 1998, authorizes courts to keep names and 
addresses of victims and their family members confidential for interstate child 
support purposes. 

•	 AB 1915 (Lowenthal), Chapter 80 of 2002 requires the Department of Motor 
Vehicles to provide a new set of license plates to a registered owner of a vehicle 
who appears in person and submits a completed application that includes 
evidence of domestic abuse. 

Death Review Teams 

•	 SB 1230 (Solis), Chapter 710, 1995 authorizes counties to establish interagency 
domestic violence death review teams.  Requires the Department of Justice to 
develop a protocol for the development and implementation of these teams. 

Family Violence 

•	 AB 2826 (Daucher), Chapter 534 of 2002 expands the definition of “domestic 
violence” to include minors who have not been emancipated.  Amends current law 
authorizing arrests without a warrant in certain domestic violence cases to 
specifically apply to assault and/or battery cases involving seniors. 

•	 SB 1745 (Polanco), Chapter 187 of 2002 requires Child Protective Service agencies, 
law enforcement, prosecutors, child abuse and domestic violence experts, and 
relevant community-based organizations, in collaboration with one another, 
develop protocols as to how they will cooperate in their responses to incidents of 
domestic violence in homes where children reside. 

Funding for Victims’ Services 

•	 AB 535 (Brown), Chapter 697 of 1998 allows victims of domestic violence to 
participate in the Victims of Crime program, even if the victim failed to cooperate 
with law enforcement, so long as the victim obtained a restraining order or failed 
to cooperate based on fear of retaliation. 

•	 SB 1735 (Karnette), Chapter 629 of 2002 makes various changes in the Victims of 
Crime program to better serve victims of domestic violence. For instance, 
compensation would be allowed even though a police report was not filed, if there 
is other evidence to prove a domestic-violence crime was committed. 
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•	 SB 1867 (Figueroa), Chapter 630 of 2002 prevents victims of sexual assault and 
domestic violence from being denied assistance under the Victims of Crime 
program on grounds of participation or involvement in the crime, or on grounds of 
failing to cooperate with law enforcement if a victim of domestic violence resumes 
living with the perpetrator after the crime. 

•	 AB 2462 (Bates), Chapter 479 of 2002 provides that a child who resides in a home 
where a crime or crimes of domestic violence have occurred may be presumed to 
have sustained physical injury, regardless of whether the child has witnessed the 
crime, for purposes of reimbursement from the Victims of Crime program. 

Health Care 

•	 AB 890 (B. Friedman), Chapter 1234 of 1993 requires health care providers to get 
training in the detection of domestic violence.  Hospitals and clinics also are 
required to adopt written policies on how to treat battered people. 

•	 AB 1652 (Speier), Chapter 992 of 1993 requires health practitioners to report 
suspected domestic violence to law enforcement (referred to as the mandatory 
reporting law). 

•	 SB 857 (Thompson), Chapter 860 of 1995 establishes two hospital-based training 
centers to train medical professionals on how to perform medical evidentiary 
examinations of victims of child abuse, sexual assault, elder abuse and domestic 
violence. 

•	 SB 502 (Ortiz), Chapter 579 of 2001 requires the state OCJP to establish a uniform 
approach and reporting form(s) for providing medical examinations, 
documentation and evidence collection for victims of domestic violence, elder and 
dependent adult abuse. 

•	 SB 580 (Figueroa)), Chapter 249 of 2002 requires OCJP to develop a standard 
state form for health practitioners to use in reporting suspected crimes of abuse to 
law enforcement. 

Insurance Discrimination 

•	 AB 1973 (Figueroa), Chapter 603 of 1995 forbids health insurers and disability 
insurers from denying or restricting coverage to domestic violence survivors. 

•	 AB 588 (Figueroa), Chapter 845 of 1997 protects domestic violence victims from 
discrimination by property and casualty insurers. 

•	 AB 649 (Napolitano), Chapter 176 of 1997 protects abused people from 
discrimination by life insurance companies. 
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Prevention 

•	 AB 819 (Jackson), Chapter 735 of 2001 provides age-appropriate instruction in 
domestic violence, dating-violence prevention and interpersonal violence 
prevention to school sites receiving School Safety and Violence Prevention Act 
funds. 

•	 SB 1505 (Kuehl), Chapter 354 of 2002 requires that Child Protective Services 
workers receive training on dating violence to help them identify when a teen is 
being abused in a dating relationship. 

Welfare Reform 

•	 AB 1542 (Ducheny, Ashburn, Thompson and Maddy), Chapter 270 of 1997 
requires the state Department of Social Services to issue regulations to guide 
counties in handling cases in which welfare recipients are past or present victims 
of abuse; requires counties to train welfare personnel working with abused clients. 

Workplace 

•	 AB 68X (Alpert), Chapter 29X, 1994, authorizes employers to obtain restraining 
orders against individuals who are harassing, threatening or stalking an employee. 

•	 SB 165 (Solis), Chapter 411, 1998, permits persons who are forced to leave their 
employment because of domestic violence to receive unemployment insurance. 

•	 SB 56 (Solis), Chapter 340, 1999, prohibits all employers from discharging or 
otherwise discriminating against workers who take time off from work for reasons 
related to domestic-violence judicial actions, so long as the worker provides the 
employer with reasonable notice.  

•	 AB 2357 (Honda), Chapter 487, 2000, allows workers who work for employers with 
25 or more employees to take an unpaid leave up to 12 weeks annually (consistent 
with the Family and Medical Leave law) for the following reasons related to 
domestic violence:  seeking medical attention, receiving legal assistance, obtaining 
services from a domestic violence shelter or rape crisis center, undergoing 
counseling and implementing a safety plan. 

Batterer Treatment Programs 

•	 Under AB 93X (Burton), Chapter 28X of 1994, batterers placed on probation must 
remain on probation for three years and successfully complete a weekly 90-minute 
counseling session for at least a year.  In 1995, the weekly counseling session was 
expanded to two hours under SB 169 (Hayden), Chapter 641. 

•	 AB 1886 (Lowenthal), Chapter 544 of 2000 requires facilitators of batterers’ 
treatment programs to meet minimum training and continuing education 
requirements. 
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•	 AB 217 (Pavley), Chapter 2 of 2002 requires defendants who are ordered to 
complete a batterer’s treatment program to attend consecutive weekly sessions 
and to complete the program within 18 months unless the court finds good cause 
to modify these requirements. 

Battered Woman Syndrome 

•	 AB 785 (Eaves), Chapter 812 of 1991 permits the admission of "battered woman 
syndrome" as evidence in a criminal trial when a defendant who has been battered 
is accused of committing violence against the batterer.  Evidence Code section 
1107 was expanded by SB 1944 (Solis), Chapter 1001 of 2002 to include the 
admissibility of evidence about the effects of domestic violence. 

•	 AB 2401 (Speier), Chapter 296 of 1992 requires domestic violence training for 
Board of Prison Terms commissioners making parole release decisions. 

•	 SB 499 (Burton), Chapter 652 of 2000 requires the Board of Prison terms to 
consider evidence of battered woman syndrome when reviewing cases for parole if 
the cases were decided before the enactment of AB 785. 

•	 SB 799 (Karnette), Chapter 858 of 2001 allows women who were convicted of 
homicide prior to the enactment of AB 785 to bring a writ of habeas corpus when 
there is a reasonable probability that the result of the case would have been 
different had evidence of the effects of domestic violence been admissible in the 
original trial. 

Domestic Violence Courts 

•	 AB 2700 (Kuehl), Chapter 703 of 1998 requires the Judicial Council to compare 
and evaluate domestic violence courts now operating in a number of counties in 
California and other states and to report its findings to the Legislature by March 1, 
2000. 

•	 AB 1909 (Cohn), Chapter 192 of 2002 authorizes superior courts in San Diego and 
Santa Clara counties, and any other willing county, to develop a demonstration 
project to identify the best practices in civil, juvenile and criminal court cases 
involving domestic violence.  Funding for these demonstration projects was not 
included in the bill.  If funding is found and the Superior Courts do participate in 
this demonstration project, then they must report their findings and 
recommendations to the Judicial Council and the Legislature by May 2004.  

Criminal Enforcement 

•	 SB 1827 (Lockyer), Chapter 169 of 1994, provides that orders terminating 
misdemeanor domestic violence actions based on failure of the complaining 
witness to appear shall not prevent any other prosecution of the same offense, if 
the action is refiled within six months of the original dismissal. 

•	 SB 169 (Hayden), Chapter 641 of 1995 eliminates the option of “diversion” for 
domestic violence defendants in criminal cases. 
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•	 SB 591 (Solis), Chapter 246 of 1995 encourages the arrest of the abuser in 
domestic violence cases and discourages the arrest of both parties.  SB 1944 
(Solis), Chapter 1001, 2000, clarifies that law enforcement officers should arrest 
the “dominant aggressor” in a domestic violence situation rather than arresting 
both parties. 

•	 AB 2068 (Richter), Chapter 416 of 1996 creates a new exception to the hearsay 
rule allowing the admissibility of statements threatening physical injury made to a 
victim who is now unavailable as a witness. 

•	 AB 2116 (Alby), Chapter 131 of 1996 allows misdemeanor warrantless arrests for 
assaults and batteries against a spouse, a cohabitant or the parent of the 
offender’s child  which took place outside the presence of an officer, if the officer 
has “reasonable cause” to believe the crime took place.  SB 1470 (Thompson), 
Chapter 182, 1998, expands this law to include former spouses, former 
cohabitants, engaged or formerly engaged persons, or other persons related to the 
suspect.  AB 2003 (Shelley), Chapter 47 of 2000 adds a dating relationship to the 
list of personal relationships. 

•	 AB 2170 (Knox), Chapter 851 of 1996 requires suspects arrested for domestic 
violence to appear before a magistrate rather than be cited and released. 

•	 AB 2448 (Alpert), Chapter 375 of 1996 directs the San Diego Association of 
Governments to study domestic-violence law-enforcement data and make a report 
to the Legislature. 

•	 SB 1876 (Solis), Chapter 261 of 1996 and SB 1682 (Solis), Chapter 707 of 1998 
allow prosecutors to introduce evidence of prior acts of domestic violence by a 
defendant against other victims as long as the violence has occurred in the last 10 
years and isn’t hearsay evidence.  AB 2063 (Zettel), Chapter 97 of 2000 expands 
the definition of prior acts of domestic violence to include abuse against an elder 
or a dependent adult. 

•	 SB 115 (Burton), Chapter 18 of 1997 eliminates the court practice of reaching a 
civil compromise in which an accused batterer pays damages to the victim rather 
than face prosecution. 

•	 AB 477 (Cohn), Chapter 82 of 2001 requires a defendant in a domestic violence 
case to be present in court for arraignment and sentencing.  Current law generally 
does not require the defendant’s presence for misdemeanor actions. 

Firearms 

•	 AB 1753 (T. Friedman), Chapter 1180 of 1990 prohibits a person under a domestic 
violence restraining order from obtaining a gun. 

•	 AB 242 (Alpert), Chapter 600 of 1993 bans a person convicted of spousal abuse, 
stalking or violating a domestic violence restraining order from owning or 
possessing a firearm for ten years. 
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•	 SB 1278 (Hart), Chapter 871 of 1994 gives judges the authority to disallow 
batterers subject to a restraining order from owning or possessing a firearm while 
the restraining order is in effect. 

•	 SB 1682 (Solis), Chapter 707 of 1998 expands the information available on the 
state’s computerized restraining order registry maintained by the state Department 
of Justice, to include gun restriction information. 

•	 SB 218 (Solis), Chapter 662 of 1999 prohibits an individual subject to a domestic 
violence restraining order from owning, possessing or purchasing a firearm for the 
duration of the protective order.  Makes violation of this prohibition a 
misdemeanor.  Requires law enforcement to remove any firearms at the scene of a 
domestic violence incident, or any firearms found after a consensual search. 

•	 SB 950 (Brulte), Chapter 944 of 2001 establishes the “Prohibited Armed Persons 
File” database in the Department of Justice. 

•	 AB 469 (Cohn), Chapter 483 of 2001 requires law enforcement officers responding 
to a call for help to ask whether a firearm or deadly weapon is present, to note the 
response on the incident report, and to confiscate the weapon, if any. 

•	 AB 2695 (Oropeza), Chapter 830 of 2002 instructs the attorney general to develop 
a protocol designed to facilitate the enforcement of existing domestic-violence 
restrictions on firearms.   

•	 SB 1807 (Chesbro), Chapter 833 of 2002 expands the definition of “consensual” 
search by adding any “lawful” search for the mandated seizure of firearms at the 
scene of a domestic violence incident.  Makes it easier for the state to retain these 
weapons when owners seek their return in court and provides guidelines for the 
return of a weapon by the court. 
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Release from Jail 

•	 SB 1983 (Haynes), Chapter 1060 of 1996 allows local governments to notify a 
crime victim, upon request, when the suspect or defendant is released from a local 
jail, including when released on bail. 

•	 AB 139 (Poochigian), Chapter 101 of 1997 expands the notice requirement for 
victims, family members or witnesses living within 100 miles, instead of 25 miles, 
of where a violent felon is paroled from state prison. 

Restraining Orders 

•	 AB 1850 (Nolan), Chapter 995 of 1993 allows police to arrest without a warrant 
people who violate restraining orders even if the officer was not present to witness 
the violation.  SB 218 (Solis), Chapter 662 of 1999 requires police to make such an 
arrest if the officer has probable cause to believe the violation occurred. 

•	 AB 3034 (Solis), Chapter 872 of 1994 requires each county to immediately enter 
restraining orders in domestic violence cases into the statewide California Law 
Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS). 

•	 SB 591 (Solis), Chapter 246 of 1995 allows the issuance of mutual restraining 
orders only under limited circumstances.  Makes sure new arrest policies are 
incorporated into the written policies and standards for officers’ responses to 
domestic violence calls. 

•	 AB 878 (Rogan), Chapter 598 of 1995 allows courts to issue domestic violence 
restraining orders to stop stalking, annoying phone calls or the destruction of 
personal property. 

•	 AB 935 (Speier), Chapter 907 of 1995 allows municipal court judges to issue 
restraining orders when superior court judges cannot respond in a timely manner. 

•	 AB 1531 (Shelley), Chapter 187 of 1998 requires a court or law enforcement to 
enter a criminal-court protective order into CLETS within one business day of 
issuance. 

•	 AB 2177 (Kuehl), Chapter 702 of 1998 insures that protective orders issued by 
other states or jurisdictions will be enforced by California authorities in the same 
manner that they would enforce an order issued in California.  Amended by AB 
731 (Wayne), Chapter 816 of 2001 adopting the Uniform Interstate Enforcement of 
Domestic Violence Protective Orders. 

•	 AB 207 (Thomson), Chapter 367 of 1999  allows court authorization to record 
confidential communications, such as cellular phone conversations, as part of a 
domestic-violence restraining order.  These recorded communications could later 
be used as evidence in court to prove the violation of a restraining order by means 
of a harassing communication. 
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•	 SB 66 (Kuehl), Chapter 572 of 2001 improves coordination of the system for 
issuing restraining orders in family, juvenile and criminal court to give judges all 
relevant history concerning an individual against whom the restraining order is 
sought.  Implementation of this measure is delayed until adequate funds are 
available. 

•	 AB 160 (Bates), Chapter 698 of 2001 clarifies the precedence of restraining orders 
in pending criminal domestic-violence cases over other civil orders, and 
establishes a protocol for the coordination of multiple orders.  Requires that 
modifications of restraining orders are entered into CLETS. 

•	 AB 362 (Corbett), Chapter 110 of 2001 defines “dating relationship” in the 
Domestic Violence Protection Act, thereby clarifying that dating individuals are 
included in the protections afforded by domestic violence restraining orders. 

•	 AB 2030 (Goldberg), Chapter 1009 of 2002 allows the waiver of fees for service of 
protective orders for victims of domestic violence, stalking, and sexual assault. 

•	 SB 1627 (Kuehl), Chapter 265 of 2002 insures that the information contained in 
CLETS is complete, accurate and entered into the system within one day, so that 
courts and law enforcement agencies have the information they need to make 
informed decisions. 

Spousal Rape 

•	 AB 187 (Solis), Chapter 595 of 1993 makes all forms of rape, including spousal 
rape, essentially the same crime. 

Stalking 

•	 SB 2184 (Royce), Chapter 1527 of 1990 and SB 1342 (Royce), Chapter 627 of 1992 
establish the crime of stalking in California, making it the first state in the nation 
to make stalking a crime. 

•	 SB 1796 (Leslie), Chapter 825 and AB 2351 (Hertzberg), Chapter 826 of 1998 
address the crime of “cyberstalking” by updating stalking and harassment laws to 
include stalking by electronic technologies. 

•	 AB 1284 (Jackson), Chapter 703 of 1999 allows authorities to jail suspected 
stalkers without bail if they violate a restraining order, and imposes notification 
and bail conditions in stalking cases. 

•	 SB 580 (Lewis), Chapter 561 of 2000 requires that when a person convicted of 
stalking is released from custody, the inmate cannot be paroled within 35 miles of 
the victim’s residence or place of employment under specified circumstances.  Also 
requires notice to the victim if there is a change in parole status or location. 
Existing law already required notice to the victim when the inmate is released from 
custody. 
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•	 SB 1539 (Lewis), Chapter 564 of 2000 requires parole officers to receive training in 
managing parolees convicted of stalking. 

•	 SB 1320 (Kuehl), Chapter 832 of 2002 revises California’s stalking statute to make 
it easier to prosecute the crime of stalking. 

Training for Law Enforcement and Court Personnel 

•	 SB 132 (Watson), Chapter 965 of 1995 requires law enforcement officers who 
typically respond to domestic violence calls to complete an updated course on 
domestic violence every two years.  (See “Part II:  Early Milestones in Domestic 
Violence Legislation” for the original training bill, SB 1472 (Watson), Chapter 1609 
of 1984.) 

•	 AB 2819 (Caldera), Chapter 695 of 1996 establishes judicial training programs for 
court personnel involved in domestic violence matters, such as judges, referees, 
commissioners and mediators. 

•	 SB 1995 (O’Connell), Chapter 761 of 1996 establishes domestic violence training 
for court-appointed child-custody evaluators and mediators.  SB 433 (Johnson), 
Chapter 932 of 1999 extends the training requirements to private child-custody 
evaluators. 

Family Law/Child Custody 

•	 AB 2700 (Roybal-Allard), Chapter 610 of 1990 requires judges to consider any 
history of spousal abuse by a parent before determining child-custody rights for 
that parent. 

•	 SB 2812 (Ayala), Chapter 994 of 1990 requires separate mediation sessions when 
domestic violence is alleged and allows for a support person to accompany the 
battered parent. 

•	 AB 162 (Speier), Chapter 410 of 1991 establishes the right of parents to meet 
separately with child custody evaluators if domestic violence is a factor. 

•	 SB 804 (Boatwright), Chapter 392 of 1992 adds provisions to the Uniform Child 
Custody Jurisdiction Act to protect an abused parent and his or her children when 
there is a custody dispute between parents residing in different states. 

•	 AB 356 (Snyder), Chapter 320 of 1994 clarifies that judges have the authority to 
suspend or deny visitation in domestic violence cases.  When visitation is granted, 
judges are required to specify the time, day, place and manner of transfer of the 
child. 

•	 SB 1995 (O’Connell), Chapter 761 of 1996 mandates that the Judicial Council of 
California develop a protocol for handling domestic violence in court-based 
custody mediation.  Clarifies that any individual may be selected to act as a 
support person to the parties involved in mediation, and that no certification, 
training or other qualification is required. 
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•	 AB 2474 (Kuehl), Chapter 835 of 1996 requires judges when making custody 
decisions to consider whether a parent seeking custody has committed abuse 
against the other parent, against another intimate partner or against a child who 
has been in the abuser’s care. 

•	 AB 200 (Kuehl), Chapter 849 of 1997 tightens the law regarding custody decisions 
in cases of domestic abuse, child abuse or substance abuse by requiring the court 
to carefully weigh what custody arrangement is in the best interest of the child.  A 
judge must explain his or her reasoning on the record if a parent who is alleged to 
have committed such abuse is granted sole or joint custody. 

•	 SB 564 (Solis), Chapter 396 of 1997 permits the court in a Domestic Violence 
Prevention Act action to issue a temporary custody or visitation order to 
unmarried parents who have legally established a parent-child relationship. 

•	 AB 1837 (Alquist), Chapter 229 of 1998 authorizes courts to require a minor child 
to participate in counseling if the parents are involved in a custody or visitation 
dispute and there is a history of domestic violence in the last five years. 

•	 AB 2386 (Bordonaro), Chapter 705 and AB 2745 (Cardoza), Chapter 704 of 1998 
prevent court-ordered custody or unsupervised visitation by a parent who has 
been convicted of murdering the child’s other parent, unless the defendant was 
the victim of domestic violence by the decedent.  Other states have adopted similar 
legislation, often referred to as Lizzie’s law. 

•	 SB 433 (Johnson), Chapter 932 of 1999 requires by January 1, 2005 that all child 
custody evaluators, whether court connected or private, be a licensed physician, 
psychologist, marriage and family therapist or clinical social worker, unless 
exempted by stipulation of the parents. 

•	 AB 673 (Honda), Chapter 1004 of 1999 authorizes family law divisions of superior 
courts to establish supervised visitation and exchange programs and charges the 
Judicial Council with administering and distributing the federal grants available to 
fund these services. 

•	 AB 840 (Kuehl), Chapter 445 of 1999 creates a presumption against awarding 
custody of a child to a person who has committed acts of domestic violence within 
the previous five years. 

Spousal Support 

•	 AB 808 (Strom-Martin), Chapter 284 of 1999 requires courts to consider emotional 
distress resulting from domestic violence when making a spousal support award. 

•	 SB 1221 (Romero), Chapter 293 of 2001 creates a “rebuttable presumption” that 
an award of spousal support should be eliminated if the spouse receiving the 
spousal support was convicted within the last five years of spousal abuse.  The 
court may consider a convicted spouse’s history as a victim of domestic violence as 
a condition for rebutting the presumption. 
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Court Interpreters 

•	 SB 982 (Solis), Chapter 888 of 1995 authorizes interpreters in domestic violence 
civil cases. 

•	 AB 1884 (Cedillo), Chapter 981 of 1998 establishes a state-funded one-year pilot 
project to appoint interpreters in specified child custody and domestic violence 
proceedings. 

Juvenile Court 

•	 AB 2647(Kuehl), Chapter 1139 of 1996 is a multi-faceted law to protect children 
from the effects of domestic violence.  It gives courts the authority to remove a 
battering parent or guardian from the home, prohibits visitation by the parent if it 
would jeopardize the safety of the child and creates a “safety plan” option in cases 
where the child is about to be removed from the home of a parent who is abused. 
It requires domestic violence training for personnel involved in such juvenile court 
cases. 

•	 SB 326 (Leslie), Chapter 706 of 1998 helps protect minors from physical and 
mental abuse by clarifying the role of juvenile courts in enforcing restraining and 
protective orders. 

•	 AB 1129 (Liu), Chapter 713 of 2001 authorizes the juvenile dependency court, 
when issuing a restraining order protecting a child from abusive behavior by any 
parent, guardian, or current or former member of the child’s household (or the 
parent’s boyfriend/girlfriend not living in the home), to also issue an order 
protecting the parent, guardian or current caretaker of the child from the abusive 
person. 

Civil Remedies 

•	 SB 924 (Petris), Chapter 602 of 1995 lengthens the statute of limitations for 
personal injury lawsuits based on domestic violence to three years, instead of one 
year, from the date of the last incident of domestic abuse. 

•	 SB 1939 (Alpert), Chapter 123 of 1998 extended the three-year statute of 
limitation for personal injury lawsuits based on domestic violence to three years 
from the date the plaintiff discovered or should have discovered that injuries 
resulted from the abuse. 

•	 AB 1928 (Jackson), Chapter 842 of 2002 allows a victim of gender-motivated 
violence (including domestic violence or sexual assault that is gender-motivated) to 
bring a civil action for compensatory and punitive damages against the attacker(s). 
Civil actions may be brought within three years of the offense, or within eight 
years after the victim reaches age 18, whichever is later. A victim may recover 
attorney's fees, a remedy not available in most tort actions. 
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•	 AB 1933 (Reyes), Chapter 193 of 2002 creates a statutory tort for injuries resulting 
from domestic violence. Provides that a person found liable under its provisions 
would be subject to general, special, and punitive damages, and that the court 
would have the discretion to award other relief to a prevailing plaintiff, including 
an injunction, costs, and reasonable attorney’s fees. 
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Appendix B 

Domestic Violence Research and Policy Agenda* 

1.  In order to improve research capacity and strengthen ties between researcher and 
practitioners, we should develop a coordinated research strategy by government agencies. 
State data collection systems should be improved and data should be regularly shared across 
agencies concerned with domestic violence. 

2.  We need a statewide crime victimization survey, modeled on the national crime victimization 
survey.  The national survey was recently redesigned to capture more reporting of victimization. 
California needs its own survey because of the diversity of its population. 

3.  We need to examine risk factors, such as income; age; education level; childhood 
victimization; and alcohol or other drug abuse; presence of firearms in the home, etc, related to 
victimization. Conversely, there is a need to study protective factors, such as social support. 

4.  We need studies that examine discretionary processes in the criminal justice system.  For 
example, what are the dynamics of police, prosecutorial and judicial decision-making? 

5.  We need to carefully evaluate California’s domestic violence shelter programs.  These 
programs have never been systematically studied. 

6.  We need to investigate the factors associated with service-seeking behavior, including 
delaying seeking services or not seeking services.  This research will enable us to better identify 
barriers to service seeking. 

7.  We need research on benefits of non-shelter based formal aspects of support (e.g. clergy) 
and informal aspects of support (e.g. friends, co-workers). 

8.  We need rigorous evaluations of batterer’s intervention programs.  Much of the current 
research is limited by methodological flaws which include lack of comparison groups; no 
differentiation of self-referrals from court-ordered participants; high drop-out rates that are not 
taken into account when calculating success rates; and lack of long-term follow-up. 

9.  We need research on the efficacy of restraining orders in California, including whether our 
statutes and policies are successful in preventing future violence.  This research should include 
a review of statutes and policies in other states. 

10.  We need rigorous evaluations of programs designed to prevent intimate partner violence, 
including school-based education programs, media campaigns, and legal changes intended to 
deter violence against women. 

11.  Intimate partner violence outcomes should be included in evaluations of programs 
designed to prevent delinquency; substance abuse, teenage pregnancy, gang involvement and 
general violence. 

12.  Existing data sets (national, state and local) should be identified so that secondary 
analyses of violence against women can be conducted. 

* This agenda was developed by the Crime and Violence Prevention Center, state Department of 
Justice. It is based upon meetings and consultation with domestic violence researchers and 
practitioners and a review of policy-related domestic violence literature. 
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